We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Ranked #18 of 1,070 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Location:Near bus terminal. Highest building in city, very easy to find!
Quality:Excellent city view, KING size bathroom, comfort and soft bed, gorgeous design in room and any parts of hotel. What makes imperfect are few sockets malfunction and no wifi in room. Live singer in lounge is impressive! Atmosphere is extremely relax.
Price:Well worth with this quality!! Highly recommend!
Remarks:500 RMB shall be prepaid when checked in. It will be fully refunded if you did not consume anythings in room when you checked out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Wilson C, Thank you very much for being the first TripAdvisor traveler to comment on the new band at our Rendezvous Lounge, the new home of Chic in Humen! The new band, Alice and Kenny just started on 15 January and it is encouraging to learn that you have enjoyed their performance.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and support and it is wonderful to learn that most aspects met your expectation during your stay with us. It also caught our attention that you mentioned about in-room Wi-Fi service. Please be advised that our hotel has proceeded Wi-Fi installation in all guest room floors and will complete by the first quarter of 2013 as per schedule.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental and we are confident you will find our service to be consistently good and up to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    66
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
18
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December. Our stay was overall very good. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms a wonderful size. Great view across the city. The only problem we incountered was we ordered a bottle of red wine and we found it quite corky tasting, and we asked to speak to a manager. A blonde gentleman, can't quite place his name, came over and seemed very abrasive and very dismissive of our concerns. Nevertheless he did arrange for a new bottle of wine, but we were made to feel like this was a serious imposition and we got the impression he didn't believe us. Besides him, all the rest of the staff were polite, gracious, and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainecoon18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Bonjour! Dear Guest, we sincerely appreciate you took the time to leave feedback about your recent stay at Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental on this website.

We are most concern and disturb to learn that you experienced some issues with the service of red wine since it is not in the nature of our ambassadors to question this kind of concern raised by our guests. Please accept our most sincere apologies and rest assured that your comments have been communicated with concern departments, the investigation is on going and training sessions have been highly consolidated to all our ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental and to making your stay truly Magnifique!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice room, great xmas buffet and good location. But somethings need to improve: (1) no in-room wifi (2) requested a non-smoking room but my room was full of smoking smell (3) made my reservation with membership number but the staff seems missing out an upgrade of room until i told him my number

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamtsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Bonjour! Dear Guest, Happy New Year! Thank you for taking some of your precious time to offer us your feedback with regards to your recent stay at our hotel.

It is great to know that most aspects met your expectation during your stay with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with concern departments and serious actions have been taken to ensure all ambassadors are able to deliver high level of standard consistently.

It also caught our attention that you mentioned about in-room Wi-Fi service. Please be advised that our hotel has proceeded Wi-Fi installation in all guest room floors and will complete by the first quarter of 2013 as per schedule.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and support to Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental. We look forward to welcoming you back in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my second visit and I was expecting some improvement particularly with the staff's command of English but it seems to have got worse!
The rooms are very spacious with palatial size bathrooms and panoramic views across the city. I always have a corner room and these are very comfortable. Rooms get a thumbs up.

My main issues are with the staff. 9 times out of 10 their English is terrible and they don't understand what you want at all. This means you have to repeat yourself constantly which is annoying, frustrating and tiring.
From the moment of arrival my experience was extremely frustrating.
I was given the key to the room which turned out to be a smoking room. I was not asked what room I would like.
I was moved to a non smoking room. A porter was supposed to bring my bags, he arrived without bags couldn't understand what I was saying and didn't really want to leave.
Bags turned up eventually.
Had to call up to find internet cable and ask how to switch off the air con, again it was hard to be understood and despite concierge saying they would send someone up, I had to call again 15 minutes later. Eventually problem solved.
I ordered room service. Penne with zucchini (vegetarian according to their own menu) and a peppermint tea. Had to repeat the order 4 times and then concierge had to call me back to confirm as they hadn't understood.
What I actually got was penne with indiscriminate bits of meat all over it. I am not a vegetarian luckily but it would have been quite disgusting for someone who was. The peppermint tea was real tea with mint - I don't drink caffeine, so all in all not a happy customer.
I rang to complain but got through to someone who couldn't understand me. Someone rang me back with marginally better English who apologised but I am quite appalled that a supposedly 5 star hotel would make such a serious mistake.

It's not the staff's fault as such, they try within their limited means to be polite and help but the there is a serious lack of senior management in place. It feels like there is no one in control.
From this perspective it has to be one of the worst managed hotels I have ever stayed in.

I really hope they sort themselves out as this hotel has huge potential if they spent more money on training and management.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellabijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Bonjour! Dear bellabijou, Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback with regards to your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for you had a disappointing experience of the service.

We are most concern and disturb to learn that the English skill of some of our ambassadors needs to improve urgently. Please be assured that your comments regarding the F&B and Concierge have been well received and shared with all related departments. And we will seriously look into the issue and to improve our services including strengthen the training sessions especially for English skill to ensure all of our ambassadors are offering refine service to our guests.

Although our explanations will not alleviate the disappointment that you had experienced, we hope that you will accept our profound apologies for those defects, and reassured by our efforts to improve. 

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests again and we trust you will experience a much more positive difference on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
15.1 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,070 in Dongguan
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#15 of 1,070 in Dongguan
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Dongguan Humen by ACCOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#10 of 1,070 in Dongguan
90 reviews
8.3 mi away
HJ International Hotel
HJ International Hotel
#13 of 1,070 in Dongguan
118 reviews
24.8 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#7 of 1,070 in Dongguan
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen

Property: Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Address: Humen Avenue, Humen Town, Huanghe Commercial Tower, Dongguan 523900, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, is a superior Five-Star hotel Positioned on historic town Humen, the 62-floor tower of Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen raises elegantly in the corridor of Guangzhou and Shenzhen.The hotel boasts 409 spacious rooms,Start from 29th floor and a generous 53 square meters, all guest rooms are featured with standard amenities including feather bedding, duvet, pillow menu, LCD TV, free Internet access, free-standing bathtub and separate shower, embedded bathroom TV and floor to ceiling window with panoramic views of the city.The restaurants and bars provide perfect setting for relaxing and socializing, all refined cuisines as well as latest fusion dishes from all over the world can be found here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental Hotel Dongguan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing