We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Garden Hotel
Ranked #12 of 1,087 Hotels in Dongguan
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I just a really long review and the page got erased, so I'm not doing it again. The service and food in this hotel are pathetic; the hotel itself is beautiful but your stuck there in Dongguan and there is nowhere decent to eat. The picture I've attached is from their cafe where our dinner was inedible. Beers in the bar are $7.50 US and one of associates had to 120 RMB ($19.35) for six copies because every printer in their business center was broken. Do yourself a big favor, stay somewhere else. I wish I had a choice but it's where my clients hold their revue; hopefully somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was my first real trip to a factory town in China. Kind of an eye opener compared to Shanghai, Changzhou and some of the other high end cities. It was certainly nice to see that they had a 5 star hotel in the midst with top notice accommodations. The garden and pool are really quite amazing. If you are here, you should enjoy a little luxury, the city does not have much of it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Typical of Chinese managed hotels, in my experience, this hotel just doesn't come close to international standards.

The Chinese restaurants were disappointing. I love Chinese food but I ended up eating some snacks in my room after leaving the restaurant.

The staff hound you a bit for your key wherever you go, and that makes the place feel unwelcoming.

The executive floor food offering are stale and unappetizing.

The "complementary" toiletries in the bathroom were really cheap and nasty.

Stink of tobacco smoke in the hallways.

Breakfast bread and pastries were really, really stale.

To the positive, the staff members I talked to were pleasant and appeared to be doing their
jobs as defined.

Overall the appearance of the hotel is not bad, in fact it's really quite grand. And the room size is quite generous compared to bigger cities in Asia.

There's a modest gym and the pool looked okay but it was empty when I visited.

Room Tip: Don't have breakfast in the executive lounge. It's not a great breakfast downstairs but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank silkroadworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Good hotel , one of the best in this aerea , new and clean.
Rooms are of two kinds , the ones on main building are better. The Beds are very very confortables. Good service with 3 restaurants , a japanese a continental and a self service very nice. The breackfast is very rich and served in a very relaxing room with garden view or in the garden during summer time.There is a great pool outside and a small gimm. Very near there is a SPA with great foot massage .

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljubaVeneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

let me warn you here.

I have been staying in this hotel for many years, and every second night I could hear the agony of the mostly underaged prostitutes next door. and every day you can see them with their customer at the breakfast table, or is it their grandfather?
As I complained to the management, they only laughed. turns out prostitution is their main business. police is doing nothing, even taking part .. At peak times they have 2000 prostitutes.

Horrible place (not to mention the food), I will never stay there again, luckily the Hyatt is only a few minutes away.

stay away!

Room Tip: choose the hyatt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stay at this hotel quite a bit as a matter of business and meetings with clients. The rooms are very nice and spacious, just be forewarned that the rooms are all pretty much identical; what you are paying for in the more expensive rooms is your view and whether you have a balcony. For my money I just choose the least expensive room.

The pool here is quite large and nice but in five years of staying here I have never seen more than two or three people there at a time. The weather in Dongguan is usually overcast so there's not much sun to enjoy. I have never seen their outdoor snack area open.

Good amenities such as pool, snooker, table shuffleboard and ping pong (table tennis). They charge by the hour for these and if you run over even a minute they will charge you for the next hour as well.

Very few English speaking employees; this is getting better as a few years ago there were none.

Huge KTV area that is very well managed. Huge spa that has really nice facilities and excellent employees. It is also very inexpensive.

Dongguan is really not safe in this area so you are more or less stuck at the complex unless you have transportation. You don't want to walk around the city.

The bar at the hotel is adequate with live music most evenings. The restaurants are not particularly good in my opinion and many are way overpriced. find somewhere else to eat. Buffet breakfast is ok and included with your room.

Room Tip: If you don't care about view, and there really is not much to look at, take the cheapest room av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank globalreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I visit Dongguan often and tried this hotel for the first time. It's a typical China 5-star hotel. I had a room on the executive floor and the rooms are very comfortable with excellent lighting and the wired internet service was very fast. Great rain shower! The breakfast in the lounge was so-so but had the cereal and fruit I wanted. There are very good restaurants, Chinese, Japanese, Western (buffet) and Steak House. The service is typical good like this type of hotel, but most staff speak little or no English, which is fine for me since I enjoy trying my limited chinese. I enjoy afternoon shampoo and massages and around the corner is excellent spa and salon with very good quality service and very low prices. The hotel has a beautiful large pool and a small fitness room which I didn't use.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#1 of 1,087 in Dongguan
590 reviews
9.6 mi away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#2 of 1,087 in Dongguan
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tian Yu Hotel
Tian Yu Hotel
#420 of 1,087 in Dongguan
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
#9 of 1,087 in Dongguan
393 reviews
12.0 mi away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
14.4 mi away
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
Pullman Dongguan Chang'an
#7 of 1,087 in Dongguan
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: No.769 Meijing Middle Road, Dalang Town, Dongguan 523788, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,087 Hotels in Dongguan
Price Range: $81 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing