We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the noise & mess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan
Ranked #14 of 1,087 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and it's a pretty consistent experience. The rooms are fairly nice- a bit tired maybe and you can tell they struggle with keeping the shower mold-free, but all in all it's a comfortable, clean hotel at a really reasonable rate. The beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is pretty good. Let's say this- it's meh by western standards, but awesome by Chinese standards. The best part in my opinion is the setting. It's set in a golf course & park area, well away from the noise & grime of Dongguan. Think birds & grass, not horns & trash. It is a hike from the city center, so depending on where your business is during the day, you may be in for a long ride to the hotel, depending on traffic. Wifi is free in the lobby, and sometimes you can get a signal in your room, sometimes not. Wired internet is available in-room. A word to the wise- for some reason Dongguan cab drivers will frequently not know where the place is. Grab the card from the front desk to show the driver, and if that doesn't work, swinging an imaginary golf club usually does. All in all this is a good place to stay, and I certainly will again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments of your stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort. We are glad to note that you are happy with the hotel room and shower (we are actually doing a minor renovation of all the rooms currently cleaning up the mold-like color which is actually developing from the tiles within, more of a stone discolorization than actually molding), the comfort and especially the value-for-money from its 45 m2 ample room size.The beds are matted with Sofitel My-Bed standards, and the breakfast is Sofitel's well-known De-lite creation, a combination of great tasting bread and cheese and international rituals combined with healthy detox juices, skimmed milk, plenty of fruit and serial choices to start your day.
We are right in the middle of a golf course away from the hustle and bustle of the city and yet close to the city with just a 15 minutes drive if a noisy-venture is required. The location actually hears birds singing surrounded by green grasses and water ponds. Wifi and internet is free in the whole hotel and if you have problems with the signal, please do call up the Assistant Manager who will assist you in adding a router in your room.If you do have problems with taxi recognizing the place the next time, beside the taxi card available at our concierge, just mention "Suo-Fei-Te Feng-Jing Jiu-Dian" and there is high likelihood he will not miss the place. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 146 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william_chan_wnc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel was very average for me. yes the location is beautiful and the rooms are spacious......... however the customer service is very poor, i had to tell check in the benefits i get by being a platinum le accor member (even though they had a digital frame on the counter showing you the benefits of signing up to le accor, maybe they should look at it themselves)
I had to ask what my room package included (breakfast, internet etc) instead of being told when checking in.
called up front desk to book a taxi to go to train station to go back to hong kong. they said no problem. I went to check out and ask again if that taxi knows that i need to go to train station, they said no problem. i went to taxi and he ask where you going...RIGHT.... taxi driver and bell ball doesn't understand English... had to go get manager to translate for me..... i wouldn't recommend if you only speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort. First and foremost, we apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations in terms of the service standard. We thank you , however, for your positive comments about the hotel being beautiful and the rooms being spacious. As we have some new recruits, we have taken immediate steps to resolve the miscommunication problems at the Reception and Concierge . All staff have been send for retraining especially focusing on improving the product knowledge and basic English standards. We like to assure you that we have many foreigners also staying at the hotel (long term guests as well) and so far they are very happy with the services. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and please do not hesitate to contact the hotel management at rm@rlagoon-dg.com should you need further follow up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Reasonable room rate, clean rooms but showers could have been cleaned more often. Wifi was spotty at best. But close to bar street (3 minute cab ride) and has decent restaurant on site. It has a golf course with lights so you can play at night, quite cool.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort and your valuable comments. We are concerned that you were not completely satisfied with some of our services and facilities. The specific matters highlighted have been discussed with the concerned department heads so that immediate actions will be taken accordingly.Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyno4824
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel lives up to the Sofitel tradition of fine properties but is probably a day past its best. There are signs of wear on the room furnishings, in some cases these signs are just a little more visible than we might expect of Sofitel. Setting the bar high (as Sofitel does) is always a tough master and this unfortunately invites scrutiny. Don't get me wrong, this is a wonderful hotel, mystically set in wonderful gardens and designed around resort like architecture. The staff are what you would expect of Accor's best, absolutely first class. The room was spacious, beautifully comfortable without being OTT, the outlook great. The only real downside is that the allure of the hotel in terms of its location, means that dining options are limited to what is on site. The restaurant is again good, but things are quite heavily loaded. Great for a get away, but there are probably better choices for business.

Room Tip: Elsewhere if you are in town for business, anywhere in this great hotel if you are relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatientAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We appreciate your objective comments in your last stay with us at the Sofitel Dongguan Golf resort. Thank you for highlighting that we live up to the Sofitel tradition of fine properties, with our Meditarranean-styled architecture, mystically set in wonderful gardens in the midst of a 36-hole golf course. Although it has aged 10 years, we have been constantly maintaining the hotel, with emphasis on high standard of cleanliness, and refreshing outlook. The good news is that the hotel will be renovated soon, which may be bad news for those who love the old nostalgia. Thank you for mentioning that the staff "are what you would expect of Accor's best, absolutely first class". At Sofitel, we have been trained to serve our guests from our hearts which we termed "Cousu main" in French, and we will definitely share your positve view with our staff, which will motivate them further to serve our guests. On your opinion on the location, as isolated as it is, we provide free shuttle services between our sister hotel, the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon, which is just 10 minutes away, where it has another 5 signature-restaurants to enjoy, an active Jazz Bar with live foreign band performance (a favourite haunt for the fun-loving guests), professionally-trained spa services, and a host of sports activities, besides golf, including bike-riding, boat-pedaling, yoga and TaiChi classes. Furthermore, for those who are more adventerous, we offer free shuttle service for our guests to the famous Dongguan Bar street at regular hours at night. Despite being a golf resort, we have many business guests who has an agreement with us to shuttle them to their factories in the morning, as they love not only the golf, but also the isolation of peace and serenity, and a choice of the hustle and bustle of a town centre just 15 minutes away or a high-end hotel with 5-signature restaurants 10 minutes away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

hotel grounds are beautiful. the rooms themselves are a bit worn. carpets dirty. no wireless. bathrooms large but again, i bit worm. food is very expensive and the quality is poor. would not recomend eating dinner here. cab ride is easy to bar street rest. call front desk for them to get one for you.
for the price, this is a nice hotel. very quiet located on beautiful golf course.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarshll777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
0.9 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#2 of 1,087 in Dongguan
498 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,087 in Dongguan
591 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#10 of 1,087 in Dongguan
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,087 in Dongguan
99 reviews
9.0 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#12 of 1,087 in Dongguan
277 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Forum
Pullman Dongguan Forum
#5 of 1,087 in Dongguan
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan

Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Golf Resort)
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dongguan
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range: $63 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Hil View Golf, and facing a lake on one side, and a golf course on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The swimming pool and the spa, to well being and relaxation.The complex has also a perfect setting for your events, with its 4 meeting rooms .Rooms:133 rooms, including 14 prestige suites and 3 villas. The bedrooms equipped with an open bathroom, offer splendid views of the lake, and the 36 holes golf course.F&B: Pool Side Cafe: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. This restaurant gives you the opportunity to sit inside, or outside, nearby the pool. Royal Chiu Chow: taste fine dining Cantonese cuisine, and try out the specialtiese of the Chiu Chow unique cuisine. For more intimacy, feel free to ask one of the 12 private rooms. 8 Height Bar: for a drink among friends, or simply to relax and enjoy good music and cocktails. Lobby Bar: with piano during the evening and an unique view on the swimming pool and hotel garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillview Golf Resort Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing