We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. Not great. Across from Walmart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regency Hotel Shantou
Ranked #26 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Apparently popular with business travelers and locals alike (multiple weddings were going on during my visit), property felt somewhat dated. Carpets, elevators and rooms had faint aroma of smoke. Room was well appointed, however I was unable to control the temperature and was quite cold. The mattress is unquestionably the hardest I have ever slept on, literally bruising my sides!! Buffet restaurant inside was average with good local assortment, however almost nothing to offer in European or North American style. Will be seeking alternate options on next visit.

Room Tip: Make sure the climate control is functional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel on business for the better part of 10 years. It is starting to show its age, but they have been remodeling it and as of late, I have gotten newly decorated rooms lately on the upper floors that are non-smoking and very nice and with new carpets etc... Food is typical local and seafood oriented. No Internet in room unless you go for the up charge but there is wifi in the lobby. Bed is hard as a rock but I suppose that is also typical Chinese luxury. No real complaints though. Nice clean place to stay while doing business here. Now a close walk to Il Santo (a few blocks down the road) and across from WalMart (to get some cheese/wine) as a change of pace from local cuisine.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good in the face of new acylated shopping center. Rooms are good. how the customer's pocket money, just sell them boast lovely staff running. Especially the people in the picture
The hotel is good in the face of new acylated shopping center. Rooms are good. how the customer's pocket money, just sell them boast lovely staff running. Especially the people in the picture

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serdar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I used to stay in Regency in 2005-2007...Since then it looks like the rooms haven't been rennovated, the furniture looks older, the carpets as well...I could rate it as 4,5-star hotel back then...Now it can only pass as 3-3,5-star...Service is OK, but we do I have to pay for Internet? There's no wi-fi in the room, in the lobby only...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peide77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Check-in was slow, and staff wasn't terrible bi-lingual (nor am I so I don't hold it against them, they just didn't seem like they wanted to help). I thought they had put a box-spring on top of another box spring but apparently that's what passed as a mattress. This was only non-smoking in the sense that they added a non smoking sign that wasn't there for the person before me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkelly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

By the standards of Chinese tier two cities, this place is good, perhaps very good in some areas. However, the all-pervasive filth from smokers is everywhere in the lobby and other common areas. Our party of 18 insisted on non-smoking rooms. At first, it was a case of "Bu Keyi", but eventually the check-in staff gave us superior non-smoking rooms on the 16th floor. So, full marks to them for that.

Breakfast was better than expected, with a wide range of Chinese and western items.

The hotel is located on the eastern outskirts of Swatow city, so is slightly inconvenient for those who intend to spend time downtown. However, it is close to the motorway back to Shenzhen and H.K..

Room Tip: Unless you are a nicotine addict, insist on the 16th floor non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last 5 years and as far as Chinese hotels go it is pretty good. Its not 5 star more like 4. There are not many options at all in Shantou, and for me the Meritus is on the other side of town from where my meetings are. The rooms are getting a bit tired and beds are hard, as virtually all Chinese hotels are. The staff are pleasant and communication is OK, but i have got used to it. The chiu chow restaurant is pretty good and the western restaurant downstairs is OK as well. The swimming pool is very good, except you have to wear the silly swimming cap thingy....not very western that.

Room Tip: Always ask for a non smoking "Western room" also they often have specials on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shantou hotels
2.2 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#4 of 199 in Shantou
183 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Gulf Hotel
Golden Gulf Hotel
#3 of 199 in Shantou
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Happy Hotel
Happy Hotel
#13 of 199 in Shantou
117 reviews
7.9 mi away
Yuehai Hotel
Yuehai Hotel
#74 of 199 in Shantou
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Shantou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Shantou

Address: No.188 Jinsha East Road, Shantou 515041, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range: $47 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Regency Hotel Shantou 5*
Number of rooms: 554
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Hotel Shantou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing