We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the rooms with the Pillar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
Ranked #15 of 2,812 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Avoid the rooms with the Pillar”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is an excellent hotel and one that I have stayed in many times. However for the first time I was assigned a room with a pillar. I am afraid that the pillar takes up a large amount of floor space and the bathroom that came with the room was much smaller than the bathroom of any room we have previously enjoyed when staying in the Hotel. Also because this room (I cannot remember its number) was at the very far end of the hotel, the wifi reception is very poor.

In my case, I asked for another room, pillar free and a satisfactory room was provided immediately without any problem. Save for this my stay was as excellent as ever and, subject to avoiding a Pillar room, this remains an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room with a Pillar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    259
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
54
43
48
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taiping, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

While the location of the hotel is not the greatest in Futian, compared to marco polo. This hotel certainly maintains the JW standard!

Amenities and in house restaurants are excellent. I really like the Japanese restaurant there.

I highly recommend this place and while I'm a Gold member with marriott i don't see myself coming here as I no longer get corporate rates with them. This would be my hotel of choice if I did get corporate rates here :)

Great place to have meetings, weddings, events. professional staff and very helpful/friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile


I stayed there with family of four and the room was very comfortable. Nicely design room and toilet. The amenities are good and the gym is very well equipped. This is the high standard expected from Marriott hotel.

The only complain I have is the location. The hotel is located 10mins from MTR (according to the staff) and 20mins taxi ride to Lohwu. Around the hotel there are only a few small eateries and Macdonald. Hotel is probably perfect for working trip and not for leisure where u want to near the shopping areas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The rooms are great with very comfortable beds, perfect airconditioning and an interesting shower bath section. Service is good. Don't bother with the exec lounge unless it's on expense - doesn't offer much. The spa is very expensive too. The restaurants Chinese and International are a bit expensive by Chinese standards. Location wise is the downside - there isn't a lot walking distance in this rather office dominated modern area of Futian. There is a not very attractive set of restaurants next door with a mediocre Chinese restaurant. To make up for the location, this hotel is a cheaper than the competing big chain hotels including the Westin near the OCT Theme Park or the Grand Hyatt for shopping in the Luowu area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed in this JW Marriott Hotel for several nights in the past few years, this is one of the nest hotels I have stayed in China. Service is really good from the moment you get out of the car, checking in process is quick (unless they have a trainee), rooms are clean, accordingly decorated, and comfortable, my executive level room was spacious with a very nice view of the Futian District, taking a shower can be a new experience for a lot of people.

Food is ok and perhaps pricey the breakfast buffet is around USD $25 and lunch buffet is around USD$60, a cup of coffee in their Java Cafe is around USD$6 ($38 RMB) and it is not better than Starbucks, there is a Starbucks location in the next building - Tian An Cyber Times tower - where you can buy the same cup of coffee for less than half the price. A pint of Heineken is more than USD $12 ($80 RMB) if you have the money no problem, salud!! but if you are offended with these prices you can go and buy your beers and have something to eat to the 7-Eleven stores and multiple restaurants that are at a walking distance from the Hotel.

I had access to the executive lounge; great service, great view, good snacks, drinks and desserts.

Overall I have a very good opinion of this hotel and will keep staying during my trips to Shenzhen, it is at a walking distance to our office.

Room Tip: If you want to save some money, avoid eating and drink in the hotel's restaurants and bar, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perrote71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It has best bathtub, with a screen and a water-proof remote. Service is good, so the food. If you happen to be a apple fan, you got it. You can hook you i-xxx to av system for music and display. Like the web adapter there. I feel it's one of the best hotel at Shenzhen.

Room Tip: if you like soaked in a bathtub, it is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xiaoming Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for business now four times and for over 20 days. Each time I have been welcomed warmly by each staff member I have interacted with, whether that was the front door team, the front desk, lobby staff, concierge, restaurant each morning for breakfast, the fitness center, or the lounge. A totally professional and consistent experience. If you want to feel at home, when you are not, this property and team will not disappoint. A special note about Katy Kang of the Rewards Desk who is pleasant, efficient, and professional.

The rooms are elegantly appointed......clean, modern, very good bandwidth both wifi and Ethernet cable, and the room service and cleaning are prompt and top tier.

The fitness center is well equipped. It is a good size. It could use a few more different types of weight machines but it has more than the basics. The breakfast restaurant and offering is very good. And if you are a sushi lover the Japanese rest. is quite good.

Laundry service is fast and good.

My compliments to Marriott for this property and to the GM. You have created a very fine experience and a high performing team.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 19 and 8, especially 8 are worth requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
917 reviews
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#3 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#14 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
933 reviews
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
2,195 reviews
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#8 of 2,812 in Shenzhen
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen
Address: No.6005 Shennan Boulevard, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Xiangmi Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#12 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#14 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#44 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the newest International luxury hotels in Shenzhen at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen. Centrally located in the Futian Business District, our luxury International hotel in Shenzhen offers easy access to Baoan International Airport, Shenzhen Convention & Exhibition Centre, major tourist attractions and ports. Enjoy our Shenzhen luxury hotel first-class services, spacious accommodations, incredible amenities and fine dining. Rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42" flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Extensive spa treatments are available at Quan Spa along with our 24-hour Health Club and outdoor swimming pool. With over 1,226 square meters of function space, event planning and catering, we commit to make your event unforgettable. Experience the finest of luxury hotels in Shenzhen, China at the JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen, ideal for your China Hi-tech Fair needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing