We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View and The near beach is amazing. But not international”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fountain Resort
Ranked #1,241 of 2,755 Hotels in Shenzhen
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice View and The near beach is amazing. But not international”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Despite the lovely view from the mountain to one of the best beach in Shenzhen the Potential of that Hotel is really repressed by its management.
The Hotel is unable to welcome International Guest as it is really focused on Service Chinese Guest Only. The front line staff do not speack english and to be Honest they not even try it.. the front desk Staff is useless in solving any issue , lukly they know how to call fast the only helpfull staff Xiao Ke that speack English and that we really wish to thank for the good service.
The Hotel position is very good, but only if you plan to do not get out... any beach is at minimun 20 minute walking and do not hope to grab a taxy the hotel offer only overprice private car ( 100 RMB for a trip that usually cost 20) . The rooms are clean but I cannot say in good condition as they seriously need a fresh paint and furniture are restricted to the minimum. Breakfast is included in the rate but it is same as not.. I had to eat for 3 days bread and jam only and I had to beg often to refill the toast bread on buffet.. the rest of the buffet is a small variety of chinese breakfast items of very poor quality as meet dumplings ( Pork ?? who knows) vegetables noodles or congee.. the western buffet was a portion of french fries with ketchup. Serice? inexistent waiter took over 10 minutes to clean a table. there are no individual table in the restaurant only big round chinese banquet table so it s uppen that you need to seat with other guest in a dirty table to have your food.. and do not ask coffee .. takes 10 minutes to be serviced and is a watering soluble coffee .. Overall we had a good stay because we expected very little but it s sad as the resort can be a lot better and the price paid was high ( 100 Dollars ) so I cannot say I was fully satisfied .

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Fountain Resort for six days and night in December of 2012. The grounds are beautiful. The views of the sea and surronding mountains are awe inspiring. We were nearly the only people there, as it is quite a distance from the train station. If you are willing to take a not too long walk into the town, one will discover numerous restaurants and open air market places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The most beautiful brochure showing the most beautiful of facilities, BUT, wait until you arrive and find out there is no taxi service out of the hotel, only the local town bus. To leave the resort by any other means, you have to book a car 24 hours in advance.The nearby swimming pool is not available, you can only swim at the beach (not really an option once you see it). There is only one of their restaurants operating and there are no bars to speak of despite them claiming to have two. Try and order a drink from their extensive drinks list and you will soon find out that only Coke, Sprite , Beer (one type) and Chinese tea is available. The food is heavily eastern. The gardens leading up to the main Hotel are excellently kept,BUT look at the gardens surrounding the villas and that is another story.... The villa in side is great, but that is the only thing this place has going for it.... unless you are chinese.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suedakin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shenzhen hotels

Palmwoods Qld
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed using timeshare for 5 days and that was definately enough time. Our unit was very spacious and modern. The grounds were kept really well. If you don't speak Chinese then staying here can be difficult - the staff at the front counter spoke only very limited English but we did manage to communicate with our computer translater application for basic things - how to catch a local bus to town for a supermarket, book a taxi etc. - no english speaking channels on TV. We ate at the restruant most nights and food was good quality - chinese and affordable. We found a dish we could eat and would order it again each night and add a new one to try (we couldn't understand the menu). We enjoyed catching the local buses to the village, town and into Shenzhen. In Shenzhen we bargined in the shopping centres - fun. Getting laundry done we thought was expensive so consider bringing a washing soap and indoor line. The front desk didn't seem to book tours so ask the reception about the bus - we got them to write down in Chinese for us where we wanted to go and we would then show the bus driver and he told us when to hop off. There is very limited here for children to do. Good if you want to experience both the Chinese beach, local towns as well as Shenzhen for shopping (about an hour away on the bus). In December there was alot of smog so the views weren't great. We enjoyed seeing China from the city to the backstreets. Lots of brides get their photos taken at the local beach so that is nice to watch. Enjoy China if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our apartment was nice but…… Using the Interval International description of the amenities:
1. Access to apartment was via two flights of stairs down to main door of block then three flights up! So much for wheelchair or disabled accessible!
2. DVD or VCR in unit…. NONE (even when requested)
3. TV… only Chinese speaking channels – no satellite for European or English-speaking guests
4. Restaurant…. No English-speaking staff, menus only in Chinese, only Chinese dishes available, which were at the best, tasteless. No wine or soft drinks available (other than Chinese black tea), my husband managed to squeeze three bottles of local beer – then they ran out. Main restaurant used for Chinese conference guests so we were pushed into a room by ourselves – they were catered for on the main tables by the staff while we were left on our own for long periods of time.
5. Terrace Garden restaurant …. was filled by Chinese guests. After we asked (mimed and drew pictures) it was made clear that the only bottles on the shelves of the ‘bar’ there were empty display bottles, so there were not even any drinks or meals available at this very pleasant setting.
6. Clubhouse…. Where? The main building was only a reception with an upstairs restaurant (see 4.) No concierge or any other English-speaking member of staff to advise us on anything…. Amenities, facilities, excursions etc. The limited seating available was taken up by Chinese conference-goers and their backpacks and luggage spilling over onto the tables and chairs. (see photo)
7. Grocery / convenience store….. a small cabinet with a few pots of Chinese ready-meals – looked like noodles and a couple of bags of crisps (see photo). For drinks – a fridge with five bottles of orange juice and a few bottles of undisclosed brown liquid. (see photo) WOW!!!
8. Shuttle service…. A golf cart used to take us up the hill to our block on arrival ONLY. Not available for any other reason .
9. Beach…. Taking that there is no shuttle service available, unless you are very fit and can walk down a very steep hill and back, a fee to go onto the beach was not mentioned either by Interval or the resort.
10. Nearby bar/cocktail lounge…. Where? None to be found and no-one to ask….
11. Other nearby restaurants…. Unless you like eating food from filthy kitchens (which you could see into) or prepared on the pavement these are best avoided at all costs.
These are just a few of the many negatives of this resort and we were lucky to be able to escape to a hotel in the city of Shenzhen (with all of the five-star amenities we expected of Fountain Resort). We arranged to change resorts as soon as we possibly could but we are still awaiting feedback and an apology from Interval International.
One good thing about this resort – we both lost weight!

Room Tip: Choose a different resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scorpiotheblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in a 2 BR unit. The unit was a bit dated, minimal amenities. They provided a hot water pot and two tea bags. There is no kitchen and the living room furniture was sub standard. The A/C barely worked leaving the unit hot and humid.
The closest village is about a 15 minute walk down the hill, difficult to buy things and lug it back up the hill. If you go, buy water. The resort charges 10RMB for a small bottle. The town had 4 restaurants and a bunch of mom and pop stores, no real shopping. You have to pay to get on the beach (hotel does not have a pool or workout area). We were not impress with the resort or the area. The kids were very bored. We left on the 2nd day of a 7 day planned vacation. If you do intend to stay there please rent a car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljameson1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

My dad booked this through a timeshare arrangement, and we had to spend a week here. I was bored to death. We stayed in one of the penthouse suites.

Pros > free wireless internet;
>decent beds

Cons > no swimming pool (they really should build one, considering how much land they have; and the beach is not near at all, it's a good 20mins hike, not walk, down the hill);
> 2.5hrs bus ride to town (one way, yup so 5hrs travelling time if you want to go shopping; i opted to stay in 3 days out of 7, and was just so happy to be going HKG after checking out);
> restaurant food and in-room dining was slightly worse than average (ate only to fill my stomach, thankfully bought cookies on my days out);
> beach is dismal, sand is brown, and have to pay for entrance
> room looked impressive at first, then after staying a few days, realised the maintenance was really bad; the second floor bathtub started leaking and even pouring onto the first floor bathtub; walls and roof had signs of leaking
> staff not really properly trained, they are nice enough, but clearly not trained properly; engineer who was sent to fix the leak wasn't even aware that there was a second bathtub
> journey from airport; took us 3hrs and we had to change cab halfway because the first cab that took us is only allowed to travel to the edge of the city and the Hotel was in the outskirts of the next province! and we can speak Mandarin, imagine the hassle if one does not speak Mandarin and is traveling without a tour group!

probably the only possibility for this Hotel is when you come here in a group or meeting and activities are planned for you already... otherwise there's absolutely nothing to come here for, no pool, no great dining experience... in short, not worth the effort at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faithz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Xiao Mei Sha Hotel
#876 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Dameisha
Sheraton Dameisha Resort
Sheraton Dameisha Resort
#8 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#12 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Resort

Property: The Fountain Resort
Address: Beach of Xiyong Bay, Kuiyong Town, Longgang District, Shenzhen 518119, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Fountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing