We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A factory Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xianglu Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 1,296 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Officially, this hotel has 1525 rooms and, the weekend we stayed in it, it was packed to bursting. It claims to be a five-star hotel but really that's only because the management have cynically done just enough to get the right boxes ticked. Staying there is rather stressful - for starters it's very easy to lose track of where your room is, such is the scale of the place, and the staff haven't really understood the concept of customer service.
Breakfast is comically frenzied - quite simply, there were too many guests chasing too little food. Everytime a waiter put down a tray of something edible, about one-hundred people would descend on it! Whoever thought it was a clever idea to have one enormous eating hall instead of multiple, smaller earing areas, really needs to have a re-think. The room was okay but even though we were assured it was a designated non-smoking one, it was clear that the previous occupants had been heavy smokers.
My advice would be to go for a smaller hotel unless you are super-gregarious and relish a fight for a croissant at breakfast.

Room Tip: Treble-check that your room is really a non-smoking one, if you don't smoke. Consider getting br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky_Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 516 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We only stayed for 1 nite in this hotel, as it was just stop over, our flight arrive quite late, therefore our tour guide had pre-checked in for us at 8 pm and our arrival to hotel is 12 midnite. We booked a room with an additional bed ,but by the time we check in to the room at 12 midnite, the additional bed was not set up yet. I called up to check they told me cos too many rooms request for additional bed, therefore I need to wait. But that is already 4 hours ago, they notice of the additional bed setting. After half an hour with few calls to chase them, i gave up, i told them or they just give me a blanket, i will just sleep on the sofa. After 15 mins they send me a blanket (the staff can walk over to send blanket but not an additional bed). They gave me the comforter plus a cover which i need to sort it myself. As a 5 star rating hotel, that should not be the service. Dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nice rooms and breakfast in executive lounge was good , service in general was acceptable, but because it is such a big hotel there is no personal attention, room service food is served on plastic plates and glasses-McDonalds style!! Won’t stay their again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is by far the biggest hotel in xiamen with 1500 rooms. The lobby is huge & decorated with lots of plastic plants. The location is a bit off from tourist attractions like Gu Lang Yu island etc... The attendants are quite untrained, they don't speak english and don't have a translator to help foreign tourists who cannot speak mandarin. Buffet at Yum Yum Cha is not bad, but not excellent too. The waiters just stand on the corner chatting and do not care to clean up used plates on our tables; we have to call the waiters to clean up the plates on our table.

This hotel has a lot of potential if it were only built on a good location.e Also, some guests are unruly and keeps on smoking inside the hotel premises, I hope these guests would be more considerate with their actions.

Room Tip: For non smokers: try to ask the attendant to give you a room that's free of smoke smell. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helbanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It is a one of the biggest hotels in China - 1500 rooms, square-shaped, with huge openspace (more like a ballroom) in the centre - it looks quite impressive. Biggest problem of this hotel is a smoking policy - almost all hotel rooms and public spaces are smoking, 8 out of 9 floors are smoking floors and non-smoking floor is always booked. The staff is speaking very basic english, in most of the cases - not really understanding your complains and requests. Room was clean and spacious, with big LCD TV and bathroom. Quiet room - walls were thick enough, A/C - quiet and efficient. Breakfast was average but OK, just very crowded, poor coffee.

Room Tip: If you are not smoking - try to reserve a non-smoking room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZhivago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I was undecided on my China destination and read about Xiamen on Tripadvisor. I joined a tour to Xiamen while in HK. The first 2 nites we stayed at this hotel, which supposed to be the biggest hotel in the area.

We were allocated a box room ie one without window, which has a very uncomfortable atmosphere. the cupboard and carpet near the toliet has sign of water marks. The bed is steel frame, not your normal hotel essemble bed. However, the biggest surprise was in finding a spring roll under my bed!!

No need to comment on the cleaness of this hotel.

Room Tip: if yiu have to stay there make sure you ask for a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank europetrrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is the biggest hotel in Xiamen. You have to be careful which lift is nearer to your room otherwise you'll be lost when you reach your floor. The rooms are big with a 42 inch LCD TV. The bathroom is big as well. The toilet bowl in our room was spoilt so had to ask the maintenance for service. Luckily the response was quite fast and the job was completed in less than 15 minutes from the time I call for the service. However, it seems like there's a miscommunication as another hour later another maintenance guy came knocking at our door which I had woken up from my sleep to inform him that the toilet bowl has been repaired. Other than the disturbed sleep, the stay has been comfortable. The breakfast was average as it is the standard international and continental buffet and almost the same everyday except for some changes on the fried noodles and porridge. This hotel is near to the airport so if your room is facing the outside, you may hear the airplane sound every few minutes during their landing. One disappointment is that there's no shopping in the area except for a small supermarket nearby which closes at 10pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room as there's a smell in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Huli District
C&D Hotel Xiamen
C&D Hotel Xiamen
#15 of 1,296 in Xiamen
506 reviews
Minnan Hotel Xiamen
#44 of 1,296 in Xiamen
127 reviews
New Downtown
Park City Hotel - Xiamen China
Park City Hotel - Xiamen China
#177 of 1,296 in Xiamen
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
#506 of 1,296 in Xiamen
239 reviews
Bestel Hotel
#41 of 1,296 in Xiamen
128 reviews
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#22 of 1,296 in Xiamen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xianglu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xianglu Grand Hotel

Address: No.18 Changhao Road, Huli District, Xiamen 361006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,296 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: $50 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xianglu Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiamen's Xianglu Grand Hotel is located in the city's Huli District.This Xiamen hotel features guestrooms and suites equipped with fridges, safes, satellite TVs, IDD phones and Internet access.This hotel offers extensive conference and event facilities including two ballrooms which can accomodate up to 950 people and 26 function rooms equipped with audio-visual and lighting equipment as well as simultaneous interpreting facilities.In-house dining options include Chinese, Japanese and Taiwanese fare, while there's also a lounge bar and coffee house.Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, spa, sauna, massage and a chess room. On-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Xianglu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing