We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excelent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
Ranked #8 of 2,820 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We took a weekend package which provide late check out on Sundays. The goal was to spent weekend in the parks nearby.
Overall the stay was really enjoyable.
Particularly
- the staff attitude was great during all period of our stay. One of the best I saw within past few years. All are friendly and sincere looking forward to assist (quite rare nowadays).
- excellent location. Shopping mall, parks all within 5 minutes (we were with 3 kids so supermarket was a really valuable add-on for us). Everything is accessible with the stroller.
- Nice and convenient rooms. Connecting rooms is a really good option for the large families.

Minor things to consider
- sliding doors to the shower/toilet. Though I am fine with that someone may find luck of privacy.
- Not too many things to do after the kids go to sleep. We went to the bar in Venetian hotel, which is just opposite.

Few hints and ideas for the staff which are not really critical but could make stay even more enjoyable.
- We took weekend package and were under impression hotel is flexible with late check out time (this is what we were told during check-in). Unfortunately the time we were allowed to stay was bit shorter to what we have expected. Would it be possible to agree the check out time during the check in to avoid the rush on a last day and make planning more efficient?
- wifi connection in the room was quite slow. In fact 3G connection over the phone was more efficient. Didn't test LAN cable.
- the room is equipped with the latest sockets such as USB/HDMI/RGB etc which is cool. Unfortunately couldn't connect iPhone to the TV (we wanted to see new photos on the large screen). Can it be enhanced?
- As mentioned attitude of the staff was great, meanwhile it would be highly appreciated if they could brief us about events in the parks. Say there was a large show with fireworks on Sat evening in Windows of the world (just opposite the hotel) which we would really interested to attend should we get some hints from the hotel staff when we were asking the way to the park. Unfortunately parks itself are not informative for non-Chinese speakers.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the view at Window of the World. Connecting rooms are good for large families.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Konstantin_4, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. We value feedback from our guests and were so excited to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. we were extremely happy to read that you like our service. regarding the Wifi issues, we have shared to the related team for improvement, your time spent on writing and posting your review is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 540 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Located in the Window of the World. There are several large malls, a good selection of restaurants and activities, and a metro station. The hotel is very nice, and the food as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. - All in all, a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear WorldTraveller550, Thanks for your great review! We are delighted to read about your experience during your recent stay. Thank you for your positive comments of our facilities,services and food, we have shared them with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great location at the heart of tourist attractions; Windows on the World, Chinese Folk Village, and Happy Valley. Poor service quality and very poor food at F&B for a 5-star hotel, Concierge not service friendly, front desk has limited knowledge. Breakfast and dinner buffet more in line with a 3 to four star hotel but you are paying a 5 star price. The concierges and front desk try, but clearly there is a management problem at the hotel because they don't know what they are young and don't know what they are doing. We needed some help to purchase rail and concert tickets and the concierge was not helpful in either picking up tickets until pushed several times or told us to go to the train station to purchase a ticket which didn't work out costing us a half a day of downtime arranging alternate transportation. The concierge couldn't even properly hail a taxi for us and always told us the taxi left while we were waiting in front. It was nice to get to the Ritz Carlton in Guangzhou where service was impeccable. Unless you really know where you are going in Shenzhen and just need a bed to stay and you get a good rate, I would avoid the Westin Shenzhen hotel especially if need help to navigate Shenzhen with children.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Windows on the World where you can see the show from your room. It's not worth...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Ken c, Thanks for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan and taking your time to share the valuable comments to us. regarding to the Concierge and restaurant experience which you mentioned, we have share with related departments for improving in future, once again, Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Usual westin comfort. Nice bed and deco. However, room size is small with little space to go around. Bathroom design is cool with sliding door to make the room and bathroom integrated. But with children, they can easily open your sliding door whilst you are showering. No privacy if kids staying in the same room. Language is an issue. when call for service via phone, staff could not really understand English. Simple common terms like 'shower gel' they could not understand.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Qwertyqwerty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Qwertyqwerty88, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. We appreciate your compliments on our facilities. regarding to the staff service issue which you mentioned, we have shared that with our related department for improving on everyday operation, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shenzhen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Definitely one of the best places i have stayed at. Before going there, i had some apprehensions regarding the wi-fi etc but all those fears were dispelled once i reached there and experienced the service. The place and people ooze warmth and the feel is very premium with staff speaking decent English. The breakfast spread was lavish and had something for everyone. The room was comfy and classy. I was there for 2 days and wish it'd have been longer. Will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anurag C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Anurag C , Thank you for sharing your stay experience at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. We appreciate your compliments on our facilities and service, all these will motivate us to provide best service to guests consistently. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is situated right across the street from Windows of the World Park, and is connected to the Holiday Plaza shopping center, and has convenient access to two of Shenzhen's subway lines. If coming from airport, you can just hop on line 1 of subway and get here easily. The only negative is that the entrance of hotel is behind the shopping plaza, so not really obvious if you are here for the first time.

My usual negative with Starwood hotels is that despite being SPG Gold, there's never an upgrade to club level. Still, the room is large and nice. One funny thing about layout is that there is a tub placed in middle of bathroom. This makes getting in/out of the bathroom a bit more complicated than it should.

Breakfast here is awesome, one of the best I've had. Service is great, as there are both Chinese and English speaking staff available downstairs. There is a direct connecting hallway to the mall, though it only opens during mall hours.

Not a cheap hotel choice, but very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palladia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear palladia, thank you for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, your compliments on our hotel location, breakfast and staff service are highly appreciated. Regarding to the SPG member upgrade issues, we have shared the information with our related department to follow up. we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very efficient check in and check out. Spacious rooms with superb bathrooms. When using the Service Express number everything was excellent. Stayed on a Monday night so the bar and restaurants lacked a little atmosphere. Open air bar on top floor is great for a drink.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinshenzhen, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear StuckinBangers, thanks for visiting The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan. we are so proud that you share such great experience with us, and also enjoy your journey at our hotels. We will keep our service and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#6 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
1,345 reviews
Civic Center
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
#15 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
970 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#11 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
344 reviews
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,820 in Shenzhen
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan

Address: No.9028-2 Shennan Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#9 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#47 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $155 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan ideally located in conjunction of business and recreation area, connected to upscale shopping complex with direct access to subway station. 350 inviting guest rooms and suites offer the signature Heavenly® Bed to ensure you start your day feeling rested and energized. You can unwind in the Heavenly Spa by Westin, recharge with a WestinWorkout, or enjoy free wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Shenzhen Nanshan Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing