We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hanxuan Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Hong Hua Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Yintai Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jiazhou Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Tong Hotel(Dongguan)
View Hotel
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
64
72
34
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
72
34
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan upgradeair conbeautiful hotelshopping mallhong kongfloorchinaregionmainlandrepairgymfurnishingschinese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 182 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would like to say that the Hotel is located in a very convenient location in Humen district, Dongguan, although it is a very small town but she is beautiful and busy. I n such a town there were more than 4 five stars hotels. The hotel is worth value for stay. The severices are well managed. I was very happy have been staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchiangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Bonjour! Dear guest, we are most grateful for your kind comments and very delighted to learn that you had Magnifique experience staying at our hotel.

Situated in the southwestern area of Dongguan, with well-established transportation infrastructure and easy access to Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Hong Kong and Macau, as you know, Humen town is the heart of Dongguan’s garment and shipping. And our hotel’s 62 floors sit atop the Huanghe Commercial complex with 409 luxurious rooms right in the business district of Humen Town has been considered to be great valuable for money for generous space and comprehensive facilities.

Your gracious words and recognition have warmed our team and made us proud in continuously creating Magnifique stay to our guests.

It will definitely be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental whenever you are in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Me and my family decided to take a short trip and decided to take the Sofitel Humen for a try.
With the reception floor located on the 10th floor and a spectacular restaurant at the top 61st floor, the Sofitel humen dong guang has amenities that surely outshines its competitions. A few setbacks but the overall experience was pleasant with all the goodies you would expect from a five star hotel.

Location
The hotel is located somewhat in the heart of Humen with major shopping centres nearby. You can find general basic needs like food from KFC, Supermarkets like Vanguard literally next to the hotel. In fact there is a 5 storey shopping mall next to the hotel. There is also a very large park about 5 minutes taxi ride away from the hotel as well but since it was a short stay we didn't explore. Having said that, the surrounding area is also filled with alley ways that are homes to the local so once you exit the hotel and turn into these alley ways it can get a bit unnerving at night.

Rooms
We had a double room on the 29th floor. What was really nice about the rooms was the size of the bathroom in proportion to the bed room. The bathroom including an area for the closet and a dress table took at least half of the total room size away. The bath tub next to the window was a surprise as well. Bed was comfortable and you could choose your own pillow according to your own special need. Having said that the TV was a bit small, we were given a 32 inch TV screen in what seemed to be a 200 sq ft room (see pics for reference)

Cleanliness
This is where I have to penalize them. The first thing I noticed when i checked in to my room was that the sink was still dirty, visible stains can be seen. Whilst browsing through the hotel menu, snippets of finger nails fell off it and onto my nap. The area between the bathtub sink and the windows were filled with dust and hair strands clearly there. I do understand that some areas such as the area between the bathtub and the window are awkward areas for cleaning the the face wash sink is a big no no if white stains can still be seen. My folks living in the adjacent room also found cigarette buds in the toilet as well and had a room filled with cigarette smell (I asked them to change but the were reluctant since they wanted to have a room next to me and my brother)

What's special?
Like some hotels, the Sofitel had its buffet restaurant at the top of its building which is the 61 floor. Loved the view and the food you get is typical from what you would get of five star buffets. The view is pleasant as you can get a birds eye view. The manager told me that I would be able to see all the way to Guangzhou on a good clear day.

Disappointments
We learned that at the very top (62nd floor) was a Polaris bar and when we went there it was under renovation so we had to stick with the bar at the reception floor. I was also told that once the bar has finished renovation it may not be open to the public. Instead we went down to the 10th floor where the reception and bar was and had a few drinks there enjoying the live music performed there.

Amenities and alert!
The gym and swimming pool located on the 10th floor is also satisfactory. A sauna room and hot and cold jacuzzi is located inside the changing rooms and the hotel swimming pool being indoors had its obvious advantage. Gym is standard and being next to the swimming pool I could do some workout and then hop into the pool ! To be able to swim in the pool as other travelers have said, you need to wear a swim cap or you will not be allowed to swim.

All in all, with some minor setbacks, this hotel beats out the other competitions in the nearby area and is great for a family day or a business trip if you are nearby the area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Bonjour! Dear Andrew L, sincere thanks for taking time to share your experience; we are very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental and most aspects met your expectations during your visit.

We are delighted to know that you have taken the pleasure to dine at our Beacon restaurant, 61 floors above Dongguan, offering a contemporary Asian Buffet mixed with French Brasserie, served from five dramatic open kitchens. For your kind information that we are conducting Italian cuisine promotion on Beacon Restaurant now and it will definitely be our pleasure in welcoming you back to experience the tast of Italy on top restaurant of the city.

We regret to learn that our guest room cleanliness had failed to meet your expectation on your last visit. Please rest assured that we take your valuable comments very seriously and so we we will be working fast to improve and be able to deliver high level of standard consistantly. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

friendly staff, room, drinks (best mojito ever) bar attendant take the making of a drink seriously they take time but make master pieces.


I have spend a week in china and stayed in 3 five star hotels by far this one was the best one.
staff very courteous and helpfoul.
Room was supperb, I had all I needed for this bussines trip, room nice size, perfectly layed out to have bussines meetings inside your own room !!
only sugestion I have is to provide more internet ports because like in my case I traveled for bussines and have to work with more than 2 persons at the time using internet and we had to switch the wire between laptops every time we need conection (the good thing is that they provide free internet access).

Room Tip: i got the cheapest room they have and be honest it's comparable to the best on other 5 star hotels.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Bonjour! Dear alex a, we are most grateful for your kind comments and very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to our hotel. Your gracious words and recognition of your experience at Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental have warmed our team and made us proud of continuously offering Magnifique stay to our guests.

Meanwhile, thanks for bringing your suggestion regarding the internet in guest room to our attention, we are very pleased to share with you that Wi-Fi on the 37th and 38th floor is under testing, and we are now collecting the feedback as reference for next step to implement Wi-Fi installation in all guest room floors.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future and we are confident you will find our service to be consistently good and up to your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been staying in this hotel since it have opened a couple of years ago, it's a good location for me but it's not close to Dongguan city center and there's not much for you to see, to do or western food to eat in Humen area, but for my business trip is great. The staf are quite helpful but they can be anoying a lot of times, you hand the DO NOT DISTURB sign at the door and they keep knoking ofering water, towel, pilow, massage, it's really upseting because you're on jetleg and want to sleep. last time i had to complain with the chief concierge and the problem had been solved. great price.

a word of advice for the management: please teach some english at least to the staff that is in touch with the guest, there's people serving breakfast that do not understand what is a Expresso Coffee or Butter but i can see that they are very helpfull, they want to help, but they don't speak any english at all, sometimes even the people at the front desk english skill are very, but really very poor.

Another thing is that from the begining of the hotel to now, i noticed that the cleaning level of the rooms have come down a bit, sometimes it smell a bit weird, you talk to them and they come and spray deodorizers in the room and it mix with the weird smell, becomes even worse.

Room Tip: book directely at the accorhotels website, they have the best rates.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_saopaulo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Bonjour Alex,

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to hear you appreciate the location of the hotel, right in the heart of Humen Town, is great for your business. On the other note, thanks for bringing the English skill and cleaning issues to our attention as well. Indeed, there are some new staff on board in these 2 months and we have strengthened the training sessions especially for them to ensure they are offering refine service to our guests. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused but please be reassured that you will find your next stay much more pleasant with our consistently effort to improve.

Finally, we welcome your constructive feedback about the improvements necessary to make the experience truly Magnifique in the future and it will definitely be our pleasure to welcoming you back to Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental whenever you are in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews