We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run of the mill Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Ranked #44 of 2,860 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was my second stay. Both times I spent longer times there (4 nights during last stay), so can reasonably be sure of what the hotel offers.
First the good. Front desk Staff has a reasonable understanding of English. Rooms are reasonably cleaned. Quiet location (if facing ugly looking back view). Great location a block away from main drag and with many restaurants around (McDonald's serving wimpy, stale french fries is right across the street).
Now the not so good stuff.

Breakfast is just lousy and often hot items are kept way (and I mean WAY) off the required 60 deg. C. Coffee is as ugly as the one served in most Holiday Inn Express hotels in States or Canada (but it is strong at least).

In-room cleanliness is done on a shoestring. Carpets show signs of stains but are not steam cleaned. Caulking around sinks shows mold, yet is not replaced (poor ventilation, so take air freshner with you, if you do not want others to examine what you ate the day before, if you need to use toilet)

Need to say something about the quality of sleep. Seldom that I slept on a harder mattress at IHG branded hotels. By the fourth night it really took a toll on quality of my sleep (not mentioning that first night was an all night tossing affair too). They need to discover mattress toppers at this hotel.

The worst is the Internet. I was connected to their wired service in my 18th floor room and that was was going on and off. Wireless on my iPad or iPhone was constantly buffering. Only place with decent wireless was at their 2nd floor breakfast room or in the Lobby. Better connection starts past 11 pm. It is scandalous in this time and age. So, be pre-warned if you expect to connect efficiently with your home office. No improvement has been done since my last visit at the beginning of November of 2013. They just do not care about it (maybe IHG can do something?).

Room Tip: if you ask them to do laundry, you will need to bring your stuff to reception area before 10 am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 535 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's a decent hotel which provide a nice service. Toothbrush and soaps are provided. Breakfasts are average with eggs, bread, vegetables, porridges and noodles. Location is ok , 20-30 min walk to the nearest MTR. It is also near to the shopping area which is 20-30min walks from the back of the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Yuxian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel not only provides the best hospitality and comfort , it also makes sure that if you are. A 100% vegetarian then you can special order noodles etc specifying how u want it cooked . Also biggest advantage is when back in evenings to your room after completing your business work , you could walk to MixC , a beautiful mall full of places to eat and shop. Great location and a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KK_VAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I stay here for one night just for shopping. It's a very neat and tidy hotel. Small but clean room with free wifi. Breakfast is free too, but I did not try it.

The staff are courteous and check in service is smooth and pleasant. I stay in room 1518. Very good view. Very close to Luohu border about 10min by taxi. Also close,to MixC city.

Overall good for short stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Uffizi930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

comfortable beds,wifi speed is very good, metro is nearby and the electronics mall is just a walk away.. great for business people,restaurants/fast food nearby for your convenience, staff is very helpful

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank SamSajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a good hotel with very good value for money.
> This was my first experience with Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen.
> The rooms were neat and nice and comfortable.
> The breakfast menu is also good and had options for vegetarian.
> The location is just a bit odd to get there. The nearest MTR station is about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors give a view of the surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leopranay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel has a very inconvenient location... on the outskirts of town located
on a desolate side street with no restaurants, shopping or taxi's in the early morning or
evening.

The staff seemed to be friendly at first (then again they couldn't
speak English, so that's up for debate), but after paying the balance it all went right out
the window after walking into our room. When I asked for a different room due to the bathroom not being properly cleaned (used toilet paper and a dirty towel on the floor) and noise from above (presumably construction of some sort), they were very rude in that 1, we had to wait 20 minutes, 2 in saying "sorry for the inconvenience".. "we're all booked up now and there is nothing we can do". Seriously, the maid must have had the day off - it was dirty and it was loud. REALLY loud. Not exactly what we had hoped for after a 24 hour trip to arrive there. Ear plugs back in so we could sleep off some jet lag and a few hours later, upon asking for a refund for the following 2 days we had already paid for (so we could go down the street to another hotel, which in the end we did anyway) we were informed that only 30% could be returned and not until the following day. You figure out the hotel hours and how that would work... being polite with someone who doesn't understand politeness (even our translator tried) is a lost cause after so long...

This was our first trip to Shenzhen (I regularly travel to Beijing though) and I
expected this hotel to be up to international Holiday Inn standards - it was not. The bad
location alone is enough to look elsewhere. It's a 30 RMB taxi ride (after you walk a mile up the street to a McDonald's and wait 10 minutes or so) to the city (Luo Hu business/shopping district). Not convenient. Trust me, whether here on business or holiday, there are far nicer (and MUCH much cheaper) hotels with better locations and amenities in Shenzhen. This place is a dud.

I did a Google to post a review and what do you know.. the first result is owned by Holiday inn and negative reviews "require assistance and approval". No wonder they have 4/5 stars on Google+. Hmm...

Make no mistake - this is a wanna be Holiday Inn and should be avoided at all costs (unless of course you don't mind rudeness, noise all night and no taxi's around. You've been warned.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, fitness center, breakfast (aside from a little microwave) or internet cafe here fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SZXLH, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We are sorry to hear the hotel facilities was not up to your expectation, and aplogize to any inconvenience caused. Holiday Inn Express is one of IHG brand family, is a type of budget hotel. The facilities and service is different with the full serviced Holiday Inn. Holiday Inn Express features comfortable sleep, signature shower, complimentary breakfast and internet, offers a smarter choice for both business and leisure travelers.

We will look into the issue you mentioned and action to improve the procedure and service to make our customer feel better immediately.

Apologize again and hope your this time experience not moon you from us and Holiday Inn Express is still your option for your future accomadation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#45 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
299 reviews
Ramada Plaza Shenzhen North
#19 of 2,860 in Shenzhen
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Best Western Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Longgang District
Crowne Plaza Shenzhen Longgang City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu

Address: No.6 Guiyuan North Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#35 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $65 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu is easy. We're just 38km from Shenzhen International Airport and 3km from Luohu train station. Our modern high-rise hotel is also close to Dajuyuan metro station, where trains speed you to the Central Business District in just 10 minutes. Complimentary wireless Internet in your stylish Guest room keeps you connected.Invite colleagues to Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu for a conference in our high-tech meeting room. You can print agendas and check email in the 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and it's just 4 metro stops to events at Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre. Train services from Luohu station take just 1 hour to reach Hong Kong.It's 3.5km from the hotel to buzzing Huaqiangbei, the place to shop for the very latest in computer and electronic gadgetry. Pick up stylish outfits and leather handbags in huge MixC Shopping Mall, one of the biggest in China, or hop in a taxi to haggle for bargains in the shoppers' paradise of Dongmen district and Luohu Commercial City.Chinese congee porridge is served alongside western choices like poached eggs and toast at Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu 's complimentary breakfast buffet. Relax on the sofas in our vibrant Great Room, and enjoy a beer with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luohu Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen
Holiday Inn Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing