We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loss of popularity”
Review of TANGLA Dongguan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TANGLA Dongguan
Ranked #1 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Loss of popularity”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is still of the same quality. However, the popularity is much less important since Dongguan has suffered from the last serious anti-vice operations by the police. It's bad news!!!

Poor Dongguan

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ken113an201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your generous full score! I’m very glad that our hotel is always your first choice while you are in Dongguan City. As you mentioned the negative exposure about Dongguan, we are also studying the long term effects. However, the bright side of the story is that many travellers would still opt for our hotel not just because of the beautiful ambience but safety, since our resort has never had those notorious KTV attached. We look forward to serving you again whenever you are in the city.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    168
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
34
27
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

here for business and stayed for two day. The hotel was much better than expected. Staffs are warm and friendly. Swimming pool quite clean. And there are a few dozens peacocks around. Those pretty birds make the most annoying sound (very short and sharp) every ten or twenty minutes(not when we sleeping). But that‘s a highly unique and interesting annoyance to have.

Oh, the Brazilian BBQ restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the lake if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you, Cindy, for your great compliment and good score. I'm delighted to know that you have spent a Magnifique trip with us. Indeed, most of our guests are charmed by the luscious greenery, sizable indoor and outdoor swimming pools and the singing peacocks. We’re developing a feeding show. Perhaps, you may want to take part in the unique experience for a close encounter with peacocks in your next visit.

Look forward to welcoming you in the not-too-distant future, Cindy.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

On the recommendation of a colleague, I stayed here on my last visit to Dongguan and again on this visit. The hotel is consistent and I'm adding it to my rotation. The rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The staff are always very friendly and always greet me when I pass by. I've only eaten at the Japanese restaurant in the hotel and it was very good. As others have mentioned, the exercise facility is a little lacking; however, it is adequate. The hotel is very quiet and situated in the mountains near the upscale area of Dongguan. The breakfast has many options to suite a variety of tastes and is very good. If staying in Dongguan, it is worth staying here even if it is a little out of the way for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DePassiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank your for the full marks on "Room" and "Service". Together with Sofitel Golf Resort, both properties would add up to 7 restaurants and 4 bars & lounges. Shuttle service is available between resorts. Give other outlets a try in your next visit too. I'd recommend visiting our peacocks in garden roaming freely at Sofitel Royal Lagoon. We do not cage them, they just love staying here and we've been raising them for generations. Oh, by the way, peacocks are not on the menu!

Less than 15 minutes to downtown Dongguan, it's an "Oasis within the City!" I'm glad you enjoy too.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is a good Choice if you have to stay in Dongguan and want to have a calm Place for your staying. Here you also find a very nice Pool Area and a good breakfast. The staff is friendly and the rooms are comfortable. The parc Surrounding is nice and you really can relax in the middle of a Big City.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vandanho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us your positive comments! I’m pleased to learn that you had a lovely stay.
As you are fond of our natural surroundings, I’d recommend you to have dining at BB’s Brazilian Restaurant with outdoor seating facing the Outdoor Swimming Pool to enjoy the fantastic lake view as well.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is top notch. Our room was gigantic and completely luxurious, overlooking the gorgeous outdoor pool. The staff are insanely helpful and the hotel has tons of amenities (indoor/outdoor pool, games rooms, restaurants, lobby pianist, lake, work out room, etc.) The breakfast was impressive, although due to a lack of guests, lots of the food was cold. My one recommendation is that you think twice before eating at the Brazilian Restaurant because it is way over priced and the food is very mediocre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank megan-woodruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for the generous high score on TripAdvisor. Indeed, there are plenty to do and relax for a weekend getaway here. I'm glad that you have enjoyed. Next time you visit, I hope that our new executive chef will be on board to add new life into our food offering to you and your friends.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I love this hotel. It is a really nice place to stay on business. the rooms are nice and colonial and the views are stunning. the breakfast is great. The only downside is the hotel is low-rise so everything is a little bit of a walk. The views are spectacular and the staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lifts or you could find yourself walking a good 10 minutes to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tin_Tin_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, General Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for a great review and great score. Indeed, Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon is the Jewel of Dongguan. But I like the word "Oasis" you put it too! Indeed, we're surrounded by greenery, lake, garden, and even friendly peacocks roaming freely around the resort. If you didn't see them this time, ask for them in your next visit.

If you'd send me your room preference to be non-too-far from lobby, I could have it entered into your guest profile for closer room assignment in future.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Henry Tay
General Manager
Email: gm@rlagoon-dg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,070 in Dongguan
566 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,070 in Dongguan
83 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#7 of 1,070 in Dongguan
384 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
#18 of 1,070 in Dongguan
168 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,070 in Dongguan
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TANGLA Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TANGLA Dongguan

Property: TANGLA Dongguan
Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon)
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#6 Business Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TANGLA Dongguan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Huying Park, and facing a lake on one side, and a wild forest on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The 2 swimming pools, the spa, and the sport facilities are dedicated to well being and relaxation. The complex is also a perfect setting for your events, with its 22 meeting rooms up to 1000 people. ROOMS: 268 rooms, including 10 opera suites, and 21 prestige suites, 3 villas and 1 imperial suite with private fitness centre and meeting room. The bedrooms offer splendid views of the lake, the swimming pool and the garden.F&B: • Cafe Royal: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. • Garden Bistro: taste fine dining cuisine, with French and Italian touches with view on our peacock garden. • BB's: our Brazilian churrascaria for meat lovers. Terrace facing the swimming pool. • Sugi: enjoy a Japanese fine dining restaurant. Teppanyake, sushi bar and private tatami rooms available. • Fragrant Pavilion: try out the local specialties in our Cantonese restaurant. 3 bars are available: the Mardi Gras Bar, the Lobby Bar,the wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your TANGLA Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon Hotel Dongguan
Accor Dongguan Royal Lagoon
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing