We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
11
42
16
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
42
16
6
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 76 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

The location is excellent and its directly opposite the train station. Upon arriving don't be surprised to have to wait a while, there always seems to be a lot of people wanting the receptionist's help and the level of English is very low. They were unable to find our booking, but we didn't find this out until we tried to check out so don't be surprised if your deposit is very big (ours was 700yuan for two nights). We tried to arrange a tour to Bingling Si, but due to language issues we got put off and passed on to so many people that by the time the answer we got was ok, it was too late to leave on the same day which was inconvenient as we only had one full day in Lanzhou. We had a twin room on the 21st floor, the views were good but the room stank of smoke, but the air conditioning was powerful and you kind of got used to the smell. We didn't eat breakfast here as there are many excellent street food sellers outside of the train station in the morning and the evening as well as supermarkets nearby. There are only two lifts for the whole hotel and these can get busy in the morning and late evening. When checking out, make sure you get your full deposit back and stand your ground, they tried to charge us twice for the room (even though we had paid online and provided the booking reference) knowing some basic mandarin or having a phrase book will help you greatly. The room itself is worth the money, you get comfy beds, two towels each, plus a shower mat and two face cloths. There is soap, toothbrushes and toothpaste provided as well as shower gel/soap and plenty of toilet roll. In the room you get a small balcony of sorts but It is enclosed by windows, bedside tables, table and chairs, computer, wardrobe and kettle.

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank 649jennier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

For a mid-range price, this was a great room and a great location. We arrived by train, and the hotel is just across the street (slightly on your left as you exit the train station). The sign on the building says "Lanzhou Mansion". We booked an "executive double" for $43, and were given a room on the 21st floor- great view! The bed was big, soft, and the room was clean. Glassed-in balcony. Good sized bathroom with great hot water.
When we left, we needed the airport bus- it's just 200 meters down the road (slightly to your right when you exit the train station) and for 30 yuan, we were at the airport (allow 90 minutes for the ride).
Try to visit the Gansu Provincial Museum if you can; it's free, and costs 1 yuan to get to. Take the #1 bus to its terminus and there's the museum.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank deahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2015

When we first walked in we thought wow, this looks promising. Unfortunately the receptionist was not very helpful, had a bad attitude and just didn’t really care less. Thankfully, this is not the attitude for the rest of the staff as we were very lucky to meet a receptionist who could speak English and went out of her way to help us. Do not book this hotel if you think you’ll get a non-smoking room. The hotel is smoking in all rooms. The airconditioning did not work in our room and the smell of smoke never left it, it was so bad that sleeping was impossible on the first night until we bought air freshener and sprayed hourly. This was on floor 21 in a King Room. On floor 20 it was a little better and the twin rooms were pleasant and comfortable. The breakfast is strictly eastern and the only western thing to eat was boiled eggs! There is a supermarket right next door so you can pick up things there. The hotel is literally right across from the main railway station and bus station. This is very handy if you want to catch a bus into town (either the 6 or 9 will take you to the main shopping area). Bus 31 will take you to the other railway station in Lanzhou. The hotel is about 10 minutes from where the bus from the airport drops you off, about 10 yuan in the taxi. I would only recommend staying here if you smoke and need the railway station, otherwise pay a little more and go somewhere else.

Room tip: Non-smokers don't book on Floor 21. Floor 20 in a twin room towards the middle of the hotel is better for non-smokers (in April 2015!).
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank humbirdi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We decided to stay one night here to catch a train further west. It's convenient located directly opposite the trainstation. The rooms are nice. If you compare it to other rooms we had for 219 a night, it was very good. We read some soso reviews, so I think they must have been renovated, or we are just very underspoiled...

However, the staff was very chinese! They spoke hardly any english and were almost rude! When we asked something, they would just giggle and continue other work. They would agree with a free late checkout at first and when we asked them to write it down it was a huge problem! The girl couldn't even calculate the amount of deposit we would get back the next day. They forgot our breakfast coupons and kept saying we got them already. The internet in our room was extremely slow and stopped after half an hour. Someone kept calling on our room phone...

It's not very expensive, but still, we would not go there again. They just made our blood boil!

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JasperF368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had to stay a night over in Lanzhou on the way back to Beijing from Xinjiang province due to a scarcity of train tickets. This hotel is located directly across from the train station, has high speed internet access (via line, not wireless) in its 219RMB rooms, and computers in its 259RMB rooms. We have our own computer so we chose a 219RMB room. The room is basic but clean, fine for a night or two if you're staying in Lanzhou and prefer to be close to the train station. Outside the hotel there are various noodle places, convenience stores, and a KFC. There are a couple of bus lines nearby, including one directly to the Iron Bridge, so if you feel like exploring Lanzhou you won't be stuck.

This hotel isn't luxury and the standard rooms are just that, standard. No frills (except the internet) but there's nothing objectionable about this hotel, especially for this price.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessLWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews