We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Oriental Hotel
Ranked #136 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
203 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“OK for the price but nothing special”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The entrance foyer is impressive but the rooms are not. The stained, gold carpeting in the room had hair everywhere so my guess is the hotel does not vacuum. The furniture is dark and there is a cathode ray tv in the room. Bathroom is old marble. As mentioned by a previous guest, there are only 2 cans of soda in the fridge and terrible instant coffee. No iron. On the plus side, the wired internet was fast and the water pressure was good. It was also quiet--we did not hear other guests at all.
There is a fitness center that doesn't open until 6:30am (and the employees arrived late to open it) with only 2 treadmills, 1 bike and 1 elliptical machine, none very new, but decent weights.
The breakfast buffet has a good selection of very mediocre food. Staff are friendly. Total cost for our stay was less than $80USD per night so for the money it's okay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RickyBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

the last 2 times i stayed at this hotel, it was called the Grand Oriental Hotel. i enjoyed my stays under the previous management. in the last 2 years, it has changed hands and is now the Royal Hotel, the overall decor is the same but certain things are lacking:

the mini bar in the room is now filled with 2 sodas, nothing else. there used to be snacks and a wide variety of drinks available.
there is no mention of environmental concerns - ie not having your sheets changed every day or using a towel for more than one day
the western breakfast no longer has the custard buns or omelettes made to order
there's no wifi in the rooms and the internet is not always accessible with a cable
you need a swim cap in the pool and who travels with one?
staff English levels are low. granted we are in China but it is a business hotel so they should be able to speak more at the front desk or at the pool and spa.
there is no fruit delivery in the room every day.
there are stains on lampshades and damage to the mirror in my bathroom
the lamps next to the bed look like an earthquake happened, they are all askew.
there's no clock in the room
i did have the dim sum breakfast for the first time and some dishes lacked flavor while others were just good.

the only positives are the comfy bed, clean sheets and towels. i am grateful for these!

basically i have no choice but to stay here for business in dalingshan town. if you have a choice, you might want to look elsewhere, like the grand hyatt...

Room Tip: rooms not facing the square are quieter (so you won't hear honking cars at all hours)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel - such luxury. Beauiful large room. Breakfast for westerns was only ok

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 08smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I have stayed at this property since it was new. The rescent ownership change and upgrades were an added touch to a nice 4 star business hotel. If you are looking for a hotel with 100% english speaking staff this may not be your hotel of choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

The Royal Hotel is the best in the area. Very comfortable beds, good airconditioning, big well appointed bathrooms.

Rather oddly the male staff wear kilts and the bar is deader than a dead place. Breakfast is good, although it takes a very long time to get an omelette, room service menu is good too.

I can happily recommend this hotel as being a really good place to stay and one of the few Chinese hotels that doesnt reek of cigarette smoke!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_rain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
7.9 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,070 in Dongguan
481 reviews
5.6 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,070 in Dongguan
270 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,070 in Dongguan
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel (Chang An)
Haiyatt Garden Hotel (Chang An)
#19 of 1,070 in Dongguan
92 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,070 in Dongguan
90 reviews
6.3 mi away
Parklane Chang'an International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Property: Grand Oriental Hotel
Address: No.2 Guangfa Road, Dalingshan Town, Dongguan 523000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing