We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget price for a good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Hu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Hu Hotel
Ranked #71 of 194 Hotels in Shantou
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Budget price for a good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is old but with resently renovated it give good value for the hotel price. The location is not the best by should be ok for tourist ,to get visit to the city. Taxi is easily available outside the hotel. There have two block of hotel ,the older block at the back have no lift. Pay abid more and stay in the new wing. There have free wifi and breakfast. The breakfast offer although is not the best, but I have no complain with the price we paid.

Room Tip: Stay at the new wing with lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipcss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during my recent trip to Shantou with family.

First thing that caught my attention was the hardness of the bed. My parents didn't sleep well but it was OK for me as i generally prefer harder mattress. I would say the hardness of the mattress is 9/10.

Pros:
- Clean room
- In-room wifi (every room has a wireless router so connection was good)
- Decent breakfast - wide selection of hot dishes, congee, steamed bun etc. and bread. They don't serve coffee/tea, you have to get them from the bar

Cons
- Hotel is not within walking distance to shopping area and main streets.
- No eateries nearby
- Staff wasn't friendly. Furthermore, to me it is very unprofessional for hotel staff to ask for more tips, and one of the staff actually did that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenNerdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Located beside the government office. If needed to travel to the shopping area, need to take a taxi approx 5 mins ride. Rooms are reasonable clean. Got a non-smoking room but when opened the drawer can smell a stench of cigarette smell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

For a simple no-frills hotel that is centrally located this one is quite good.

Rooms are starting to show their age, but have been well maintained and the breakfast, while nothing special and lacking anything resembling western fare, was quite good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I couldn't remember much actually as I was so tired when I checked in. But the hotel provided me with the rest I needed and I woke up the next day refreshed and charged.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorisyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel if you need a bed for the night but it's definitely not luxury. In China this qualifies as a 3.5 star. In the west we'd call it a good 2 star.

Pros:
- The rooms are clean, quiet and well-presented.
- It's cheap as chips
- The breakfast spread is actually pretty good.
- The location is very central.
Cons:
- The staff don't speak much English though the manager speaks a bit
- They struggled to find our reservation at first (reserve under a chinese name if possible to avoid this).
- The beds are hard as rock!

All in all, you can probably do better but you could certainly do worse.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashasawchai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

My first impression wasnt the greatest, they had lost our reservation and seemed to be very reluctant to help out and we had no where else to go.
Because of a mixup with our reservation, we were upgraded to the suite at a discounted price. Most members of staff were very patient with us (considering the language barrier) and if they didnt understand would get any other member of staff to translate.

Everytime we would leave they would tell the cab driver where to take us and tell us how much it should cost. The business centre helped us book our tickets and overall I was quite satisfied with my stay.

However, there is minimal tourist information, minimal help about tourist things activities, and is quite far from the train station/bus station. Any questions you ask they do their best to get someone to answer it for you.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank jester_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shantou hotels
0.3 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#4 of 194 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regency Hotel Shantou
Regency Hotel Shantou
#62 of 194 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Gulf Hotel
Golden Gulf Hotel
#3 of 194 in Shantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
0.7 mi away
Green Tree Inn (Shantou Tianshan Road Business Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Hu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Hu Hotel

Property: Long Hu Hotel
Address: No.2 Dabeishan Road, Longhu District, Shantou 515041, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 194 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Hu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Long Hu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing