We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good, relaxing for China”
Review of Seaview Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seaview Resort
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quite good, relaxing for China”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We currently live in Shanghai as expats. When people told us we should take a weekend to Xiamen because it is "laid back for China", we laughed at this thought. But arriving in Xiamen and then at the Seaview Resort, the difference in pace is quite noticeable. It is a huge resort but never feels crowded. (Though we doubt there were many people staying there.) Service is pretty good by China standards and people are usually quite friendly and conscious of the guests.

Facilities:
We spent the majority of our long weekend (two couples) at the pool. The pool is huge and well maintained. Though the wet bar is not consistently manned by a bartender, we only needed to approach from the water and a lookout was calling someone over to take our beer and burger orders.

In addition, though there is no golf on premise, we were able to take a 10 minute walk down the road to a golf driving range.

Rooms:
Clean, comfortable - not much to complain about here. It was a bit odd that in what we perceived to be a half empty hotel, they situated us at the very far end of the hotel - an easy 10 minute walk to the lobby - but not a big deal.

Food:
Burgers were very good. Breakfast was not so good. But for the price, it is a plentiful buffet. It's possible if we were to have gone to breakfast before 10am the food wouldn't all be cold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    147
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
15
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stayed there in winter for a meeting so I didn't get to enjoy the sunshine and beach. This hotel is about 30min ride from the airport and is really remote from downtown.
It's nice that I was upgraded to use their lounge on the top floor where you get breakfast in the morning in a quite and charming ambience, I tried corn juice first time there, they also make noodles fresh for you upon request. They serve food all day long in the lounge, it's particular nice that there're fruit and wine served till quite late (almost 10pm), there're lots of quite corners for reading and meeting, there's a cigar room in the lounge aswell and ofcourse cigars are not complimentary.

The hotel was huge, it takes maybe more than 5 min to walk to my room from the elevator.
My room was very comfortable, with very nice garden view. There's a bath tup by the window that you can enjoy the nice view while soaking in a bubble-bath. After bath, you could enjoy a nice cup (or many small cups) of green tea with the delicate tea set that is provided by the hotel. The bed is very comfortable that you can surely have a good nice sleep.

One drawback was the drainage problem at the shower, I had to shower quick to avoid the overflowing of water.

Didn't get a chance to try their swimming pool and tennis court, but it's a nice walk/run in the garden in the morning.
Service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tintinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Xiamen. It was a vey nice hotel, spacious rooms, very modern and spacious bathroom, friendly staff, pretty entensive breakfast, though I would have liked more selection. The hotel is about 15 minutes outside of the downtown (RMB25 ride). It was very rainy and foggy during our stay so we weren't able to see all the ground and the pool was under maintenance, though we would not have been able to swim as it was too cold. I would not recommend the Italian restaurant downstairs as the food was not up to Italian standard. We enjoyed the lunch buffet which was pretty entensive. Overall a very good stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine36NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

A friend chose this place for me. It was an excellent choice. The hotel represents excellent value for money - you should be able to get a fairly good deal on the rooms and the resort and rooms are definately top class. The rooms are large, well decorated, and if you get an ocean view room, have a large tub right in front of the window from which you can watch the ocean. (Can't see the sun set sadly as it's on the other side....).

The breakfast buffet is extensive and the staff are courteous and efficient.

Although I didn't have my kids with me on this trip I could see it would be good for them. There's a toddler pool for when the weather is warmer (there is also an indoor pool) and there is playroom. There's also a nice beach right across the street from the hotel for some sand play.

The only drawback really is the location. It is close to a nice beach as mentioned above but that's it. It's otherwise quite far out of town and you will need to catch a cab to go anywhere (or if you are feeling adventurous you can catch the number 29 bus from the outside the resort and for 1 yuan it will take you into the city center. It was crowded with standing room only anytime I rode it though). So you may prefer to be in the center of Xiamen if you really want to get out and about a lot. But if you are planning on spending more of your time in a very nice hotel, this will fit the bill nicely.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seatrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

stayed for 2 nights, location was great, room was up to my expectations, staff were all very nice and helpful, looking forward to come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wkp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

High standard hotel, surprising as run by government although management so good you suspect a professional management company must be involved behind the scenes. Not for budget travellers, a resort but only 10mins from downtown, would say it aims for rich Chinese not international tourists. Some rooms have step-in swimming pool access, good for older kids. Seem to be a lot of conferences so you may end up rubbing shoulders with drunk delegates. Very high standard public areas, rooms very good, internet good free wi-fi, all seems in new condition, highly recommend. Located next to beach, 2 mins walk to quite cool kiteboarding centre and Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chungli, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Before I arrived at the hotel, I had zero expectations. But the minute I walked into the room, I was blown away by the great view from the balcony. The rooms are very well designed. My coworker and I were very pleased with the value we got. Service at the conference room was great too. The only complaint I have is there are waaaaaaay too many people during breakfast hours. Service at the restaurant was somewhat disappointing. But overall, I think this hotel makes a great choice if you go to Xiamen whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phinn_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,269 in Xiamen
422 reviews
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,269 in Xiamen
530 reviews
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,269 in Xiamen
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Polo Xiamen
#4 of 1,269 in Xiamen
642 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#13 of 1,269 in Xiamen
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Resort

Property: Seaview Resort
Address: No.3999 Huandao South Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361005, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,269 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seaview Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Resort has 601 rooms in total, The Seaview Garden opened with 87 rooms in 2007, the Seaview Hotel opened with 372 rooms in 2009. The Seaview Villa opened with 142 rooms in 2016. Unique Location: As an iconic resort in Xiamen, Seaview Resort is situated beside scenic seashores. With the hills behind and the sea in front,alone with YunDing Mountain, which is adjacent to Huang Cuo beach puts Kinmen, Dadan and Erdan isles all in sight. Convenient Transportation: The hotel is 5 to 20 minutes’ drive-time away from Xiamen Gao Qi International Airport,Train Station, China Convention& Expo Center, Guanyin Shan Business Operation Center, Ferry & International Cruise Center(Gulang Yu Island)cultural tourist attractions-fishing village Zengcuo An, Xiamen university, Nanpu Tuo Temple, etc Mountain & Ocean View Garden: Covering an area of 1 million square meters. The garden is professional designed by the international masters, with mountains, valleys, bridges, rocks, lakes and lawns, a total of more than 20,000 trees, and 400 kinds of rare plants in the garden. There is also a Tingtao valley, 700 meters long mountaineering boardwalk, sea views, and 1.8 km jogging track. Hotel and Villa area of tropical plants can be seen everywhere to create a rich natural leisure resort atmosphere. Leisure and Entertainment: The hotel has 18 indoor / outdoor swimming pools, indoor and outdoor tennis courts, ultra-luxurious theater, gym, billiards room, table tennis room and Angsana SPA, Little Dolphin Children's Playground and other kinds of entertainment and leisure facilities. Where the Children's Playground and an indoor swimming pool separated by glass, it is convenient to concern about the children to play, meanwhile providing you a relaxing quiet experience. Luxurious Accommodation: Seaview Resort has 601 outstanding grade luxurious rooms, Garden, Hotel, and Villa three regions with different styles, providing you more elegant and comfortable lodging options. Hotel room design inherited Gulang Yu old house style, open terrace with views of mountain and sea landscape, overlooking the courtyard garden pool; Waterscape & Pool villas surrounded exclusive subtropical garden with a hydrophilic pool space. Business Facilities: The hotel has excellent facilities, meeting and banquet space over 3,500 square meters including a ceiling of 8 meters, an area of over 1,000 square meters of column-free hall, and equipped with high-tech communications equipment, simultaneous interpretation systems and professional services team. It offers a variety of Chinese and Western cuisine and leisure options, including a Chinese Restaurant, Cafeteria, Lobby Lounge, Skyview Lounge, Waterscape Cafe and Jazz Restaurant, as well as Wine House, Wine Cellar, and a Cigar Bar are available. Seaview Resort has received numerous honored guests and business celebrities from different countries, providing “natural, kind, caring, elegant" customized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing