We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seafood and sea!!”

Shantou Nan'ao Island National Forest Park
Ranked #6 of 71 things to do in Shantou
Attraction details
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“seafood and sea!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you also complain that the pollution is very bad in China, this place can change your mind. The seafood there is really fresh and delicious. You can even have some dried seafood back. I have been there several times. The air is fresh and swimming in the sea is really fun. PS, you need to take the ferry to be there so far.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
546 reviews
307 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 989 helpful votes
“Great beach.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

For a chinese beach, this one was great.

Getting to the island can be a bit of a hassle though, as some other reviewers have mentioned, so be sure to plan ahead.

The island iS quite large, so if you plan to get around and explore, then be sure to get to the pier early.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Alin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantou, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best beach near Shantou”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We often go to the Nan'ao island to have a good time near the sea. The beach is clean and pleasant and the island is beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Evgeniya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice scenery but...”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We chartered a MPV with driver to Nan'ao Island for a day trip and ended up waiting close to 4 hrs at the pier (due to some fog) just trying to get onto a ship that can bring us to Nan'ao Island. When we finally reached the Island, we just went to a regular seafood joint with seaview and meal was mediore and ex considering what we ordered. This is a big island with some nice scenery but unfortunately we didn't make much stopover as we need to rush back to catch the ship back to Shantou. Will advice to check on the weather (visibility) first before planning the trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank WuMinSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore Bukit Batok
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nan ao island”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We went over to the island via ferry which was packed going to and fro. Be prepared for some unhygienic situations while on the ferry which is quite like a boneshaker. We experienced a delay going to the island and at times when the sea is choppy the ferry schedule would be scrapped and you would be stranded on the island for days. The island itself is beautiful given the congestion on the mainland. There are some tourists attractions though nothing of the wow factor. It would be interesting to explore the farming industry on the coast and take some unique photos of it. Savour their seafood which is also reasonably priced and fresh. Look at their wind farm and perhaps stay at their monastery. For want of something better to do in Shantou, island hopping could be a good alternative.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank tub45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shantou Nan'ao Island National Forest Park also viewed

Shantou, Guangdong
 
Shantou, Guangdong
Shantou, Guangdong
 

Been to Shantou Nan'ao Island National Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing