We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made My Stay The "Worst Trip Ever"”
Review of Gorgeous Fad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gorgeous Fad Hotel
Ranked #990 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is the opposite of its name. As mentioned in earlier posts, it is COLD, DIRTY, CHEAP (living up to its prices), and the breakfast is AWFUL. There is a big space in rooms but this is not helpful as the beds are like cold cement floors. They should have not placed beds and made their guests lie down on the floor instead. Carpets are filled with hair and other dirt left by guests, the sheets were stained by possibly pee (EEEEW) and EVERYTHING is cold. The water system is so noisy and you can hear the noises of the next door guests. Breakfast is LIMITED as one guest one boiled egg only (geez), and all other food is obviously cold (as the whole hotel is cold).

DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM. SPARE YOURSELF FROM HAVING THE WORST TRIP JUST LIKE OURS

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayamiharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

Thumbs down!! The room is big tough,but everything is so dirty..Unclean bathroom, mold and mildew spots, toilet bowl stains, its everywhere. Nothing to love about this place.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank fisheyelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Gorgeous Fad -we accidentally stayed here. I don't know why but i was told by my agent that i was booked at Shanshui. Anyway, as my title says, we had a terrible breakfast served in a small room, nothing to eat but boiled eggs which were really very limited. The place was dirty, hot coffee serve in plastic pitcher with plastic cups (yuck). For a traveler, what really he s lookin' forward to start his day right is a good breakfast but no, not in this hotel. Our room was roomy enough but the carpet's untidy, plus the towels are so worn out. Not booking again here, definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank phievargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I had an overnight stay at Gorgeous Fad as part of my HK-Shenzhen tour package. First the positives, there is a convenience store at the left when you exit the hotel. Also, the room is really huge. It is like a studio type condo unit minus the cooking area. I stayed at a room with 2 beds that could fit 5 people. There is hot water though and the water pressure is good. There is free internet through a LAN cable, no WiFi. You could see that there was at least an effort to improve the amenities of the hotel. Perhaps in the ‘70s, this would’ve been a 5-star hotel. Now for the negatives, the building itself is old and isn’t well kept. The receptionists hardly speak English while the area around the hotel looks like tenements. Also, the carpets look a bit dirty and the tiles in the bathroom had stains. The mattresses and the pillows aren’t comfortable to sleep in and the sheets look old. Even the lights in the room made it look gloomy. There is even a gas mask in the room just in case the place caught fire which might be fitting since the whole place looked derelict. Breakfast is included in the package. In my personal opinion, I liked it. It was authentic Cantonese food, but it might not be necessarily palatable to other people.

Despite being located in what looks like the poor section of the city, I didn’t feel threatened in the area. It is surprisingly safe to walk around at night. Of course, due diligence is required such as taking good care of your belongings and keeping your wallet hidden from sight. It is a good 10-15 minute walk to the Guo Mao station of the Luobao Line of the MRT. Guo Mao is the second station from Luohu, the first station of Shenzhen if you’re coming from Hong Kong. Trains from HK terminate at Lo Wu station, you pass through immigration, then interchange at Luohu. The hotel is also near China Post, a 24-hour Starbucks with FREE WiFi, and shopping centers. To get to Guo Mao station, turn right when you exit the hotel. Turn left then cross the street (be careful). Walk a little to your right then turn left on the intersection. Keep going forward, you will see a China Post to your left. Walk further then you will get to an intersection with Chunfeng Rd. Cross the street then turn left. Walk a good 100 meters or so, turn right on the street before Renmin South Rd. You will see an 85C Café. Walk a bit further then you will see Starbucks. There are also McDonald’s (with free WiFi but for 30 minutes only) and Gong Cha nearby. Walk a further 200 meters or so then you will get to the station, which is just below Kingglory Plaza. Just one station away, in Laojie station, there are many shopping malls. This line has a direct link to Windows of the World for around 30 minutes, 14 stations away.

Ultimately, it’s a Shenzhen hotel at Shenzhen prices. If you’re looking for a cheap place to stay at a good location, I will suggest this hotel. If you’re a bit picky on your hotel with regards to safety, upkeep, and communication with the staff, then there are other hotels to consider.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank engdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were in a package tour that includes HK - Shenzhen so we have no choice when it comes to hotel. The room is undeniably nice, really big, nice furnishings, bathroom is clean, good big mattress, 2 king or queen size. The area seems okay, with a convenient store, restaurant, fruit market just beside the store. Easy to get taxis as well, close to the mall about 5 - 8 mins away.
The problem is the room is really cold. Heater doesn't seem to be working at all. When we asked for help we can't since we couldn't understand each other. As in zero English. In the end we still got cold but they gave us extra comforters. I got the impression that it is the same to almost everywhere the. Since when we went to malls they also do not understand a word we say. I really get to practice my charades to be able to get through. I asked for adaptor and it took me 30 mins I have to get a power cord and demostrate what i need done, i still went up to my room to show that my power cord cant fit into their socket. Practically like playing charades, as when at first they dont get it I also wave my hand to signify no and ill start over and explain again. We have a good laugh anyway. But things are really crazy. Its a nice hotel, if you wont need anything just check in and check out then you'll be good but otherwise go here if you want to be challenged.
This is a really late review just want to share but we stayed here jan 2011

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakasyonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on Feb 17, 2012. Worst place to stay. I strongly would not recommend this hotel. The room was big but the carpet was very dingy, wash basin pipes were exposed, moldy, and had a stinky smell, good thing we brought our own sanitizers to clean our toilet.The towels were with holes. Room was not ready at 3PM. Had a flat screen TV but no English channels. The hallway was dark and had an awful smell. Breakfast was free, breakfast room was very dirty, plates on a bin, and food was terrible. No one speaks English.

Room Tip: Read a lot reviews or ask friends who travels a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for a night in Gorgeous Fad Hotel as part of our Hong Kong-Shenzen tour package.. It was quite a change since our hotel in Kowloon had such small rooms! The room we stayed in was so spacious, not just for two but even for four. The bathroom was clean and had basic toiletries laid out for us. There was a flat screen TV but with limited channels. Unlike our HK hotel wherein, we paid a security deposit, we weren't required to in Gorgeous Fad. Checking in took awhile since we were in a big tour group and so was checking out as the hotel staff inspected the rooms thoroughly first before they fully checked us all out.

The location is okay, it was a bit of a walk to LouHu shopping area but some restaurants were nearby as well as a grocery store at the corner. Breakfast was basic but was free with the room. The hotel staff are not friendly and cannot speak English so you'll have to improvise to get understood. Anyway, we were able to get a good night's sleep in the hotel and woke up quite refreshed to explore Shenzhen the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Starbrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#18 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
2,233 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#50 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
295 reviews
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#16 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Fuqiao Motel
#291 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
5 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#13 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorgeous Fad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorgeous Fad Hotel

Address: No.1120 Yanhe South Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #990 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: $27 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gorgeous Fad Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gorgeous Fad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing