We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very elegant hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haiyatt Garden Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very elegant hotel for business”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My company arranged for me to stay at this hotel for a week. I had no idea it would be such an elegant hotel. The upper mural was of Niagara Falls (pre human settlement). The restaurants were excellent. I recommend the Japanese teppanyaki for the steak/lobster combo. I really enjoyed the show, despite being the only patron at the time. The Italian restaurant serves breakfast as a buffet. Excellent food and ample selection. There is a Chinese restaurant but I did most of my dining outside so can't advise. The room was well appointed and very clean. Don't expect much of a view, but I was on the top floor which was the 9th despite the number starting with 19. There is a KTV facility in the basement, but I didn't get a chance to try it out. The idea is to go sing and drink, which really wasn't available as I was working day and night.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor if you can get it as it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier_Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My biggest issue with this hotel is the rooms which are dirty (see pictures). The room rate is in line with this standard of hotel in Dongguang, the staff were all extremely helpful BUT please clean your rooms! I also found the display in front of my window made room dark and oppressive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XKR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I chose this hotel based on price, as I was attending the Canton Fair and not wanting to pay the ridiculous prices they charge in Guangzhou, for sub-standard hotels during fair time. That underpins the emphasis of my entire review. I chose this hotel as the comments I had read were all generally quite positive.

On the whole I agree with most comments I have read. The hotel is clean, it has an abundance of choice in dining with 3 restaurants on site, the recreation facilities are good and the rooms seem well maintained. If you have business in the area, I would say that this would be a good choice, as it is well priced and well looked after. I took a walk to the Sheraton up the road, and the HJ International. They both seem to offer a similar level of accommodation. The HJ International has the best location in my opinion, as you are in the “thick of it” in terms of the little bit of shopping that Houjie does have to offer. The advantage for the HJ is that it also has a lot of fast food style western and Asian offerings in and around the base of the building, making it convenient to escape hotel priced food. The Haiyatt does have a Tesco down the road, as mentioned by others. About a 5-10 minute walk away.

The Haiyatt does have an issue with English amongst the staff, but as traveller with an acceptable level of Mandarin, this did not worry me. It could however lead to some frustration to travellers who are a bit less independent in China.

The breakfast buffet is large and varied and definitely has something for everyone, and worth including in your booking for sure (it costs RMB108 + 15% surcharge to pay per meal). The a la carte menu for dinner in the “Italian” restaurant seems to offer more value than the buffet, unless you eat really big. The western style sandwiches and burgers are all massive and less than half of the price of the buffet. The buffet choices were a bit weak in my opinion. Why it is called Italian is anyone’s guess. Note, all menu meal prices do not include a 15% service charge, but it is always added later. The food rates as average to me, with nothing outstanding. All edible and reasonable quality, but nothing special. The Chinese restaurant on site is way too over priced for China. I never tried the Japanese as the menu also looked too expensive. I realise some poeple may be satified with the food, but I am in the food industry, and maybe a bit harder to please. I much prefer eating on the streets in China, where the food is authentic and cheap.

They do offer a bus to the Canton Fair on a daily basis. It departs at about 8.30am and again from the fair at about 5.30pm. The trip is anything from an hour upwards, traffic dependent. However what they fail to mention in the advertising, is that they charge a daily rate of RMB150 for a return trip to the fair. This should be factored into the room price when making your comparisons. It took me by surprise. I have never had to pay for a bus to the fair before.

The lobby bar is ok, and a draft beer (500ml) will set you back about RMB46 depending on brand. Sometimes it is quite busy thee and other times not. There is Irene’s Bar, a small local bar frequented by a mixed bunch of mainly western blokes, in the lane next to the hotel. Head out the back of the hotel through the parking lot, and down the ramp in the back left corner of the parking lot. The bar should be in front of you. A beer there is about RMB25 for the same size and brand. It seems to be frequented by a few, mostly male, hotel visitors like myself and otherwise largely by a bunch of foreign guys who work here or travel here enough to be considered working here. The Kiwi fella Marcus is really hospitable and is quick to welcome solo travellers into the crowd, however be warned that some of the guys get a little territorial when they have had a few. The bar does also have very good wifi access and is run by a very nice Chinese lady – not surprisingly called Irene.

The internet is widely available by wifi throughout a lot of the hotel. Access is without a password, so it is very simple and free. As another reviewer mentioned, Facebook is freely available. Skype works in the lobby restaurant and bar, although strangely the internet connection is lost when walking between the two. The TV has several channels in many languages, and should be enough for most people.

There is KTV on site if that is your thing, and it seems to be just a KTV, and not a guise for a brothel. I never noticed any KTV girls wondering around with hotel patrons. So if that is your plan, you may need another hotel. I never visited the KTV to be able to say too much more. The spa is also above board, and offers great value foot massage at about RMB68 for 70min. This is a good way to while away some time after a long day on your feet and extremely good value. The male masseuses can be a bit tough on your feet if you are not accustomed to foot massage. If unsure, ask for a girl when you go in, and don't be embarressed to ask them to ease off a little. I’m not into gyms, but the hotel does offer a fairly well equipped gym, speaking from a totally unknowledgeable point of view. There are plenty of walking/running machines and other equipment. The pool is clean and well maintained, but indoors and air conditioned.

In summary this is a good hotel in a lousy location. If you need to be in this area I would be looking at this one or the HJ International, and I am sure those that have to work here, would chooose this hotel or the HJ. But as an alternative to staying in Guangzhou for the fairs, I would not bother. I think you are better off paying a bit more, and getting a bit less, but in a better location. In my case I have to stay for both the 1st and 2nd period of the fair. The 3 days in-between were really boring, and with hindsight I would not do it this way again. There is simply too little to do in this area. Most people here are in the shoe business, for which this area seems to be a centre. Maybe try hotels in Shunde or Foshan as an alternative to Guangzhou. They are a bit closer, although they may have the same problem with little to do locally.

I note one reviewer saying it may be dangerous outside if you are unaccompanied by locals. I must say that I never felt that at all. I think you may feel a little exposed as there are so few foreigners around, but that is about it. Of course the normal rules probably apply. Stay away from dark alleys at night and be sensible. Wallets and cash in front pocket and don’t flash it. I never found local places where you can buy the normal copy stuff that a trip here normally allows, and those at home expect. It must exist, but it is not obvious in the surrounding areas. If you leave the hotel in either direction, you can easily find small local shops just less than 2 minutes away where you can buy drinks etc for your room. They are local shops and without any obvious signs of what they sell, but they are there. Check the small lanes next to the hotel. Cokes are about RMB3 per can.

I came here from Hong Kong Airport and found Go Go Bus to be a good option. The round trip ticket is about RMB450. The trip is convenient in air conditioned vans and you have no need to get out the car at the border posts. The hotel is a fixed stop for the Go Go Bus to this area and they have an office in the front lobby of the hotel. In hindsight I would have just bought a one way ticket, as my departing flight was in the evening, giving me ample time to get the ferry back from Humen Town. The ferry is even more convenient as you can check your luggage on for your flight, when you check in on the boat I believe. You will also avoid traffic jams at the border, on the boat. This would just entail a taxi ride from the hotel to the ferry wharf. Probably Rmb 30-40 and about a 30 minute trip (although that is a guess). I have caught the ferry in before and found it very convenient. I arrived too late to catch the ferry in though, hence Go Go Bus. Note, if going to Hong Kong on a Friday by car, allow a couple of hours for the border crossing, as it is really busy with people heading to Hong Kong for the weekend. The later you leave the worse it is.

Room Tip: Not sure really about the differences between rooms, but I stayed on the 8th floor in 828, and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tekweni_Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed many times at this hotel and it never fails to please.
The location is excellent for business in Dong Guan. The level of comfort in the rooms is very high. Both the bathrooms and the beds are excellent. Three superb restaurants have a wide variety of food both Chinese and Western and all are of exceptional standard.
A lovely home from home experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Exceptionally clean with great pool, gym and spa pool facilities. Spa and treatments available with an extensive menu at bargain prices. The spa is located on a seperate floor with the entire floor utilised as spa space.

Not much English spoken by staff but you will find the duty manager on reception can speak english and will help you. I found the google translate app came in handy during my stay.

I stayed here for 10 days while working with several local factories. Dongguan it is not an overly safe area for foreigners that are not accompanied by Chinese counterparts. But rest assured you are safe once inside the security gates and there are an array of restaurants to dine in each day. I found the buffet breakfast best value, but you can choose Chinese, Japanese and other cuisine offerings.
Attention to detail of the staff is quite something as are the floral displays in the foyer.

Room Tip: I stayed on an upper level 9 and overlooked the pool area. Not much of a view from this hotel but du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with very large rooms and good facilities, but I had trouble with the language with only one or two staff that could speak English. The restaurant was fantastic, wonderful buffets for dinner and breakfast. The foot massage was fantastic, highly recommended if you stay especially as it was so cheap.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed at the Haiyatt during a business trip in May and thought it was overall pleasant. I would recommend those who prefer more modern decor to ask for newly renovated rooms as I stayed it an older one that had a bit of a musky smell and older amenities. The three restaurants (Italian, Japanese & Chinese) give you a good variety for your stay if you're not keen on venturing to town - I went to the Jap restaurant twice for their tepanyaki. I LOVE the "spa" - during my week and a half I think I had about 8 hours of massage service and they're relatively cheap and more importantly not sketchy. Hotel also offers shuttle service to the hong kong airport. Their wifi doesn't censor facebook if that matters to anyone. Staff is friendly and helpful. Best of all, I get a good kick out of telling friends I stayed at the H[ai]-YATT in china.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
0.0 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel (Chang An)
Haiyatt Garden Hotel (Chang An)
#18 of 1,070 in Dongguan
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
Haiyatt Garden Hotel-Dongguan
#87 of 1,070 in Dongguan
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,070 in Dongguan
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#9 of 1,070 in Dongguan
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver World Garden Hotel
Silver World Garden Hotel
#102 of 1,070 in Dongguan
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,070 in Dongguan
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haiyatt Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haiyatt Garden Hotel

Property: Haiyatt Garden Hotel
Address: Houjie East Avenue, Dongguan 523962, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#35 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haiyatt Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Haiyatt Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haiyatt Garden Dongguan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing