We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
30
55
16
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
55
16
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale dormwould stay here againroom was cleanoctsupermarketqiaodongwifilaundrykeydeposittoilet
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 106 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I've stayed here on 2 occasions and enjoyed it very much. Hostel is clean and well run with helpful staff and a friendly manager which I met during my stay. The place is located in a very unique and peaceful pocket of Shenzhen with the 'OCT loft' art district next to the hostel. Only issues being the showers are always luke warm and very low pressure and with everyone using the free wifi come 9pm at night, it took me 5 min just to open my email page. The communal lounge area which has big doors opening onto a nice leafy street scene is a great place to relax. Will be staying here again soon

Room Tip: No lift, higher rooms means walking up more stairs
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkaetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I left my passport in the room. I called them 4 days later when I returned home and they had it and they will send it to me. I am very relieved.

Also, the rooms upstairs are VERY clean and the bathroom is very nice. Hotel style quality. Nice new blankets and Comfortable bed.

Mosquitos were biting however.

VERY GRATEFUL THEY DIDN"T THROW OUT MY PASSPORT!
THANKS!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrrosenthal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed in this hostel 12 days, and I enjoyed every minute of it. Very clean, helpful staff, and a great location. Several theme parcs within 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennisv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

i have seen hotels with worse rooms, so this came as a pleasant surprise
decent size room n bathroom

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jraja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Stayed here for two nights with my gf.

found it through the internet, looked through the nice ratings and decided to go - I would say the high ratings are worth it - its really a nice place

we payed 356 yuan for 2 nights, and thats 178 for one - a price that is super cheap if you compare it to Hong Kong standards
in Hong Kong one nights costs at least 350 hkd which is about the same in yuan...and the rooms are a lot worse in hong kong

The Shower here worked fine, hot water was running all the time, the aircon was working fine as well, it wasnt humid in the room, there was a nice wide window with not a bad view (i mean no slums near by), the bed was ok, pillows, blanket - ok, towels ok...no toothbrushes and toothpaste though (but thats not a minus if youre carrying your own)

the place is about 7-10 min away from the metro-subway-underground station. The area around the hostel is great - its some kind of art district, with pretty interesting cafes around it... also theres a starbucks 3-5 min walk away from the hostel

one of the numerous things i liked was that there was breakfast served at the lobby (theres an actual lobby there..not all hostels have that)
the breakfast was pretty good - not the best of course, but decent,, and cheap
the tables there are so cosy - theres a nice view to the street, you feel yourself sitting in a park

also theres a bicycle rental near the hostel - but we didnt manage to rent a bike, because it was closed at the time
I guess a bicycle would be a nice way to explore the near by areas.

All in all - this place is fantastic

the only minus - theres no elevator - and its problematic to take your luggage to the top floors (the top floor is no.5) - but theres a locker at the lobby - which costs 2 yuan per item per day

all the staff speaks good english (exept the janitors) - a rare thing for Shenzhen (if we dont take hotels in account)

I would deffinetly recommend this place to you if youre looking for a cheap, clean, relaxing place to stay

of course i think you could find even cheaper hostels in Shenzhen, which are closer to the central area, but it wont be that cosy there

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nogovitsyndhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews