We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest hotel in xiamen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xianglu Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 1,298 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is by far the biggest hotel in xiamen with 1500 rooms. The lobby is huge & decorated with lots of plastic plants. The location is a bit off from tourist attractions like Gu Lang Yu island etc... The attendants are quite untrained, they don't speak english and don't have a translator to help foreign tourists who cannot speak mandarin. Buffet at Yum Yum Cha is not bad, but not excellent too. The waiters just stand on the corner chatting and do not care to clean up used plates on our tables; we have to call the waiters to clean up the plates on our table.

This hotel has a lot of potential if it were only built on a good location.e Also, some guests are unruly and keeps on smoking inside the hotel premises, I hope these guests would be more considerate with their actions.

Room Tip: For non smokers: try to ask the attendant to give you a room that's free of smoke smell. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helbanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 516 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

It is a one of the biggest hotels in China - 1500 rooms, square-shaped, with huge openspace (more like a ballroom) in the centre - it looks quite impressive. Biggest problem of this hotel is a smoking policy - almost all hotel rooms and public spaces are smoking, 8 out of 9 floors are smoking floors and non-smoking floor is always booked. The staff is speaking very basic english, in most of the cases - not really understanding your complains and requests. Room was clean and spacious, with big LCD TV and bathroom. Quiet room - walls were thick enough, A/C - quiet and efficient. Breakfast was average but OK, just very crowded, poor coffee.

Room Tip: If you are not smoking - try to reserve a non-smoking room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZhivago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I was undecided on my China destination and read about Xiamen on Tripadvisor. I joined a tour to Xiamen while in HK. The first 2 nites we stayed at this hotel, which supposed to be the biggest hotel in the area.

We were allocated a box room ie one without window, which has a very uncomfortable atmosphere. the cupboard and carpet near the toliet has sign of water marks. The bed is steel frame, not your normal hotel essemble bed. However, the biggest surprise was in finding a spring roll under my bed!!

No need to comment on the cleaness of this hotel.

Room Tip: if yiu have to stay there make sure you ask for a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank europetrrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is the biggest hotel in Xiamen. You have to be careful which lift is nearer to your room otherwise you'll be lost when you reach your floor. The rooms are big with a 42 inch LCD TV. The bathroom is big as well. The toilet bowl in our room was spoilt so had to ask the maintenance for service. Luckily the response was quite fast and the job was completed in less than 15 minutes from the time I call for the service. However, it seems like there's a miscommunication as another hour later another maintenance guy came knocking at our door which I had woken up from my sleep to inform him that the toilet bowl has been repaired. Other than the disturbed sleep, the stay has been comfortable. The breakfast was average as it is the standard international and continental buffet and almost the same everyday except for some changes on the fried noodles and porridge. This hotel is near to the airport so if your room is facing the outside, you may hear the airplane sound every few minutes during their landing. One disappointment is that there's no shopping in the area except for a small supermarket nearby which closes at 10pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room as there's a smell in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I booked into this hotel this afternoon. Had read a review prior to booking but nothing ventured, nothing gained. It is huge. Reception had OK English. Had paid via internet prior to arrival. They asked me for CNY 5000 deposit. I do not think so. Down to CNY1000. Well no, I will not pay that. Agreed to CNY200. Reasonable. No assistance with bag to room. Must admit, biggest room ever, garden room. Smells of smoke, but facilities within room are what I would expect. Went for wander to look at gym and pool. Gym has good equpment and pool seems OK, although the pool attendant was not happy that I went for a look. The buffet dinner in Yum Yum Cha, CNY118, was also OK. The hotel has 1500 rooms and twice that amount of people. To be honest, having stayed in many hotels in a number of countries, the room is wonderful(discounting cigarette smell) but I just do not feel comfortable. Atmosphere is non existant. Would not recommend staying here if you are seeking a nice ambience, good english to assist with general information. They try to provide assistance, are polite with aloofness. Have decided to check out in morning and spend my last night in Xiamen, elsewhere. Some show is going on down in Atrium and it is veeeeeery loud. I feel I have provided honest reviews, from my viewpoint in past, and although I do not like to not recommend somewhere, have only done it once before, I believe that Westeners may struggle a little here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoppetAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

One of the best in Xiamen. Situated in a good location. Sleep quality is the best. Breakfast buffet is enormous and delicious. Huge lobby. Huge function area. Security is excellent. Front desk staff are well versed in English. Bellboys are helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kidlat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The Xianglu Grand Hotel in Xiamen is certain a GRAND hotel. It is to cater to the hundreds of convention guests who visits Xiamen. The hotel's restaurants that serve lunch buffet has a wide selection. Staffs are attentive and a few spoke English. You can catch a cab from the hotel to the city. You can get lost looking for your room if you're not careful as each floor has more than 60rooms! Very clean and spacious rooms and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maxiegozaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Huli District
C&D Hotel Xiamen
C&D Hotel Xiamen
#16 of 1,298 in Xiamen
506 reviews
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#22 of 1,298 in Xiamen
83 reviews
Jingmin Central Hotel
#21 of 1,298 in Xiamen
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Downtown
Park City Hotel - Xiamen China
Park City Hotel - Xiamen China
#198 of 1,298 in Xiamen
79 reviews
Ibis Xiamen Kaiyuan
#511 of 1,298 in Xiamen
241 reviews
Minnan Hotel Xiamen
#96 of 1,298 in Xiamen
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xianglu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xianglu Grand Hotel

Address: No.18 Changhao Road, Huli District, Xiamen 361006, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,298 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: $50 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xianglu Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiamen's Xianglu Grand Hotel is located in the city's Huli District.This Xiamen hotel features guestrooms and suites equipped with fridges, safes, satellite TVs, IDD phones and Internet access.This hotel offers extensive conference and event facilities including two ballrooms which can accomodate up to 950 people and 26 function rooms equipped with audio-visual and lighting equipment as well as simultaneous interpreting facilities.In-house dining options include Chinese, Japanese and Taiwanese fare, while there's also a lounge bar and coffee house.Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, spa, sauna, massage and a chess room. On-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Xianglu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing