We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of dissapointed”
Review of OCT East Shenzhen

OCT East Shenzhen
Ranked #7 of 488 things to do in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Famous "Swiss mountain" theme park and resort in Shenzhen. Even if you are not into theme parks, this one is not to be missed. Visually stunning, OCT East has been called the “Universal Studios of China” and offers rides, golf, magic shows, luxury hotels, restaurants, spas, and—believe it or not—a scenic Swiss village. Nobody does theme parks like China! Plan to spend most of your day here (though you could spend a week). Noted in Time Magazine 29 November 2007 (opened 7 November 2007).
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kind of dissapointed”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You have to pay additional 20 yuan for bus to drive you up and down the mountain once you got there. The entrance fee 150 yuan (only cover Tea Stream Valley) doesn't cover the car driving you around once you are inside. Be prepared to wear comfortable shoes to walk around. Construction was still going on during our visit. Kind of cheesy as lots of stuffs in the Tea Stream Valley are not real. It's still worth to visit the real western town in Austria. Kind of weird having local Chinese food and Chinese waitress working inside the western town of the OCT. I had almost 10 mosquito bites from the tea and bamboo plantation.

It might become a wedding photography location for young couples in the future.

Don't think will come back again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairey_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    244
    80
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantasitc + Romantic Place”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a nice place to visit in Shenzhen.
So many different restaurants as well as great atmosphere!
I would love to be there again and visit all the restaurants in that area!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JunPyo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Filthy! Not for the faint hearted!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited this park and we disappointed. Its dirty with rubbish everywhere. And only use the toilets if you absolutely have to! Theres isnt even soap in them to wash your hands. I even considered going in the bushes at one stage!
It was a saturday so as you can imagine it was extremely busy. And the Chinese do not understand the concept of queuing! They will push infront of you even when you have young children with you. So if you are thinking of going, then go during the week. You may have a better experience than we did.
The rides seemed pretty good, the gondola is a must do if you can stand the queue. We didn't get to do a lot of the rides as the queues were ridiculous. But as I say they looked really good. We did do the Sky Tower and that was spectacular. And the queue wasn't quite so bad for that one.
The park looked like it has a lot of potential but for me and my family it was a bad day out and needs more staff to keep it clean especially in the toilets. Which i didnt think was a problem in China!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLD
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable fake”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The first impression was: O my God...
Later I went back there a few times because it is good fun.
Everything is fake, but is is nicely presented. The tea garden is a must, the orchid nursery very interesting as many other things.
For Chinese who have not yet had an opportunity to go overseas it gives a pleasant impression of how the real thing could look like.
Rrgrettably too many things are sold as European that have nothing to do with Europe.
Anyway, when you have time left and the weather is good certainly a thing to visit.
The combination of the village oplus the amusement park make for fun. The train ride is by times spectacular.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank DutchGld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out !”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fantastic day out, great for families, plenty to do great rides very good restaurants and food available.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Boldscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OCT East Shenzhen also viewed

 
Shenzhen, Guangdong
 

Been to OCT East Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing