We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good for a Smaller-City China Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regency Hotel Shantou
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for a Smaller-City China Hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I'm giving this place 5 stars because I don't think there's a better hotel in Shantou. I probably couldn't have wanted more in a hotel, given my location, so by default it was perfect.

I booked an Executive Floor room...I don't think I'd do that again--breakfast was included and was served in the 27th floor lounge. Most other executive/club level floors have evening snacks and drinks--this place did not...That was a little disappointing. The breakfast was pretty weak--everything looked old--I was the only person in the lounge all 3 of my days there. They did make me an omelet which wasn't bad.

The lobby is huge and modern...Well appointed. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and rather comfortable--keeping in mind this is China and almost all beds in China are rock hard and uncomfortable...The bathroom was nice, the TV was small but had 7-8 English channels.

Some complaints below about the lack of free water in the room. I was brought 2 small bottles nightly, however, facing the check-in desk, the exit towards the right, there's a small pastry shop--water is RMB4.00 each there.

In summary, will surely stay here again when I return to Shantou. Good hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    126
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
5
2
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed in an Executive room of this hotel while we have stayed in many hotels in China ranging from 2 star to 5 star, we were surprised, by this being the first hotel that l we have uncounted that did not supply bottle water, and were charged 30rmb for a bottle, outrageous!!! The Internet did not work , luckily we had booked 2 rooms so we could use it in the other room. By the way this also had a charge of 30rmb. The room service was a difficult experience, as no one spoke English. I also found the service substandard, no one looked happy to serve you
Rooms are ok but they charge for everything. We will look for another hotel on our return to this city.
side note: Smallest TV I have seen in a hotel room

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

While the room rate was pretty good, they rip you off with everything else. Bottled Water in the lounge: 16RMB, bottled water in the room 30RMB!!! (And there is no complimentary drinking water) Tea in the lounge was 78RMB for 3 people, and we drank standard tea, not the super expensive stuff. Quite outrageous.

The bed was quite hard, and I had difficulty sleeping on it. The carpet was somewhat dirty. Overall, it was acceptable for the price, and it was convenient for the meetings I was attending. Just don't eat or drink anything in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gt4877c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

I booked the Executive room on the 27th Floor; took my wife and 2 1/2 year old son. The Hotel is GORGEOUS; very big with many shops inside. On the 27th Floor, there's a coffee room available for all who booked for that Floor. (Coffee is free and newspapers are available). The staff was very attentive to my son !!
If there is any negative thing to say it is to be careful when you 'get a deal' online for this hotel. Yes, you CAN get a reduced rate at a Fantastic Hotel. Just be sure you are prepared to be nickeled-and-dimed to death for everything there (including napkins at the dinner table). Once you are aware of this activity, you will be okay.
I doubt I will ever go to Shantou again; however if I DID go to that area again, I would be sure to look up the Regency Hotel for my stay.

Dr. Phil
University Professor
China

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laoshiphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I was in Shantou on business, early in Oct. This is a very busy time in Shantou, with many buyers visiting the factories, getting ready for fall 2009 business.
I have stayed at the Regency before, and always found it to be a very nice, well run hotel, that does a good job catering to it's Western customers.
Many of the staff speak English, well enough, to be able to help if there is a problem.
The buffet breakfast in the morning, has a nice variety of food choices, from omelettes to Asian specialities.
My room was large, and clean. I would have loved to have had CNN on my TV, but it is not available.
As a woman, traveling alone, I think this is a good place to stay.
Shantou, does not have any Western chain hotels, so this is the best alternative.
NSR

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing near by, to go to at night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaino2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

I am in Shantou on business and stayed in this hotel last night.

It looks pretty impressive from the outside, and I was quite pleased with the room when I first entered. In the evening I did see a medium sized cockroach climbing up the wall (which was quickly despatched to hell by my shoe)

I ordered room service last night, which was a struggle as always in China. I ordered a hamburger and apart from being slightly brown on the outside, the meat was completely raw. Didnt bother to complain though, it's too much like hard work being a non Chinese speaker.

If anyone is into this sort of thing, at 10pm a rather attractive girl rang on my doorbell and offered me sexual services for 600 RMB.
She said she was from the hotel sauna. When I said no thanks she asked if I wanted another girl sent up instead.
I wonder if this happens to all male guests, or maybe the lady at room service REALLY misunderstood my order!

So anyway I went to bed (alone) and discovered it was quite hard (the bed, not anything else). This was disappointing as I had been looking forward to a good nights sleep. As it was I woke up at 5.30 am and didnt sleep again.

My room without breakfast was less than 500 RMB, but internet is extra and there are little irritations like no free drinking water available (you have to purchase a bottle from the minibar for 30 RMB - which is more than a bottle of Heineken!)

I have stayed in a lot lot worse hotels than this one, but I was just disappointed after my first sight of the hotel and thinking this was going to be a top class stay.

Service was pretty good though. And I don't mean the lady of the night, I didnt take her up on her offer, honest!

  • Liked — It looks posh from the outside and at the lobby
  • Disliked — The bed was too hard and my burger was raw
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank slimboyfat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shantou hotels
2.0 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#4 of 199 in Shantou
180 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
2.8 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Gulf Hotel
Golden Gulf Hotel
#3 of 199 in Shantou
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Garden Hotel Shantou
Garden Hotel Shantou
#25 of 199 in Shantou
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oujue Grand Hotel
Oujue Grand Hotel
#15 of 199 in Shantou
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Shantou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Shantou

Property: Regency Hotel Shantou
Address: No.188 Jinsha East Road, Shantou 515041, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Regency Hotel Shantou 5*
Number of rooms: 554
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Hotel Shantou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing