We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for westerners”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 1,059 Hotels in Dongguan
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for westerners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a very nice hotel considering the area. This is a place for westerners to come and stay that have never been to dong guan, it is very safe. they have an okay buffet it is usually free with the room, for dinner and lunch i would not recommend not very good at all. The spa is nice, it is across the way and is super cheap. Dont be scared that it is dark and underground, it is nice trust me.
This was my 10th time staying there in a year, and this time I found a cockroach in the room, they ended up upgrading my room but it was still unpleasant to see. The suite they upgraded me to was very large but also double the price.

I definitely recommend leaving the hotel for meals besides breakfast.

Room Tip: book with their website so that you get free breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farrenh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    130
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
3
3
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is worth 5 stars although the room needs some touching up. The room is spacious and cleaned every day. There's a big KTV in front of the hotel so take a room with a mountain view if u dont want that noise. The bed is not too hard and the tv has 80 channels. Also included is a 2 mbit free WiFi internet.

The staff is very friendly and there are enough things to do in the hotel. But u have to pay for it.

Not the hotels fault but the location is very sad. 1 shopping mall (15. Min walk) and all the attractions are in Dongguan city. There are enough restaurants in the neighborhood though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimaYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Dalang is not the biggest town in dongguan so to have this hotel of this quality is certainly a big surprise.

The location loses a few points as its not close to a mall but it is very self sufficient.

The rooms, amenities, restaurant, service are comparable to international 5 star hotels.

However, like most high local 5 stars in dongguan(e.g.eurasia, yihao) the ktv is an attraction and if you are not used to it, it can out you off.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is big and luxurious, with ample restaurants to suit any taste it is a great stay.
The staff are friendly and attentive.
All in all a very slick operation.
Free wifi is fast, and the TV has a number of english main stream channels.
A Most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the rear of the hotel, away from the traffic, although I did not exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swiftnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel can be looked at as a real five stars hotel. Staff very helpful and try to help with broken english. Rooms are large and very clean. Bathrooms large and clean. In addition the swimming pool looks like a great experience to swim in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on my trip to the Shenzhen area. Frequent travelers to this area consider this a 5 star hotel. In fact, I found out that there are many Chinese branded 5 star hotels in Shenzhen that are just as good and cost a lot less than the multinational chains.

I was impressed upon reaching this hotel with the granite walls surrounding the property and the waterfall flowing down the walls. The lobby was large, high and impressive.

I checked in and took the bubble lift up to my room and at the same time admiring the grounds of the hotel.

I was very impressed by the size of the room, the quality of the furnishing and the bathroom.

The hotel is part of a large complex complete with Restaurants, Shops and entertainment centres. We took the buggy to a restaurant and the food was good and cheap.

The price of the room include buffet breakfast for two. This was my first trip to China and I did not know what to expect at the buffet but all the usual offerings were there plus noodle and egg stations where the chef cook to order. The food wasn't fantastic but it was adequate and the selection was good.

If you are ever in this area, I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High Floors and definitely non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiantravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Staying there for business. Big nice 4 star rooms. NIce lobby. Breakfast was very good and we ate dinner there at night and it was pretty good. Pool looks great and plan on going there tonight. Nice big bar area. Only small things was the toilet seemed to not have much pressure and the hallway seemed a little musky (but what do you expect in such a humid climate. Room was fine.

Saw no women wondering the hallways and got no calls as posted before. The KTV is 200 yds away and only saw it when we first drove in.

Hotel has good shuttle service

I would stay here again and probably will.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moestravelpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
9.6 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
11.5 mi away
Wanda Vista Dongguan
Wanda Vista Dongguan
#3 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Parklane Chang'an International Hotel
6.5 mi away
Eurasia International Hotel
Eurasia International Hotel
#21 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#9 of 1,059 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Property: Royal Garden Hotel
Address: No.769 Meijing Middle Road, Dalang Town, Dongguan 523788, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,059 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing