We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food in China”
Review of La Catrina - CLOSED

La Catrina
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Catrina is the most authentic Mexican Restaurant in Xiamen. Using family inherited recipes, original ingredients and condiments brought from Mexico, offering an atmosphere of coziness with a folkloric hint, the chef and owner of the place will make you feel as if you're visiting a real Mexican home. We serve enchiladas and quesadillas, tostadas, stuffed jalapenos, nachos, fish fillet, flan and many more traditional dishes. Welcome to enjoy REAL Mexican food! P.S. We have vegetarian options for every dish on the menu. IMPORTANT NOTICE: Dear customers, the restaurant has been closed since march 2017. we apologise for the inconvenience.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Authentic Mexican food is pretty rare in China, and La Catrina is way above anything else I've had. Portions aren't huge, but the prices are very reasonable. From time to time I absolutely crave authentic Mexican and you can't beat this place. I've been back many times. Yum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elliott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga d, Owner at La Catrina, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2015

Dear customer!
Thank you ever so much for sharing your opinion about La Catrina! We are happy to know you had a pleasant experience at our restaurant! We hope to stay up to your standards and meet your everyy expectation! We work to provide good service and best quality authentic Mexican food at affordable prices. We hope to see you among our regular customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

Tried several things on the menu and everything was DELICIOUS! Full of flavour and spice! Real Mexican food so don't expect texmex like burritos etc. Everything we tried was just so tasty and fresh... Can't wait to go back... Make sure to try the Mexican drinks they offer with a portion of nachos and fresh REAL guacamole!... And definitely also try the rolled taco that is fried on the hot plate ( forgot the name but when you see the menu you will know)...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga d, General Manager at La Catrina, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Dear Charlotte! Thank you for your review, we appreciate your opinion. The rolled tacos fried on the hot plate are called TACOS DORADOS, or enchiladas. There are three of them in one portion, you can what to fill them with - beef, pork, chicken or vegetarian filling. They come with achoice of sauce - red spicy/non spicy sauce, red spicy sauce, mole (chocolate based slightly spicy flavored sauce and beans sauce- non spicy). Tacos dorados are served with rice and beans on the side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've already tried quite a few dishes there and I must say each and every of them was really good :) It;s located really close to the Main Campus of Xiamen University. Prices are really good and the owner is brilliant- super cheerful and helpful. Great alternative for lunch or dinner different from Chinese or any Asian food.
Recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Smutnyjanusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga d, Owner at La Catrina, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2015

Dear customer! Thank you for our feedback, we are happy to know you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We hope to you see at La Catrina often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

A tiny place, but only by square meters measurement. An amazing combination of warm and welcoming decoration, authentic Mexican dishes and drinks and friendly owners, who actually are Mexican, so they know what they are doing.

La Catrina is definitely a place worth visiting. We couldn't get enough of those delicious dishes.

1  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga d, Владелец at La Catrina, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2015

Dear valued customer! Thank you for your review, we appreciate your opinion. La Catrina is located inside a tiny lane, there's no traffic there which gives our customers an apportunity to enjoy their meal in private atmosphere. Thank you for mentioning it in your review. We do love running our little place and enjoy meeting people. Our customers are friendly and its a pleasure to take care of each and every guest. We hope to see you again in La Catrina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stumbled across this tiny place while on holiday in Xiamen recently. The food is tasty, the staff friendly, the beer cold and there is a pleasant outdoor seating area: what more could you ask for? Recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philip_Rebbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga d, General Manager at La Catrina, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

We are happy to know that you had a nice meal at our little place. Welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Catrina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing