We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm happy with that!”
Review of City Hotel Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Hotel Xiamen
Ranked #23 of 1,275 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Reasonable location, approx 10-15 min walk to the Zhongshan pedestrian St and a short bus ride to the ferry terminal for Gulangyu. There's a bus stop only meters from the hotel so it's very convenient, Our room was a bit on the small side but certainly clean and comfortable.
Beds quite firm/hard and no pool.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is plentiful with many choices.
There is also a rail ticketing office nearby (5 min walk) which saves you from having to go to the central station and queue.
We booked the hotel through elong and stayed in a 'superior' room, block 8 and paid RMB578 per night incl breakfast - I'm happy with that!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank albert411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel Xiamen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

For regular visitors of China, the title should bring a knowing smile. Chinese-government run hotels and hostels are not famous for good service - until we found this exceptional hotel on our recent visit, known locally as Xiamen Bin Guan. All the best attributes that one would expect from a world class hotel are featured here, at a fraction of the price:

a) service - the service level was consistently high in all major attributes: responsiveness, anticipation, attention to detail, knowledge, courtesy, respect, warmth

b) hardware - spotlessly clean, nicely (but not lavishly) furnished rooms (Building 8 where we stayed at was renovated last year), good lighting, well laid out room configuration, power shower (no tubs in our deluxe twin room, a small drawback), fast wifi (the hotel will supply wireless router on demand - but the ethernet works real well, and you really don't need to move around the room that much), good bedding (maybe a bit too strong for western backs), multiple channel selections including western channels

c) environment - the hotel sits in its own large, park-like ground, befitting a government owned hostel. While offering a sense of serenity away from the hustle and bustle, the hotel is within a ten minute walk from the pedestrian mall on Zhong Shan Street; however, if you are looking for a water front hotel, this is not the place to come to

d) food and beverage - we only had breakfast here, because Xiamen has very good street food, and we did not stay in the hotel much during the day, but in three days of breakfast, I did not eat the same item more than once (except maybe the stir-fry vegetables); the buffet featured the usual breakfast items, including western and Chinese dishes, and then there were Xiamen specialties. In general, the Chinese dishes are better than the western dishes, but there is sufficient variety to satisfy anybody's taste and will sustain and nourish you well into the day; the coffee is strong and good

e) value - Trip Advisor rates it No. 17 in Xiamen, and I recommend it highly; we paid RMB628 each night including breakfast (this was a five-day advance booking special; without it, the breakfast costs an extra RMB25 each); definitely a great bargain

f) special commendations - I have three commendations. One, the bar on the lounge is a very comfortable place to relax and have a drink; two, the doorman hands you a slip with the taxi licence number written down when you get in or out, in case you lose anything in the taxi, quite a thoughtful touch I must say; finally, this is the kicker - I went down to the hotel's business center/travel desk to book a car/driver for a city tour; after she heard me outline the places I wanted to see, the girl took great patience and explained to me that what I needed to see I could easily do by public transit, and then proceeded to tell me how. I ended up saving RMB600 for the day's car and driver (spending only RMB4 per person on the local transit which was clean and safe!). This is not fairy tale, but a reflection of how genuinely nice the hotel staff is. While the next time I come to Xiamen (highly recommended tour destination, number two on the list this year behind Sanya and ahead of Lijiang), I might opt for a hotel with a waterfront view or better yet stay at the Gulangyu, but then for overall satisfaction, I have not had such an enjoyable experience for a long time regardless of how much I spend, as evident from this long diatribe...

Room Tip: You don't have to pay the extra to stay in a larger room in this case. The difference is negligi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pandarooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very pleasant hotel. Nothing spectacular but certainly very reasonable. Big breakfast with western options. Clean and presentable. One staff speaks excellent English which is a big plus. No it's NOT down a dirty alley (as mentioned in another review). Yes, it's in the alley but safe and absolutely no problem. Bus stop right at the corner and access to the local sites all right there. Good budget choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one month while on a business trip. I can't comment on value for money because I didn't pay the bill! The room was clean and of a good size with plenty of wardrobe and storage space and place to work. The staff were very friendly and two of the waitresses actually gave me a present when I left! The location is good for exploring the city and there are a number of eating establishments close by. The food was OK but after a couple of weeks I was starting to dream of cheese and pickle sandwiches. There are a number of buildings in the complex and I was in building 5. The main building, where the restaurant was, was up quite a steep hill, about 100 metres or so. There were electric transport vehicles to take you up and down the hill but I usually walked.

Room Tip: Internet very slow but that seems normal in China
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gungebucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel is situated in a quiet with lots of greenery area. 15 minutes walk to Zhongshan Pedestrain walking street and 10 minutes ride to seaside for clubbing. The staff is friendly and ever helpful. Room is big, comfortable and cean

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennychong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 若要求住宿品質這是首選,若要求地點,自行衡量
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ufocity1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
厦门厦宾酒店有限公司, 客户关系经理 at City Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#20 of 1,275 in Xiamen
82 reviews
Bestel Hotel
#40 of 1,275 in Xiamen
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#14 of 1,275 in Xiamen
828 reviews
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#16 of 1,275 in Xiamen
221 reviews
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#8 of 1,275 in Xiamen
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Xiamen

Address: No.16 Huyuan Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361003, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen > Zhongshan Road , Bailuzhou Resort , Siming District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,275 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: $79 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 412
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing