We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel”
Review of TANGLA Dongguan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TANGLA Dongguan
Ranked #1 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant Hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great hotel to stay at if you are a westerner and visiting. Very clean and the staff is very nice and accomodating. The food is also better than most local hotels, and the rooms definitely are worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrenh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for you comments about your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. It's true we cater a big percentage of westerners in our hotel of whom many are returning business guests for more than 5 years. Many are happy with the room standard, staff reception and food that match their expectations. Most importantly is our location that is hidden beside a park and lake on a green hill, yet in the midst of a vibrant city of Dong Cheng, where the noisy bars, food and shopping streets are , and yet within minutes of coming back, you are away in a different world, which is calm , quiet and serene to recharge your mind, body and spirit. Thank you for your positive comments which we will share with our staff, and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    168
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
41
34
27
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great service. Sharing the nature walk with the resident peacocks and other birds is a highlight. So is standing on your balcony overlooking the trees and listening to the sounds of the forest come alive as the sun rises. Nice escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, where you can easily rejuvenate mind, body, and spirit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank yabojason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. Your simple and straight forward remarks has intellectually summed up our hotel as it is. It is indeed soul-reviving when one stays here overlooking either the hill view or the lake view, it gives a sense of calm, quite and balance to the mind, body and spirit, together with the smooth flow of the hotel services from our helpful staff that comes with it. We look forward to your return soon to enjoy these unique aspects of the hotel that are valueless, accessible freely to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHINA
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I Spent one night at the Dongguan Royal Lagoon. Very reasonably priced for comfort.Perfect place to walk around the lake .The staff are help lovers and very kind,as the hotel was full we upgraded to royal suid which is unbelievably nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for telling us your experience about your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. Yes indeed we are more than a normal hotel you can find anywhere in the city. Our advantage is that we have a beautiful lake right in front of our doorsteps, surrounded by a green park where you can have a walk or a jog at anytime of the day, and we are located at a spot, with the back facing a lovely view of the hill full of old trees, in the midst of large patches of greeneries, where our lawn peacocks display their colors at ease, and birds sing in the morning while the nocturnals shows their presence at night. It is encouraging to note you labeled our staff as "help lovers" as they are always ready at any part of the hotel to help out at any time, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I spent one night at the Dongguan Royal Lagoon and wished I'd been there longer. Very reasonably priced for comfort, excellent service and generally a really good experience.
The staff is very attentive without being all over you - just the right balance.
The room was extremely comfortable with a strong wifi signal. The bed was comfortable - I really couldn't have asked for more.
Complimentary fruit plate in the room contained the best mangos I've ever eaten.
The 3 meals that I ate in the hotel were all excellent - lunch in the Brazillian BBQ was excellent - the meal was very well executed - would definitely go back. Dinner and breakfast the following morning were in the cafe - good selection of high quality foods on the buffet - home made mango yoghurt was a nice touch.
I will definitely be going back to the Royal Lagoon. This would rate in the top few hotels that I have stayed at in China.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcdougall9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging comments about your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are very honored to be rated as one of the top hotels you stayed in China. It is true than one night is not enough for this slow but relaxing location. The whole place is like a holiday resort located in the middle of nowhere, with a lake in front, and the hill and the greeneries covering the place, and yet within 10 minutes , it is close to the city centre where your hustle and bustle work location is. Our rooms and beds are spacious and the whole location is equipped with free wifi service. The 5 signature restaurants we have is about fully covered the best varieties of cuisine in the world namely Brazilian BBQ, Japanese, Chinese, Italian/French and Asian Cafe food. The Hainan mangoes are lovely here and we will introduce seasonal fruits whenever possible. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return soon so you can spend longer, enough time to absorb the whole natural beauty of this unique location in one of the best places in China.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been staying at this Hotel for many years and always find a great welcome with the staff remembering my name and always welcomed with warmth and sincerity. The hotel is in a unique position being in the the countryside but also a stones throw from the city. The rooms have matured well with updated flat screen TV's and tasteful decor.
The restaurants are all of a high standard with very attentive staff although some of the menus could be more extensive.
Breakfasts here are also very good with an excellent choice, the staff are also not as eager to take your plate which makes the experience much more relaxed. (I don't like having people hover round ready to pounce as soon as your knife and fork go down, makes me feel uncomfortable and rushed.)
WIFI coverage with auto connection is very good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive encouraging comments of your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. First and foremost, thank you for supporting us throughout these years. We are always happy with the recognition given by our guests by simply returning to stay with us throughout these years. It is a delight to hear that our staff have been very warm and able to remember the names of our returning guests, which signifies a success of our aim in living out our motto of "servicing the guests from the heart", our French motto of Cousu Main service. We are really unique as , not only are we located away from the city within a green park and hilltop, we are actually just 10 minutes away from the city centre. Thank you for mentioning that our restaurants' food are good and we will look into extending further some of the menus although we already have a daily changing set menu at the Garden Bistro Italian/ French restaurant to complement our signature items in the menu like our famous mushroom soup, tacos, cod fish , salmon etc. Our wifi service is fully accesible to all websites in the world. We hope to welcome you back again to this relaxing oasis soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

quite nice hotel. as the hotel was full we upgraded to royal suid which is unbelievably nice. also perfect place to walk around the lake .hotel also has many food options for europians. the staff are help lovers and very kind

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank s sezer o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive comment of your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. All our suite room have the best view of the hotel ie facing the serene lake opposite. Most of our guests are mesmerized by the view of the lake and the green park surrounding it, as well as our outdoor swimming pool just right under it. On weekends, with the peace and quietness of the location which is away from the noisy city, it helps in de-stressing the mind and body, and we are quite popular with long-staying returning foreign guests and weekenders who needed a break from the hustle and bustle of their work routines. We also have 5 very good signature restaurants (with the latest Sofitel healthy delight menus ) to cater for our guests' needs (ranging from Brazilian BBQ, Chinese, Japanese, Italian-French and Asian Cafe food), no worries on going out to town searching for good food. Also we have great foreign singers and entertainers in our Bars , besides our staff comprising of well-trained managers and junior staff who are attentive and always have your comfort in mind. We look forward to your return to our beautiful spacious Suite room soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Returning to this hotel for the umpteenth time now, it's still good. As a matter of fact it has improved further with better food in the Cafe breakfast and the Italian Garden Bistro. The new chef has come out with some exciting food . The staff , as usual , remembers you by name. Every outlet i feel at home with them recognizing me.It's good to have some chat after a long lonely business trip . The entertainment by the friendly crooning lobby pianist and the Jazz bar young energetic trio are amazing. A Feel good feeling day and night

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dankittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Dongguan, Manager at TANGLA Dongguan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon. We are glad to note the satisfaction of your stay with us again. We are lucky to have some reliable consistent management staff who have been with us , some for at least 10 years (since their student days), and they do recognize returning guests and give them their due recognition, remembering all their likes and dislikes. This is also part of our Sofitel culture of Cousu Main service where we serve our guests from our heart. Thank you for extolling on the great food available in our restaurants, as well as our friendly entertainers who not just sing well or play the piano, they also take the time to know and chat with our guests, making friends and to make sure they have a relaxing time with us. We look forward to your return soon and enjoy a feel-good feeling with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,070 in Dongguan
566 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,070 in Dongguan
83 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#7 of 1,070 in Dongguan
384 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
#18 of 1,070 in Dongguan
168 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,070 in Dongguan
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TANGLA Dongguan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TANGLA Dongguan

Property: TANGLA Dongguan
Address: No.8 Yingbin Road, Dongcheng District, Dongguan 523129, China (Formerly Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon)
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dongguan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#6 Business Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TANGLA Dongguan 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located nearby the Huying Park, and facing a lake on one side, and a wild forest on the other side, it is the ideal place to disconnect from work and worries. The 2 swimming pools, the spa, and the sport facilities are dedicated to well being and relaxation. The complex is also a perfect setting for your events, with its 22 meeting rooms up to 1000 people. ROOMS: 268 rooms, including 10 opera suites, and 21 prestige suites, 3 villas and 1 imperial suite with private fitness centre and meeting room. The bedrooms offer splendid views of the lake, the swimming pool and the garden.F&B: • Cafe Royal: travel around the world with an international buffet and live cooking. • Garden Bistro: taste fine dining cuisine, with French and Italian touches with view on our peacock garden. • BB's: our Brazilian churrascaria for meat lovers. Terrace facing the swimming pool. • Sugi: enjoy a Japanese fine dining restaurant. Teppanyake, sushi bar and private tatami rooms available. • Fragrant Pavilion: try out the local specialties in our Cantonese restaurant. 3 bars are available: the Mardi Gras Bar, the Lobby Bar,the wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your TANGLA Dongguan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Royal Lagoon Hotel Dongguan
Accor Dongguan Royal Lagoon
Dongguan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing