We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard beds, rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunon Holiday Villa
Ranked #64 of 2,840 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Situated opposite exit “F” at Laojie metro staion, and right in the heart of Dongman shopping area, this hotel is certainly very convenient. We were first given a room on the 5th floor which was being refurbished and the stench of glue was enough to give anyone a high and a headache. The shower in the room did not function either, so we asked reception if we could change rooms. The reception staff really speak no English, and it was only the intervention of a manager who spoke just a few words of English that allowed us to change room. The beds in our first room, and also in our second room were extremely hard, even by Asian standards. I asked the manager if he could arrange for an additional duvet to put on top of the mattress to soften it, and he said he would. However, when it failed to arrive, and given the lack of understanding of English with the staff, I wrote my request in English on my laptop and translated it with Google. I took my laptop to reception and showed it to the girl who finally understood what I wanted. Her reply was a strong refusal, to the point of rudeness.

Apart from the beds, the room was ok, aircon, coffee facilities, wired internet connection and plenty hot water in the glass walled bathroom. You could hear the police sirens quite loudly as they wailed through the town in the evening and night. Breakfast for Westerners was just ok, cereal, eggs cooked to order and strange toasted bread and strange tasting jam. I did not try the coffee.

If you want a hotel near the shopping, and you really like a hard bed and rude staff, this hotel might suit you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenArkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 237 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights 3 days. Booked through Agoda and check-in was hassle-free. Breakfast was just so-so. Not much of a variety. Room was great as I had requested for a double bed! Able to fit 3 person without any problem! Its huge and very comfortable though it's slightly hard. Toilet was average. They do provide all the toiletries. However, the toilet glass from the bed view are matte. Therefore it is still slightly visible although blurry so it's not suitable for shy person. Location is superb! It is walking distance from Lao Jie MRT and also walking distance to Dong Men Shopping paradise. Nearby you may also find a lot of eateries which is open from early morning till midnight about 1am. It is a great location as you can find everything in this area from shopping, massage, eating and also it's near to the MRT. No free wifi provided. There are 2 laptops at the lobby for free use. Some staff are quite friendly as they introduced us to have some nearby food which is good and their specialty. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank genxjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Conveniently located near the metro station and the old town shopping area, this large hotel has attractive rooms with coffee making facilities, hair drier and tv (all chinese). The beds are rock hard; the reception staff speak no English and are very unhelpful and the breakfast is more geared to Chinese than Western.

If convenience is more important than comfort, this might be ok.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Sunon Holiday Villa is operated by hospitality management group Holiday Villa Hotels & Resorts of Malaysia. It has 130 rooms over 8 floors. Since it is under Malaysian company management, the bellhops wear a Malaysia-style uniform with batik trimmings. The website had many special offers for Malaysia residents, like customers of Maybank or RHB Bank. AirAsia website also gave a good rate for Sunon. As expected, there were many hotel guests from Malaysia.

We booked 2 nights through Agoda at USD47 per night, and were given a non-smoking room on 5th Floor, with window looking into the neighboring alley. The bellhops were friendly and helpful, but the reception staff were uptight and unsmiling. Room was quiet, and bathroom was small, with all glass walls. Soap and shampoo came out of dispensers. Room had free LAN internet, LCD TV, mini fridge, kettle, hairdryer, safe, slippers, 2 bottles water complimentary.

Hotel offered only 1 free breakfast per room, but we did not use it. We had yummy dim sum breakfast at Tang Palace on 4F and 6F of the building about 20 meters in front of Sunon. Go early as there was always a queue. There were many restaurants to the left, right and rear of Sunon, really spoilt for choice.

The hotel location is excellent, right on top of the Lao Jie subway station in the south of Dong Men. Dong Men is not a big place as it takes about 20 minutes to walk through the Pedestrian streets to the north (Li Xin Road), but there are hundreds of malls and shops enticing the shoppers. The Lao Jie station has 2 subway lines: Line 1 and Line 3. Line 1 goes from Luo Hu, pass Lao Jie to the Convention Center, Window of the World, and to the Airport in the west. Line 3 is newly-opened, and goes from Fu Tian in the south, pass Lao Jie and Dafen (oil painting village) to Long Gang in the north-east. Lao Jie is an excellent station to get to all the must-see places in Shenzhen.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Singapore-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My family (me, my husband and my son), my parents and my brother stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on the way to Hongkong from Macau. The check in was quick and one of the receptionist can speak English quite well. The room was small, but I guess for the price we paid, we kind of expected it. Good location, near station and shopping centres.
Breakfast was just average, there's only a few choices - Sausages, bacon, eggs, congee, nasi lemak and a couple of fruits. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, even though most of them doesn't speak English well. The receptionist helped us with transportation from the hotel to the port, and got us a big taxi to fit all of us in.
There is a massage service that runs until late at night, and you get a discounted price as a hotel guest... Nothing special on the massage, and the ladies that massaged us doesn't speak English at all.
In a nutshell there's nothing special about this hotel, it's good for sleeping, great location, but that's about all there is to it.

Stayed: October 2011
Thank Agatha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel is located at very great location, just 1 minute walk arrive shopping street. About the room. It is clean but I was asigned with a room without windows. Feel no fresh air in the room. The hotel is also not far from the underground train. Easy can go to any plance in Shen Zhen.

Room Tip: Please choose room that have window. This have to be inform the hotel early. Because when I check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My 2nd time stay in this hotel. 03/ 03 / 2012
If you are Malaysian you will be glad that this hotel actually run by malaysian and you will have nasi lemak for breakfast ;p
Choices for b.fast is good, if to buy b.fast voucher cost about USD 5 ,
option just walk few doors away to LAI WAN restaurant porridge for USD3 ..

Front desk were very helpful can speak good english :).
Room and toilet are clean, but central aircond was a bit warm for both my stay although the weather was 16 degree, i then opened the window ;p
Free Wifi.

YOu can take airport bus from airport ( RMB 20 / USD 3 ) to Lou Hu then take MRT or
from airport just walk to the MRT station , stop at Lau Jie ( old street ) use Exit E, walk up to the staircase , immediate the staricase, there's another staircase behind you ( dont walk towards the shopping mall ) , go up and walk to your right , across a small road and very soon you will see Sunon Holiday villa ( opposite shenzhen cinema ).
Exit E will lead you directly to the hotel, but if you have heavy luggage , pls look for other exit which have escalator, you might have to walk further but it's not easy to climb up so many steps with heavy luggage at Exit E.
After effect - my luggage was demaged , no worries plenty of luggage stall around this area :D

You can consider to buy the latest 360 degree turning luggage which is quite cheap.
I bought a 32 inch which cost about USD 50 .
25 inch ultra light case about USD 30 .

McD , KFC , chinese food... about 1- 5 minutes walk.

If the hotel will place a weighing machine at any of the corner or can borrow to the room, it'll be PERFECT haha :D
i lost my luggage scale during the trip,I was given a 25 kg spring scale, hard and painful to hold .
Good shopping area , too many to carry back ;p

YOu can arrange transport to airport from hotel which cost RMB 150 ( USD 20+ )

The hotel have Spa , massage, and local tour service .

If you want to have short trip to Guangzhou, just take MRT to Lou Hu and then take a train to Guangzhou 1 way USD 10 + about an hour 15 minutes which will lead you to guangzhou railway station metro.
A short trip to Hong kong , you have to go through the imigration at Lou Hu, bring along your passport.

I will stay at this hotel again next trip to shenzhen, keep up the good work Sunon holiday villa :D

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 18fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Dongmen
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
Zhong Tai Lai Hotel
#81 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
420 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#46 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
295 reviews
Huaqiang North
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Fuhua
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Fuhua
#75 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongmen
Holiday Inn Express Shenzhen Luohu
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#17 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
318 reviews
Dongmen
Lee Garden Hotel
Lee Garden Hotel
#846 of 2,840 in Shenzhen
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunon Holiday Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunon Holiday Villa

Address: No.55 Yongxin Street, Jiefang Road, Luohu District, Shenzhen 518000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Dongmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#64 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range: $43 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunon Holiday Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunon Holiday Villa, Shenzhen has integrated business, conference,leisure and shopping as its theme. Its comfortable and well appointed rooms, advance conference facilities and impeccable services will make your stay a memorable experience. We are conveniently located in the heart of Shenzhen Dongmen shopping street and is set amidst business district, shopping havens and many local attractions. It is 100 meters away from the subway, 5 minutes away from the Luohu railway station and 40 minutes from the Shenzhen Bao'an international airport. The Hotel also featuring its Malaysian hospitality with each room well appointed and furnished with colour TV, direct dialling telephone, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, refrigerator and safety box. Its fine restaurant serve international cuisine of the highest quality including delicious Malaysian Cantonese, Asian and Westerm cuisine expertly prepared by master chefs. As for banquet facilities, the Hotel offers the fully equipped multifunction room, ideal for business meetings, cocktail and dinner parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunon Holiday Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunon Holiday Villa Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing