We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rated by whom as 5 star????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Asta Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #81 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rated by whom as 5 star????”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Location is great. Room is usual chinese 5 star. BUT THE SERVICE that I experienced was below 2 star. Doorman didn't move to open door. Reception ignored me for the best part of 5 minutes. Then I was not given ANY assistance re how to locate room. Where breakfast was located etc.
So I get to my room ok - No directory . Self closer on door is faulty. So I am thinking this is what I get as an upgrade lol!!
Why is it staff dont check behind the bathroom door - yuk!
No info re wifi in room.
Ok- after business dinner - off to bed.
Shower was good.
Down to breakfast
Nobody to show you to a table. Just room number please .
So I get the picture.
No Cruets- no offer of tea or coffee. Staff standing around in a huddle . I wave - two - three times- Finally half cold coffee!
Toaster takes 5 passes to toast bread.
Ask for 2 eggs easy over as they dont offer poached.
The choice for breakfast was all encompassing - but for western traveller - baked beans - bacon - omelette or fried eggs.
Get back to my table and some one has taken my place.
They don't leave a complaints notice in the room---- so I am sufficiently p'ed off to write this.
With works happening outside at 8.00am on a Sunday - on the 20th floor - one would expect some quiet. Oh AND NOT TO MENTION - my upgrade had a shared door to room next door. SO I hear the screaming of the "lady" next door at 7.15

Room Tip: dont stay on roadside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    70
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
9
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Right smack in a very lovely part of Shenzhen with tree lined avenues, this hotel is a wonderful option for travellers who wish to explore the city and neighbouring Hong Kong. Located very close to a MRT station, it is also just one station away from the Custom & Immigration checkpoint to Hong Kong. So, stay in Shenzhen and make daily trips to HK!! Much cheaper!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lahiri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galatone, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

great hotel, very very clean, almost perfect service,
very professional staff, impeccable service breakfast
certainly lacked the espresso but you can not have everything,

I travel frequently for business in China have never eaten and had breakfast at a Chinese restaurant,
but I must say that this hotel gave me a chance to eat Chinese breakfast and was a great experience thanks

Thanks will be back soon

Room Tip: all hotel and very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A new hotel that is conveniently located if you need to go to the Shenzhen Convention Center. You could actually walk to it, or take a 5-minute taxi drive. It boasts 5 stars but is clearly a level down most Chinese 5 stars I have been to. It is also moderate in size so easier to get to and around, without multiple levels, ballrooms, banquets and events that sometime make some larger hotel annoying.

No problem with the new room, furnitures, view, soundproofing... just the overall hotel equipment and services are a bit light for a 5-star hotel. The breakfast is very decent both to Asian and Western standards but again, clearly under the size of typical 5 star buffets you could get elsewhere.

Nevertheless a prime, functional choice considering prices about 1/2 that of other 5 star hotels during the convention I went to.

Note: make sure you have the proper address and even print the location map from their web site, as it is probably not yet known to all taxi drivers by name...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good location for family shopping and easy access to good food and bargain shopping. The staff are well trained with some knowledge of spoken English. Overall comfortable and very secure environment. The restaurant serves very good Tim sum.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

An impressive hotel to stay from the start, nice exteriors, exceptional service, clean and comfortable room, I definitely had a 5-star experience during my week long stay there. Check-in was fast and efficient and I was delighted that most of the staff there speaks a little English and the bell man was friendly and helpful to assist you.

Very well located hotel, there is almost everything you want to find nearby, stone throw away to the convention centre and MTR and Futian port (customs to HK), nearby to upscale Coco Park and wholesale shopping district Dong Men, few minutes’ walk to restaurants, Starbucks and night market.

The hotel’s service was impressive: once I called to request for a wi-fi adapter to the room but forgot about it and went out, when I returned to the room I actually received a call from the staff asking if they could still deliver the adapter to me and the service was prompt. Breakfast was normal. Be sure to try dim sum in their Chinese restaurant and the hotel serves a variety of Western/Asian cuisines too. Would be better if they have at least a mini gym but overall an awesome stay, will definitely be back again and highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

i had an enjoyable 2 nights stay at Asta. The room was clean and spacious, food was awesome and most importantly the staff were very polite and helpful. Everything about the hotel was 6 star quality. When I return to Shenzhen, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Hence I would strongly recommend Asta for your stay in Shenzhen.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nove2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
Marco Polo Shenzhen
Marco Polo Shenzhen
#19 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
686 reviews
Huanggang Port
Four Points by Sheraton Shenzhen
Wyndham Grand Shenzhen
#22 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huanggang Port
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
Wongtee V Hotel Shenzhen
#68 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
55 reviews
Civic Center
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
Sheraton Shenzhen Futian Hotel
#13 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
923 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#16 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asta Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asta Hotel Shenzhen

Property: Asta Hotel Shenzhen
Address: No.28 Fumin Road | Futian District, Shenzhen 518048, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Huanggang Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Asta Hotel Shenzhen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asta Hotel is ideally located in the Futian district in Shenzhen. A distinct blend of Southeast Asian and Chinese hospitality, it offers 328 tastefully appointed rooms and suites. Each room is spacious featuring a ceiling height of over three meters that allows for panoramic views of the city. An elegant gold themed lobby flows into distinct segments and areas allowing everyone to socialize and dine according to their tastes and time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asta Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing