We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Golden Gulf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Gulf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel. There is shopping around the area. The room was clean. The bellboys were friendly and helpful. We were waiting for the driver we engaged and one of the bellboys came up to us and told us he has seen our driver who has gone to the washroom.

The con is that the cleaning staff is not very good. I left a cup of coffee half drank and went out. I came back at night the cup of coffee was still sitting on the desk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jona04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to Shantou to attend friends' wedding, and they booked a room in this hotel for us.

The location is quite convenient. It locates in a main street. The road behind the hotel leads to Parkson shopping mall. And there are a lot of local restaurants and a Walt-mart supermarket around it. However, the whole area does not look very luxury or top-end.

There are several restaurants and bars on G/F of the hotel. On the night right after my friends' wedding, I had drink (green tea) with one of my university schoolmates in the lounge bar. And the next morning, I had Chaozhou style morning tea with another schoolmate in university in the Chinese restaurant on G/F. It was very convenient for me to choose and I didn't find any food rather untasted.

The room is comfortable. There is green plant in the room, which is quite rare during my experience in many hotels.

We just stayed for one night, so didn't have much special feelings about it. It is a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

During my recent stay, I exchanged currency with the front desk several times. On the final day, I was given fake 100 yuan notes. I do not know how many fake I was given but the taxi driver identified two. I may have passed more unknowingly to other parties. When we notified the hotel, we were told that the front desk verify with a currency detector (this was not done). We informed the hotel to investigate as there may be a racket using the hotel as a front to pass out fake currencies but they did not respond to our request. This is a TERRIBLE experience, and if this is happening, how can I trust the hotel with all my personal belongings left in the hotel room???

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnTh36o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here although the first impression of the dirty carpets wasn't very good.

Positives - Spacious room, reliable internet and good friendly reception staff.
Negatives - dirty carpet, people touting for business in the lobby.

Overall I would stay here again and probably will on future business trips.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I think this is the best hotel in Shantou.Price is affordable,good location.(just next to Packson Shopping Centre) Clean room. service is 5 Star.Butler Miss Molly very helpful.Tour desk next to the reception very useful and helpful.I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arjunmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I go to Shantou once every year for Business and I've stayed at the Regency Hotel. This hotel is much better than the Regency Hotel, The front desk was very friendly, the western breakfast is served on a separate restaurant (which I liked very much), the beds are much softer than on the Regency Hotel, and It's located in Downtown , which is a plus. The gym needs an upgrade. I stayed at the Top floor rooms, which were huge, and recently renovated. In all a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viptravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I stayed in a suite and it was very spacious, clean and room service was excellent. The maid went out of her way to clean our messy room and hung all our wet clothes, put them on a rack that faced the window so our clothes would dry quickly

The travel service next to the check-in counter was very good. We bought airline tickets to fly to ShanTou and it was very easy - well, assuming you speak Chinese. My Chinese was passable for a foreigner so I was able to get what I wanted across but the staff spoke very little English. The place opens until midnight, I think.

There was another travel service nearby the elevators - I think this travel service caters more to group tours and when I tried to buy a train ticket from GuangZhou to Hong Kong, they told me that there was a surcharge of 30 RMB per ticket (190 RMB). This works out to be 15% of the regular ticket price. I just bought the tickets for my family at the train station and saved my family $120 RMB.

The buffet is not very appetizing. We arrived late (about 8 PM) and the food didn't look fresh and the selection was pretty limited. My daughters and I decided to walk and had dinner at a fast food place called Turbo, a block or two from the hotel. They had pictures on the menu so my daughters could just point and order since they can't speak Mandarin

Internet access is free in the room but it's wired, not WiFi (Ethernet cable is provided) A little bit inconvenient but it sure beats paying $10/hour ($80 USD / 24 hour, I think) as I had to pay when I stayed at the Hyatt in Hong Kong. You'd think that at $120 USD per day for a room, one would get free WiFi but the Hyatt sure knows how to milk its customers.

Taxis service is readily available. Some taxi drivers will not turn on the meter so beware.

Within a block or two of the hotel is a Walmart. It's huge and you can buy fresh fruits there as well.

Within a 5-10 minute drive is the night market (it costs about 10 RMB to take a taxi there). This is a good place to take the kids shopping for junkets in the evening and it stretches out almost a city block. We bought two no-name wrist watches for $3 USD / watch and, amazingly, it's still keeping good time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanNoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shantou hotels
0.9 mi away
Shantou International Hotel
0.3 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#4 of 199 in Shantou
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Regency Hotel Shantou
Regency Hotel Shantou
#24 of 199 in Shantou
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Happy Hotel
Happy Hotel
#8 of 199 in Shantou
117 reviews
0 mi away
Menshing Glory Plaza Hotel
Menshing Glory Plaza Hotel
#18 of 199 in Shantou
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gulf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gulf Hotel

Address: No.96 Jinsha Road, Longhu District, Shantou 515041, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shantou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 199 Hotels in Shantou
Price Range: $60 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Gulf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Gulf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing