We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaohuang Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
Li Yi Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
Dong Fang Inn(Dongguan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Meilun Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
63
61
15
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
61
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hotelfront deskbalconyoasisgolf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 146 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hi! I think it was my 15th stay now in Dongguan (almost always choose the Sofitel Golf Resort). I like the hotel most because of the quiet atmosphere and the very friendly staff! Although it is a little far from the town centre it is no problem at all to go there by taking a taxi or using the hotel car service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear floroh, thank you for staying at Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort and sharing the positive comments with us about your recent stays. We are pleasure that you almost always choose Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort when you are in Dongguan, which give us great encouragement and confidence to keep up the Sofitel exclusive luxury cousu main service.
Surrounded by the tranquil and quiet environment, Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort is right next to the golf course filling with the relaxing atmosphere. And it is not only suitable for leisure vacation but business travel. In addition, hotel might be a bit isolated, but it takes only ten-minute drive to reach the Dongguan downtown. And our concierge will be glad to arrange the taxi or the hotel car service for going out.
Thank you very much for your highly recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you whenever you are in Dongguan and we are sure your stay will impress your journey as usual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The shuttle bus from Canton Fair back to the hotel arrived late. The hotel staff kept making up stories in an attempt to cover up the truth. Hotel guests stood aside the main road waiting to be picked up for more than an hour. The hotel staff kept making lies about traffic control or the bus is just around the corner and as such. When we eventually got back to the hotel, the hotel manager went on to make more lies as his way of declining to say sorry. The most shocking words he said was "we provided the shuttle bus for you free of charge." Come on, providing shuttle bus is part of the deal. Otherwise we wouldn't have stayed in this hotel. I walked off straightaway after hearing him saying this. I cannot believe this is the service from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jing N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your recent unhappy encounter while staying at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort.
First and foremost , we like to apologize for the delay in the bus pick up for 2 days-in-a-row (out of the 2-week Canton Fair period).We like to clarify that this shuttle service was done by an outside bus company, engaged and paid for by the hotel and this same bus company has been providing reliable services in the past many years of Canton Fair exhibition since it started.

What happen this time was also not the bus fault but that the traffic jam at the Canton Fair Pazhou Exhibition Centre became too heavy that in the last minute, the traffic auhorities invoked new rules in not allowing large vehicles to enter the Canton Fair exhibition centre. We were caught by surprise on the 1st day and thought it was only a temporary rule, however it was not the case as it was similary invoked on the 2nd day. The bus and the hotel staff made every effort during the delay in trying to reach all our hotel guests in the crowded exhibition hall, and of course, we manage to get most of them , however, we have to delay the bus as we have to wait for the rest hoping to find them. Some of our guests were non-contactable in the huge crowd.

Those hotel guests who came back on their own by taxis and we arranged to pay for their taxi fares (as explained by the previous guest's Tripadvisor article dated Nov 8 "Fair enough").

We have never denied responsibility even though the service was free and perhaps out of the frustrations and tiredness upon returning, the misunderstanding was further created by the Front Office Manager's (not the hotel manager as we did not meet) unwitting remark-to-a-question that the service was free. He did not mean to deny responsibility.

We hope this unexpected incident, which was beyond the hotel's control, will not mar your impression of the hotel. We have re-trained our Front Office Manager and staff to be more emphatic and sensitive to the guests feelings during such incidents, and we assure you that we have learned from this and the future trips to the Canton Fair would be smooth and incident-free. We thank you sincerely for your usual support during this peak Canton Fair season, and we thank you for the opportunity to explain the whole issue in this platform.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

1. this was our 1st stay in this hotel. We chose it because it has a free shuttle bus to the Canton fair and back. The road to the fair take around 1.5 hours in the morning and around 1 hour and 15 mins back to the hotel in the evening.
2. there were two days in a row when the shuttle bus back to the hotel was 1.5 hour late. One time we, guests of the hotel, had to take taxis back to the hotel and then ask the reception to cover the fare to the taxi driver.
3. the food in the restaurant is ok. The breakfast is good with variety of stuff.
4. there is one outdoor pool with almost nobody round it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikitin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort.

Yes, we always provide free-shuttle bus service for our guests' convenience (both for our Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon and Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort hotel guests) to the bi-annual Canton Fair in Guangzhou. We engage a bus company, and the cost is absorbed by the hotel, to ensure our regular guests who supported us, are not inconvenienced during this super peak season where taxis and transportation costs are usually escalated beyong expectations and their services, furthermore, during this peak season, are difficult to come by.

We apologize for this 2-days delay (out of the 2-week Canton Fair Period) as this was really due to the heavy-trafic jam at the Pazhou Exhibition area, where the traffic authorities in the last minute , invoked a rule of not allowing large vehicles to enter the area at certain times. This was unexpected (not done in the past) and our hotel staff tried their best to locate all hotel guests but some were not contactable due to the huge crowd. We are glad you could return safely via taxi and that we have informed our Front Desk to pay for all taxi fares for the guests who missed the bus. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you for mentioning the the food in the restaurant is ok especially the breakfast. We have 2 restaurants, one catering Western/ Asian food, while the other is the specialized Chinese Chiu Chow food, a high-end delectable northern Cantonese food that is very popular with the locals.
Our big outdoor pool is normally empty during the week-days but are full during the weekends especially during the summer and public holidays.

Thank you once again for your understanding and support and we assure you that we have learned from this traffic-jam-incident and will be wiser in the future trips to and from the Canton Fair, barring all other unforeseen circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We normally stay at the Royal Lagoon so we are accustom to the great service of the Sofitel in Dongguan. Enormous room with a view of the fairway. Draw Back is no ATM, at this level of hotel not good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMIS_Ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for the comments of your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort.
Firstly , thank you for your normal support in staying at the Royal Lagoon and your feedback on its great service. From your recent stay at this other hotel, the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort (just 10 minutes away from the Royal Lagoon), we infer that the service is equally good with its enormous room size (slightly bigger than Royal Lagoon) and beautiful serene golf fairway view at the door steps.
On the ATM machines, the bank only agreed to put one either at the Golf club or the Golf resort, and they opt to put at the Golf Club (just 5 minutes walk or via buggy beside the hotel). For your convenience, we can also do pay-out from the Reception and charge to your credit card if necessary. Otherwise the other hotel, the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, has to 2 ATM machines that can meet your need, and we provide a regular free shuttle bus between the 2 hotels regularly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at either of our Sofitel Dongguan hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews