We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shantou Overseas Chinese Hotel
Ranked #113 of 196 Hotels in Shantou
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel needs improvement”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The staff are getting complacent and standards are falling. They need to improve and possibly refurbish as they are charging RMB268 for a deluxe room. It was more expensive than others we stayed in on this trip and yet was in worse condition. We are generally not fussy but cleanliness is important as we travel with 3 kids.
Plus point is it's next to the big supermarket and night stalls and pedestrian street. Also next to the long distance bus terminal. However, service on the bus is not as good as the other bus company from Shenzhen to Shantou.

We took a bus from Shenzhen (at this terminal next to the Overseas Chinese Building (Hua Qiao Da Sha). Call ahead to inform them you wish to take the bus and at what time. Phone [--]. Service was nice, served tea on board, also water, plastic bags provided for rubbish or car sickness. Attendant was proactive. RMB80. It does not stop at the terminal mentioned above though. But it was RMB7 (after bargaining) to the terminal. Much better than the horrid service for the bus from Shantou to HK. RMB190 and nothing to praise. Even lost my bag on the bus. Also had horrid experience at the HK border.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I have always stayed at this hotel everytime we came to visit relatives in urban area. Lotus supermarket is right next to the hotel..pretty convenient to buy fruits and water at reasonable price. Price is good judging from the convenience, room conditions. Will continue to stay here for my future visits.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lattex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We went there to visit relatives in Chao An. And stayed at Shantou Overseas Chinese Hotel (华侨大厦)for 2 nights.

I did called a tour agency here in Shantou when i was at home to enquire about the room rate, the person said 180 RMB per room per night. But did not book through her because we don't know how long we will stay at our relatives's house.

We checked in on 3 Mar 2011, we got 168 RMB per room per night for walk in rate. Need to pay deposit 32 RMB per room per night. So we paid total 1200 RMB for 3 rooms for 2 nights.

This hotel has got very good location, it's beside a shopping mall LOTUS- with large supermarket (something like carrefour or giant), many shops, 4 restaurants and a bakery. Try to eat at these restaurants as they are more hygienic, not expensive also.

The walking shopping street (华侨新村步行街)also just behind the hotel.
Also small eating outlets around the area.

There is also a park near the shopping street. Entrance fee 1 RMB.can go for morning walks n interact with locals.

Also has got a traditional Market opposite (have to cross a busy road-we just follow the locals) We went there for breakfast - yummy chee cheong fan ( 3 types-pork, seafood and beef) . We order 3 chee cheong fan-2pork, 1seafood and a bowl of pee dan jork -century egg porridge, all these for just 20 RMB. Also can be found is ham jean bang and you tiao.

There is also a bus terminal next to hotel, very convenient if u are going to travel to other areas. (For this i am not sure, u better check whether the bus goes to the destination u want to go or not)

For the room itself is quite clean, u pay what u get, they got free toothbrushes, comb, shampoo and body foam. Towels are quite new, provide two types of pillows- hard n those softer ones. Although they never on the heater (i knew about this when i heard 2 chinese tourists asking), but even though night temperature is about 11°C outside, i dun feel cold inside the room. Of course got hot water. My parents n me got connecting rooms when requested.

There is a travel agency inside the hotel, where u can book 1 days trips or few days trips to nearby areas but need to book in advance, i think.

For transport from airport to hotel or vice versa, i dun know as this was arranged by our relatives.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chief_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We got a cheap rate for the Overseas Chinese Hotel - Rmb 218, but pretty soon wished we had paid more and got a better hotel.

Location is pretty good, right next to central bus station and some restaurants nearby. Reception is fairly efficient, but not much English spoken.

Problems included - yellow tap water; tepid to warm water from shower;very noisy and cold air conditioner even when set on 'low' and 30C; as fairly normal there was a lack of English TV channels and very slow internet (although was free); also no hair dryer in bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shantou
1.7 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
1.9 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#3 of 196 in Shantou
179 reviews
7.3 mi away
Yuehai Hotel
Yuehai Hotel
#76 of 196 in Shantou
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Huaqiao Mansion
#1 of 2 in Chenghai
1 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
2.0 mi away
Ala Zhuoying Hotel
Ala Zhuoying Hotel
#69 of 196 in Shantou
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantou Overseas Chinese Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantou Overseas Chinese Hotel

Property: Shantou Overseas Chinese Hotel
Address: No.41 Shanzhang Road, Shantou 515041, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 196 Hotels in Shantou
Hotel Class:3 star — Shantou Overseas Chinese Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Shantou Overseas Chinese Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing