We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
22
49
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
49
6
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 80 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Probably the most important hotel in town. Looks impressive from the outside.
We just had a night there as we had to catch an early train the next morning.
While the place is nice and looks modern, there is no wifi in the room. We negotiated to have them lend us a router for the night.
Breakfast is Chinese and beds are really hard. Our friends thought that the hotel had forgotten to put the mattress.
No english spoken there. It is close to the train station but traffic can be bad in the morning.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDM788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sapphire Hotel for 2 weeks in June, 2012; the experience was excellent; yes, it is true, the English is minimal, however, everything else was great. The restaurant is open all day, with a large variety of food; there is plenty of Western food for breakfast, toast, cereal, etc. The staff was most helpful to me at all times. As a visiting academic, I was at the university most days, but it was very convenient. The city is also very pleasant, with lovely lights and fountains at night. I would definitely stay there again. PS, beds were a bit hard, but I slept well; also got BBC all day.

Room tip: Both rooms I was in were excellent - there is a night club on the 4th floor and it was better to be on the other side of it, even higher up, to avoid late night noise.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annina79York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

positives are the reception area and big rooms
negatives are so many, no english at all, health club is closed, very hard bed, no english channels on tv, extremely slow wired internet connection, very tough employees.
also don't get fooled by the rooms names, I stayed in an executive room which is classified as 55 m2 room but we found out that all rooms are of the same size, only a non english computer was added in the executive floor rooms.
breakfast is all chinese and you shall struggle to find something to eat on breakfast.
this is the first 4 star hotel I have ever seen without a bath tub or swimming pool
if you have to visit Lanzhou, you better either go to legend or grand soluxe

Room tip: all rooms are typically the same
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imex500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews