We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for those buyers of Electronics and IT Gadget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 2,792 Hotels in Shenzhen
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient location for those buyers of Electronics and IT Gadget”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Most of the time when visiting Shenzhen, I would stay in either DaysInn or Kai Li in LuoHuo district and would travel in the morning to HuaQiang Bei to look around at the latest electronics gadgets and accessories.

As this trip to Shenzhen, I had only a day decide to try out staying at Huaqiang Bei Lu area so that I can shop and buy any new IT stuff and my booking was at this Huaqiang Plaza Hotel.

Firstly the hotel is in a complex and the lobby is on the 28th Floor.

The pain is in the wait for the lift as the lift takes you from the 1st Floor to all levels of the hotel.
Mind you the hotel is not a small hotel but a rather big one. So it takes a long time to get to your room or the lobby during peak hours such as LUNCH and DINNER. A popular Chinese Restaurant is on the 3rd floor.

Once checked - In you can go to the other side to take the hotel lifts which serves from 28th to all the room floors.

Lobby is impressive and rooms are BIG and Luxury comparable to any 5 star hotel.

Location superb for those who wanna shop but other than electronics and IT gadgets, nothing else is available.

Food wise - cant get much around beside Mcdonalds and other fast food.

Starbucks is conveniently located at the ground level.

Staff service is below average - asked a staff to deposit my luggage at the 1st Floor while I run to the shops for a quick buy, told me the ground floor is not a deposit, need to drop back to the lobby!!! I was like WTF? Take another 10 minutes for the lift?

Anyway, overall won't stay here again unless totally need the Shopping time in Huaqiang Bei and might try others around the area that has got better economical rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    109
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
4
8
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are staying at Hua Qiang Pei area in Shenzen, the location and price of this hotel is just perfect especially if it is a stopover. The staff speak good English. Room is clean and provides all that is required. However, price can fluctuate depending on the season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITravel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Needed a long stay in Sz for Business and chose this hotel as my base. Found most of the staff to be friendly although had 1 problem when I walked from breakfast with a banana in hand. This caused a major scene when I were chased by a staff member to return the Banana or it would be charged to my room. So I discussed the poor customer service this was presenting. (Not accepted) % minutes of discussion outside the lift. Then I peeled the banana in front of them ate it and handed them the peel (No problem any more) So in the complexity of working in China this is again training and customer service attitude. It is just a turn off to some customers and I have seen plenty of action at customer reception in my time. Training and understanding is essential.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well I came back here for only 2 nights 20~21st April (I wanted to stay for 5nights but rooms were booked due to a Fair in SZ). I went for the Deluxe room just as I did last year in Dec., rather than the standard Business room, it's larger, on a higher floor, and has a better feel around the room. The breakfast was sufficient, with fruits etc., everything (bread, butter) except Cheese which is OK. The location is key with everything nearby, the Mall, restaurants, bars, banks, shopping, electronic, computer, mobile markets etc. Clean and safe area with good Metro access. Very helpful staff specially the concierge.

Room Tip: Higher floor, Deluxe rooms, use company to book the rates are discounted but going up each year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My experience here was average, it was in a location near some of my suppliers. Lobby is on the 22nd floor and my room was on the 34th floor. The lift takes forever because there is only 3. Location is great and is walking distant to two MTR lines and right in the middle of Huaqiangbei. However, they are building a new MTR line so there were construction and some noise outside the hotel. Breakfast was okay and the staff English skills were just average. I saw a female staff/manager argue with another staff during breakfast and threw a yogurt across onto the chair, which is totally unacceptable behavior for a proclaimed 5 star hotel, which I don’t think this is near 5 stars. The gentleman staff quickly picked it up and kept his cool, poor guy. I would only stay here again if I had to be in that location, because the location can’t be beat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located in a busy street, All your needs are in less than 200 meter away. Big & Clean rooms.
People that like western breakfast will have a limited choice. especially the lack of real bread and Cheese is a minus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadFraenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I reserved a business room in the Huaqiang Plaza Hotel with the reference of my Shenzhen supplier. My room was on the 29th floor and was big, comfortable and clean. As I arrived late evening I asked the hotel to reserve a driver to pick me from the airport. Like any other service in the hotel, pickup was arrange in duty and was excellent.
Although this is a Far East hotel, Food in the restaurant was of a good standard with a some selection of western and local dishes. Add on of some vegetarian food could be of helpful.
The hotel is located above the North Huaqiang Metro station. If you wish to go to Hong Kong or to Shenzhen Airport it is better to take a 5 minute walk to the Huaqiang Metro station which serves those two directions without the need to switch subway lines.
My choice when I go again to Shenzhen

Room Tip: If you wish to buy electronic - this is the place - be careful with prices as they are times higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraelAvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Huaqiang North
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Skylight Hotel Shenzhen
#38 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
349 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#14 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
283 reviews
Huaqiang North
Shenzhen Fortune Hotel
Shenzhen Fortune Hotel
#71 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huaqiang North
Pavilion Century Tower
Pavilion Century Tower
#127 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
152 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Huaqiang North
Shanghai Hotel
Shanghai Hotel
#53 of 2,792 in Shenzhen
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huaqiang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huaqiang Plaza Hotel

Property: Huaqiang Plaza Hotel
Address: No.1019A Huaqiang Plaza, No.1019 Huaqiang North Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518100, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huaqiang North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 2,792 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Huaqiang Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huaqiang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing