We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location..But...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunon Holiday Villa
Ranked #47 of 2,781 Hotels in Shenzhen
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location..But...”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As you come up from the train station and round a small corner your there, right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of shopping a tasty street foods. Checking in was a bit hard as we only speak English, but with some help from Google translate we were on our way to our room. The room was small, but that was to be expected. I noticed a light bulb was kinda hanging wrong so I just went to adjust it and I didn't realize the windows are left open, good thing i didn't try to brace myself on that, then it made me think if any creepy things crawled in while the room was vacant. Again its all about the location it was smack dab in the middle of the shopping district, lots of food and cheap things to buy. As far as the TV, you have to pay to watch anything worth watching.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darth-Katsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    123
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
61
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surabaya
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is my second time staying at the hotel, the first one was in 2011. I took MRT from Lou Hu to Lao jie, just 2 stops and the fare is 2 CNY. The building next door where MRT station lies is still under construction. Get out at exit E, there is a lift next to the stairs, ask someone. Turn left to the main road and Sunon Hotel on your right. Pretty much the same, nothing change. The double bed with windows is clean, the bed still hard, orthopaedic type. Dongmen area still the same, I found muslim street at the edge of the street next to Mc D, straight until one alley before the next main road. Breakfast in the hotel improving, though very basic. Several varieties have been added, watch the sign, it could be misleading for Muslims, ask the waiters. All the staffs are good and polite, they tried hard to help with their English. Eventhough it said one breakfast in the Agoda, I good breakfast for two. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Other than the location being in the very heart of Dongmen street shopping haven, this hotel is less than desirable. Though reasonably price, it is poorly managed and maintained badly. I booked what I thought was a better Deluxe Room but sadly it was rather worn out. Carpets stinks, towels worn out and even torn w holes. Room supposed to have a Wall mounted LCD TV but instead a small 20 inch box tv which had problems. Non smoking room but clearly not! Unless u do not mind all these than I recommend a miss. I booked for 2 nights but stayed 1 night and left earlier for HK instead even though HK was pricier.

There is a great Chinese restaurant in the connecting building on 3rd level. Dim sum and Cantonese cuisine very high standard as the Head Chef is from HK. Food consider very inexpensive for this excellent standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaacJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is on the famous walking street with a few walking step from subway exit.I got the room number 215 on second floor, the cheapest one with no window and I felt uncomfortable and confused about the time. Room was clean but it would be better if they have more outlet for each bedside tables and more English TV channel. The breakfast buffet was okay but the buffet staffs couldn't speak English so it's hard to order the egg dish.

Room Tip: rooms with window recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuang_Padlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Location was very good for a shopping spree. But the staffs at the reception was cold and distant. I asked for a map and was told there are no map. Luckily the room was clean and I got a larger room with good amenities. Breakfast was not good and the nasi lemak was far from the original taste. I would stay again only if the room is on discount.

Room Tip: get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fablejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getxo, EUSKADI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has an unbeateble location, but get a room with windows, if not it could be a littel claustrophibic in there. I went for the cheapest and that was a big mistake, I think that there must be better options in Shenzhen but that was what I chose. The hotel is nice the brakfast so so. But the best is the location 50 meters from the metro estation and just at the bigining of the shopping area, night market and so on.

Room Tip: There is a massage center next to the hotel, an some restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This will be my first n my last time staying in this hotel. The good: location n free wifi
The bad: service is not very gd, staff is unfriendly n manager does not haf any manners. When we talk to him, he does not even look at us. I wonder how can he be a manager with such attitude. Room is old and dirty. Bed is hard as if I'm sleeping on the floor. The shower area had a rusty rack and I do not know why is the rack being left there when it is so rusty. The 1st day when we check in the toliet had a strong urine smell and we got to wash the toliet to get rid of the smell. Sound proof is also very bad, we can hear the next room beside us switching on the switch, hanging their clothes and even coughing. Breakfast is bad too, bread is too hard and juice is near tasteless. Even though the location is very good but the hotel isn't worth my 2nd visit. I will still stick back to friendship hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny_8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shenzhen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#49 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
284 reviews
Dongmen
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
#127 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
413 reviews
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luohu Port
Best Western Shenzhen Felicity Hotel
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#13 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
273 reviews
Luohu Port
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
Sunshine Hotel Shenzhen
#42 of 2,781 in Shenzhen
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunon Holiday Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunon Holiday Villa

Property: Sunon Holiday Villa
Address: No.55 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunon Holiday Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunon Holiday Villa, Shenzhen has integrated business, conference,leisure and shopping as its theme. Its comfortable and well appointed rooms, advance conference facilities and impeccable services will make your stay a memorable experience. We are conveniently located in the heart of Shenzhen Dongmen shopping street and is set amidst business district, shopping havens and many local attractions. It is 100 meters away from the subway, 5 minutes away from the Luohu railway station and 40 minutes from the Shenzhen Bao'an international airport. The Hotel also featuring its Malaysian hospitality with each room well appointed and furnished with colour TV, direct dialling telephone, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, refrigerator and safety box. Its fine restaurant serve international cuisine of the highest quality including delicious Malaysian Cantonese, Asian and Westerm cuisine expertly prepared by master chefs. As for banquet facilities, the Hotel offers the fully equipped multifunction room, ideal for business meetings, cocktail and dinner parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunon Holiday Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunon Holiday Villa Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing