We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable fake”
Review of OCT East Shenzhen

OCT East Shenzhen
Ranked #7 of 486 things to do in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Famous "Swiss mountain" theme park and resort in Shenzhen. Even if you are not into theme parks, this one is not to be missed. Visually stunning, OCT East has been called the “Universal Studios of China” and offers rides, golf, magic shows, luxury hotels, restaurants, spas, and—believe it or not—a scenic Swiss village. Nobody does theme parks like China! Plan to spend most of your day here (though you could spend a week). Noted in Time Magazine 29 November 2007 (opened 7 November 2007).
GLD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable fake”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The first impression was: O my God...
Later I went back there a few times because it is good fun.
Everything is fake, but is is nicely presented. The tea garden is a must, the orchid nursery very interesting as many other things.
For Chinese who have not yet had an opportunity to go overseas it gives a pleasant impression of how the real thing could look like.
Rrgrettably too many things are sold as European that have nothing to do with Europe.
Anyway, when you have time left and the weather is good certainly a thing to visit.
The combination of the village oplus the amusement park make for fun. The train ride is by times spectacular.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank DutchGld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    237
    76
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out !”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fantastic day out, great for families, plenty to do great rides very good restaurants and food available.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Boldscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Does anyone here speak english??”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Good - Spectacular views, interesting sights. We caught a taxi from lowu which cost 60rmb that took us to "Knights Valley" There is a lot of walking uphill so the best and most convenient way to see anything (if unfit or young at heart but old in body) is by a open sided train that goes around the park you can hop on and hop off for 30rmb per person for 4 circuits. A lot of effort has gone into this park to attract local visitors.
There are different buses running to take you back to Lowu or Hong Kong but no trains that go straight to the park.
The Bad - No one spoke English or very little English, so westerners beware. It was very confusing and at a certain point they made you alight the train as it was the last stop(not sure) as we stood there and waited no train stopped and as we tried to flag another one they kept shaking their heads to say "no" very frustrating!!
Do not go at the beginning of October as it is their public holiday, it was very packed and took over an hour to get on the vehicular train that took you up to Tea stream Valley.
Could not catch a taxi from the Tea Stream Valley exit but by following everyone else we found there was a bus that would take you back to the Knight Valley entrance for 5rmb. This we did not know until they would not let us on it till we paid, but again confusion as other people there (weren’t sure were part of the bus service) told us different prices as well.
As it had been a very long hot day and we were travelling with another couple patience was a bit thin so we walked to the nearest hotel from the bus stop (not far) where we knew someone would speak English.
The staff there were brilliant and offered us cold bottled water and explained that should we go back to our start point we would have to wait as it was a holiday that it was a long way out so taxis would be few and far between (maybe up to an hour) so they arranged for a van to return us to our hotel, though we had to pay 400rmb for it.
Bottom Line - This is a very huge park lots to see and do but may be best to go there when not so many people, with a guide or someone who can speak the language....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deidre1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bad copy of an Alps village”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have no idea why so many people like this attraction so much and giving it 4 and 5 points, all the buildings in there are badly built, a typical Chinese approach in making things: copy something from the West and make them cheap and fast. Not to mention the planning destroyed the surrounding environment and ecology. There used to be a traditional Hakka village, I recon it was a thousand times better, but then it was bulldozed and made way for this fake Alpine village.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Hal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Swiss village in Shenzhen”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Another great day ...I went on a normal day and found it an excellent opportunity to relax ..I walked for many hours all possible spots , whilst used the small steam train and have a full view of the village and all amenities ...I hope in my next visit to have the chance to spend a couple of nights in the OCT Hotel ..The atmosphere inside and around the lake is magical.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OCT East Shenzhen also viewed

 
Shenzhen, Guangdong
 

Been to OCT East Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing