We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen
Ranked #18 of 1,094 Hotels in Dongguan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been staying in this hotel since it have opened a couple of years ago, it's a good location for me but it's not close to Dongguan city center and there's not much for you to see, to do or western food to eat in Humen area, but for my business trip is great. The staf are quite helpful but they can be anoying a lot of times, you hand the DO NOT DISTURB sign at the door and they keep knoking ofering water, towel, pilow, massage, it's really upseting because you're on jetleg and want to sleep. last time i had to complain with the chief concierge and the problem had been solved. great price.

a word of advice for the management: please teach some english at least to the staff that is in touch with the guest, there's people serving breakfast that do not understand what is a Expresso Coffee or Butter but i can see that they are very helpfull, they want to help, but they don't speak any english at all, sometimes even the people at the front desk english skill are very, but really very poor.

Another thing is that from the begining of the hotel to now, i noticed that the cleaning level of the rooms have come down a bit, sometimes it smell a bit weird, you talk to them and they come and spray deodorizers in the room and it mix with the weird smell, becomes even worse.

Room Tip: book directely at the accorhotels website, they have the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_saopaulo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Bonjour Alex,

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to hear you appreciate the location of the hotel, right in the heart of Humen Town, is great for your business. On the other note, thanks for bringing the English skill and cleaning issues to our attention as well. Indeed, there are some new staff on board in these 2 months and we have strengthened the training sessions especially for them to ensure they are offering refine service to our guests. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused but please be reassured that you will find your next stay much more pleasant with our consistently effort to improve.

Finally, we welcome your constructive feedback about the improvements necessary to make the experience truly Magnifique in the future and it will definitely be our pleasure to welcoming you back to Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental whenever you are in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

With 4 adults and 2 kids, we had 3 rooms, the rooms were good, clean and bed comfortable. Restaurant service was extremely slow, we had to wait 10 minutes for coffee and another 30 minutes for pastries. No service at all, we were left alone for the whole time. at the swimming pool, we wer force to purchase a swimming cap before we could go into the pool for some unknown hygiene reason. Even a bald headed man was forced to purchase a cap. This is the first hotel I have even be to having this requirement. After swimming, the kids were wet and wrapped around with towels because the building was cold. At the door a woman started screaming "where do you think you are going with those towels?" "Who told you you can take those towels to your rooms?" "Take those towls off and give them to me now." Rude, Rude, Rude!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Bonjour Mr Felix K,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your generous feedback regarding to your recent stay at our hotel.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for you had a disappointing experience. We are most concern and disturb to learn that our services have fallen short in so many areas.

We can understand from your point of view over the inconvenience it may have caused because of our strict adherence to the local Health and Hygiene authority requiring all swimmers to wear swimming cap when they entered the pool. Please be assured that your comments regarding the F&B and the staff in the Fitness Centre has been well received and that we will seriously look into the issues and improve our existing facilities and services.

Although our explanations will not alleviate the disappointment that you had experience, we hope that you will accept our profound apologies for those defects, and reassured by our efforts to improve.  We look forward to welcoming you and your guests again and we trust you will experience a much more positive difference on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

You cannot miss this hotel when you arrive at Humen city. The tallest building in the city, 62F altogether. Check in and out was smooth and staff was courteous. Huge room. Ask for corner room, even bigger! Breakfast is located on 61F and the floor to ceiling glass window amplifies the view outside. Perfect at night. Try the Japanese restaurant, good service and the set meal is vaue for money.

No WiFi in room but wired internet is free, if you bring ultra notebook, like what I did, no access at all. Overall, a good stay and nice hotel

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room and if possible corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Bonjour! Dear Tonelim,We are all very happy you chose to stay at Sofitel Dongguan Humen oreintal and we are very appreciative of your kind comments and recognization of our hotel.

Indeed, the 409 luxury rooms in Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental are starting from 53 square meters and offering free internet access which has been considered to be great valuable for money for generous space enjoy at our hotel. And it is also delighting to learn that you enjoyed the view and service of our Becon Restaurant on 61F which is the tallest restaurant in Dongguan and Edo Japanese which offers an impressive wine list and a menu focusing on the highest quality meats, local seafood, fish.

We very much look forward to welcome you again in the future and we are confident you will find our service to be consistently good and up to your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchiangl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adnan Y, General Manager at Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I didn't expect that much facilities in a room at Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental.

So much to my surprise.

I love it !!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, great service, great food, great people. Reception is on the 10th Floor, there are excellent lifts which provide an outside view. Checking in is very quick, then enter a different set of lifts to get to you floor. I stayed on the 32nd floor, from my bath I had a wonderful view across the city. Every accessory one could need in a hotel room is provided. The aircon is perfect and easy to control. The restaurant is on the 61st floor and a cocktail lounge on the 62nd floor. The decor colours are very tasteful. The buffet dinner has a huge variety of food available. Breakfast proved to be a long walk from one end of the buffet to the other.

Room Tip: High floor, it is my guess all rooms are to an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jobone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongTung
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Dongguan Humen by ACCOR
0.2 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#15 of 1,094 in Dongguan
142 reviews
15.1 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#2 of 1,094 in Dongguan
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,094 in Dongguan
596 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,094 in Dongguan
723 reviews
6.3 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#7 of 1,094 in Dongguan
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen

Address: Humen Avenue, Humen Town, Huanghe Commercial Tower, Dongguan 523900, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
#8 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range: $83 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen, is a superior Five-Star hotel Positioned on historic town Humen, the 62-floor tower of Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen raises elegantly in the corridor of Guangzhou and Shenzhen.The hotel boasts 409 spacious rooms,Start from 29th floor and a generous 53 square meters, all guest rooms are featured with standard amenities including feather bedding, duvet, pillow menu, LCD TV, free Internet access, free-standing bathtub and separate shower, embedded bathroom TV and floor to ceiling window with panoramic views of the city.The restaurants and bars provide perfect setting for relaxing and socializing, all refined cuisines as well as latest fusion dishes from all over the world can be found here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mels Weldon Dongguan Humen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dongguan Humen Oriental Hotel Dongguan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing