We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star, very bad fitness center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
Ranked #13 of 1,298 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The standard king room is adequate but by no means spacious. You would think in a city like Xiamen they should be able to offer more space than in Bj or sh. Overall your avg Sheraton, which is really falling to be more like a 4 star compared to shangri la, Hyatt or the Marriott similar level brands. My complaint with this one is the outsourced gym and pool. No life guard and virtually no receptionist in the lady's changing room. B/c the girl is buried in her cell phone most of the time. There is no changing room, the shower is cold with shots of hot water, the hair dryer is the old kind which requires holding down the button the whole time drying your hair. Outsourcing is ok but no excuse for a lower standard

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treatable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miyayang, Online Sales Executive at Sheraton Xiamen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the bad experience of fitness center you went throuth at our hotel.

As your mentioned, I have forwarded your comments to our hotel management team,.

As their discussion, please see below of our action:

1. We will assign more senior management staffs to check on the female locker room and more instructors to go round the pool area.

2. For the hot water issue, our engineering department has checked with it, and we will arrange our Eng to check it regularly.

3. We will change all our hair dryers when we carry out the locker room renovation at end of this year.

Thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again.

If you have any further questions or comments, please feel free to contact me at janet.lin@sheraton.com.



Sincerely,

Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 703 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

First of all: I have not stayed at the hotel, I have just had dinner there twice. But both times were just amazing! The buffet is very very good, with fresh sushi, and a variety of different Asian dishes from Thailand, Indonesia, Pakistan and India - five stars to the chefs of Sheraton, you're doing a great job! There is, of course, a lot of food to choose from, the only problem is that I couldn't try it all. The dessert table is also fantastic. Service is efficient, friendly and quite. It is not cheap, but perfect for a treat or when you have something to celebrate. I also appreciated that there were so many new things on the buffet, when we came back the second time. The interior is classical and simple, in an elegant style. Nice!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catharina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis D, Manager at Sheraton Xiamen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed in March whilst on business and found this hotel to be excellent.

Great location, good size rooms, very clean, and very helpful staff. A pleasure to stay and will make it my place of choice in future trips to Xiamen.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis D, Manager at Sheraton Xiamen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Hope you enjoyed our warm services, had a nice holiday, Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was my first stay in the Sheraton Xiamen. We arrived late and had to leave early which led to the fact that what I saw from the hotel was the room and the breakfast buffet.
The room is nice and clean, the breakfast very good and the location of the hotel is convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaKe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Xiamen Sheraton about 10+ times. I just feel complelled to review it again!

Very freindly staff, check in was fast. Lounge staff is great for breakfast and happy hour. Always remember my name.

Always offered a room upgrade, rooms are nice and clean.

Buffet resturant is a little pricey, but the food is good. I raved about the Steak House to my co-worker, as i've eaten there many, many times. This time... the usual chef must have had the night off, it was horrible. Don't go Sunday nights, the second time a Sunday night was bad. Any other night, you'll have the best steak in Xiamen!

The Bar on the 2nd floor is great place to sit for a drink after dinner. The bar on the lobby floor is ok, bar stools are not that comfortable.

Great location if you want to walk around or go shopping. Plenty of Taxis available to go farther. If it's raining or rush hour, the hotel staff will run down the road to get a taxi for you, as people will try and stop them as they pull in hotel. I must say this is above and beyond to go out in the street in the rain to get me a taxi, it is appreciated.

Great Hotel! Great Staff!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JahKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights and was impressed by the service offered by the staff. Everybody spoke english and was very genuine.

I stayed in an executive room on the club floor which was a nice and spacy room with a huge bathroom.

The club offered good food for both the morning and evening. It even includes champagne and cognac between 17.00 and 19.30. They could improve on the seating set-up and can make this a bit more cozy.

The fitness area is excellent with new equipment. Pool and spa is a bit old fashioned and needs an update. They can improve on the english skilss of the spa employees. They couldnt speak english and therefore missed some business as i couldt make myself clear to them.

Overall it was way above average and i had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Have stayed here on buniss for a few times. Staffs are efficient. Room are well kept.

Only setback is when in non smoking room, there is stll a bit of smell of cigarette smoke when the air condition is turn off. Not sure why.

The hotel is nicely located in a central areas close to 2 shooping mall. Many restaurants to choose from. For those who need KFC, McDonald and Pizza Hut while in China, they are just a short distance away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
1.1 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,298 in Xiamen
463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#4 of 1,298 in Xiamen
653 reviews
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
#10 of 1,298 in Xiamen
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Xiamen
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,298 in Xiamen
567 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Xiamen
Marco Polo Xiamen
#5 of 1,298 in Xiamen
681 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#16 of 1,298 in Xiamen
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Xiamen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xiamen Hotel

Address: No.386-1 Jiahe Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361009, China (Formerly Hanggang (Xiamen) Sheraton Hotel)
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen > New Downtown , Siming District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#12 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#21 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Xiamen Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Xiamen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xiamen
Xiamen Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing