We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many people and too little resting area and benches for elderly and needies!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanputuo Temple

Nanputuo Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.81*
and up
Xiamen Private Day Tour of Gulangyu Island, Shuzhuang Garden, Hulishan Battery...
Ranked #3 of 260 things to do in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Too many people and too little resting area and benches for elderly and needies!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

People are throwing trash and the place is littered with plastic bottles and wrapping papers of cookies sold at the temple canteen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wasabe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    258
    79
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Temple to see...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very near the university is this typical Chinese temple, beautifully situated on a lake with lotus blossoms. The temple is visited by many tourists, and outside is a pleasant place to relax with a cold drink and cakes which can be purchased in several stores along the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank canaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful -- check out the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great temple, typical of many of those open to tourists in southern China, but with the added advantage of the trails up the mountain in the back. You definitely don't want to miss the trails and all of the interesting nooks and shrines you will find up the mountain, but you can save yourself some time and energy if you catch the chair lift on the back side of the mountain by the botanical gardens and hike down rather than up.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hemingway155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice vieuw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Entrace is free, I came arround 4 o'clock and they where praying and singing.

Nice view after a little climb, only they should cut the tree's a little bit more uphill so when you're at the highest point you can actually look arround and see the city and port instead of almost only trees.

Down I took an off-route path, which became more narrow and narrow.
After a litle bit of walking I arrived at a big rock, and I had way more view on the city and the port than when I was on the ''official'' route.

A little further I passed a few graves, I guess city people who are barried in the hills, and on the end I where stopped by a gate.
A little further I could pass the gate, and was at the entrance from the botanic garden.


After all I've had a nice trip (also on-route), and would deffinetley reccomend other peoples to go and visit the Nanputuo Temple.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tijdreiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place seems to always be bustling with activity. It is a great place to see Xiamen. You can climb the mountain all the way to the top and it offers great views of the city and Gulangyu island.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jpb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanputuo Temple also viewed

 

Been to Nanputuo Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing