We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value...if you can accept a 2-star hotel”
Review of Huatai Hotel

Huatai Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huatai Hotel
Ranked #477 of 1,065 Hotels in Dongguan
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value...if you can accept a 2-star hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night in late February 2013. Paid about US$50/night, but wish I would have stayed @ a nicer hotel.

The service was friendly, but the overall cleanliness of the room was below average. At least the sheets were clean, but the carpet was disgusting, and the towels were in serious need of replacing. I tipped the housekeeper just to get me some towels that were less "brown" in color.

Remember that the rating system for most China hotels, especially in secondary cities, is not on par with those of western Europe or the U.S. I would generally deduct 1 star from every rating system for non-Western hotel brands. So, if the Walter rates itself a 4-star property, I can honestly say it's between a 2-3 star property.

Plus, the breakfast quality and selection were definitely below par.

The location is excellent though, if you're looking to stay in the central part of downtown Changping.

Room Tip: You should ask to see the rooms first, before committing to staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Okahandja
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Being a first timer in China i did not know what to expect.... After a full day in various taxi's and busses we arrived at the Hotel.
The reception was warm and welcome, all the staff try to assist you in English, luckily we had a guide to help us..
The rooms was nice and clean and cosy. Outside were snowing and we took long and warm showers.
There was a choise of 3 restuarants in the hotel and we chose the Chinese restuarant on the ground floor... The food was very good.
The breakfast was well served with a big variaity to choose from...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Don't forget you're in Changping which is not exaclty a resort location, but the Huatai (Walter) Hotel is exceptionally comfortable, clean and a great value. Their breakfast buffet has a wonderful assortment of items, all prepared with quality ingredients and care. Very few of the staff speak English so be prepared for that, but I don't speak Chinese and was still able to get by.

Room Tip: Smoking and Non-smoking rooms are on the same floor, so be sure to check yours out closely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny_Vegas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Huatai hotel - also known as the Walter hotel - is in the center of Changping approximately two miles from Changping train station (stop of the Hong Kong - Guangzhou Through Train and the Guangzhou - Shenzhen bullet train).
Whatever the hotel might ask for never pay more than 300 RMB/ night, only during the Canton fair higher prices might be unavoidable. If you book the hotel, make sure you have printed reservation confirmation in Chinese and directions in Chiense for the taxi drivers. In Changping the number of people speaking English is almost zero. At the hotel reception nobody speak English. And as always in Chinese hotels: cash is king - best to have RMB.
The hotel itself is ok, but ask for a room on the top floors. Otherwise you might hear the Karaoke from second floor. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is TV, but no international channels. Also you have free internet at a good speed. Breakfast is a combination of Chinese and Western style and should serve anyone´s taste.
The popular night life district is a mile away from the hotel. Thus you should not be bothered by any of the night life. Main shopping road is in walking distance. Next to the hotel is a typical Chinese department store and for people that will stay for a a few days there is a Starbucks and a Mc Donalds next to the hotel as well.
The hotel can be recommended if you are used to Chinese country hotels. Don´t be too surprised to see quiet some Escort ladies in the hotel and the elevator, but that is nothing special in Changping. As there is no Western hotel chain yet in Changping. An alternative for Western business travellers is the "Eurasia International Hotel" probably the best hotel in Changping that comes closest to anything similar of a 4* or 5* rating.
If someone is looking for a very decent hotel have a look at the Hyatt Dongguan. It is 30 minutes from Changping, but definitely this is a very good hotel for around 100 USD/ night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
0.0 mi away
Huihua International Hotel
Huihua International Hotel
#22 of 1,065 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
11.6 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#9 of 1,065 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
13.1 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,065 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Jinguang Express DongguanHumen Huanghe Clothes City
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,065 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huatai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huatai Hotel

Property: Huatai Hotel
Address: No.3 Changping Avenue, Changping Town, Dongguan 523560, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,065 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your Huatai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing