We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jinyan Lakeside Hotel - well located quality hotel”
Review of Jinyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jinyan Hotel
Ranked #28 of 1,273 Hotels in Xiamen
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jinyan Lakeside Hotel - well located quality hotel”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Close enough ca. 20-30mins to get to and from the airport by taxi (taxi below CNY30.- one way). This Xiamen Airline hotel offers complimentary shuttle service too but the times didn't fit in with my flight schedule. Check-In service for departures with Xiamen Airlines available at the Hotel. I arrived early and room wasn't ready, but friendly english speaking counter staff offered me coffee and biscuits in comfortable coffee lounge. Rooms well equipped and comfortable, some Western TV channels. Breakfast was OK with some western food available. Staff and concierge spoke some English, were helpful trying to get taxis and gave good advice on time and prices to pay for each taxi ride. Free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel.

Room Tip: Lakeside view rooms available for additional charge +CNY60 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrysinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    151
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
5
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

China is a study in contrasts, and the Jinyan Hotel fits that description. The service and rooms are outstanding. For western tastes it is excellent, while the restaurant preserves a strong hint of Chinese cuisine, there are enough options to serve your needs.

If you only speak English, it can be a bit challenging, however the staff will find someone to solve your problem. China is full of surprises, so expect that to a small degree and be patient. Everyone was friendly and tried to be helpful. The rooms were outstanding in comfort and cleanliness. Plush towels, and comforters on the bed. Do not expect a western style top sheet, you won't find it. The bed was very firm but comfortable.

Western style toilet facilities (you won't find them in local restaurants and shops).very clean, and very nice overhead rain showers with hand held fixtures to supplement. Nice cotton plush robes and slippers are provided as well.

Laundry is readily available and very nicely done, fully packaged like a new garment when you receive it back. Pay attention to the laundry forms however as there is one for ordinary laundry and a separate sheet for dry cleaning. While the maid who came to pick it up within a couple minutes of my call, she had some difficulty in English. She was extremely pleasant and looked over my failed attempt to use the right form and quickly sorted it out and took care of it for me.

I needed a computer hookup, and didn't realize that an ethernet outlet and cord were in the room. I asked about wireless and in less than 5 minutes had a wireless router brought to my room. One more call solved the problem. Again, very willing and desirous of pleasing you, it just took a bit more communications.

The only negative I found was that I was unable to figure out the air conditioning, and the room was too warm by morning. I'm sure I could have gotten assistance, I just didn't take the time to ask.

All in all, deserving of a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Just spent 7 days here for a conference. Found this hotel to be very good, service above Chinese standards, and one of the better airline-managed hotels, unlike Air China or HNA hotels which can be atrocious; Xiamen Airlines seems to understand hospitality a bit better.

Location is southwest of the city, but really since Xiamen is pretty compact it only takes a few minutes to get anywhere interesting. It was an 8-12 rmb cab ride to the Botanical Gardens, Zhongshan Road, train station, the Ferry terminal (to Gulangyu), etc. The hotel is on the south side of Yundang Hu, a small and peaceful lake. On the north side of the lake are a row of superb seafood restaurants, mostly catering to groups. Parallel to Hubin South Road, where the hotel sits, is Hexiang Xilu, a street with lots of shops, teahouses, etc. There is a Macdonald's, a Trust Mart (=Chinese Walmart), TD Records book and music shop, and lots of small clothing boutiques. A block east of the hotel is a large hospital, and a branch of the popular Shangdao cafe, with a very modern interior and large, comfortable sofas seats. A block west of the hotel is Buynow, an electronics supermart. Airport to hotel is only about 25 minutes using the tunnel and with little traffic.

I had a standard, lakeview corner room, with a good view of the lake in front and Bailuzhou hotel to my left. Bed was fine, slightly firm. Carpeting was showing some age, especially since it was beige you can notice old stains if you're looking for them. My queen-sized bed came with four pillows, which were pretty flimsy. They do have a pillow menu with 8 different choices though. Room was neither big nor small, bathroom same. Shower (no tub) had one of those mobile hand-held heads, and it was a bit tough to position it properly. Bathroom wasn't bright enough for me, with a single halogen above the sink and one above the shower stall. Tough to see when shaving. Room was well stocked with amenities, including slippers, cotton nightgown, shoeshine pad, etc. Bathroom had everything you can use, including disposable razor and hairband.

Food. The Japanese restaurant on the third floor is, though not very cheap, decent. I had the 3-variety sashimi (3 pieces each of 3 different fish--salmon, tuna, and something else), seaweed salad, and fried bacon-potato patties for about 100 rmb. A couple of small snack dishes and tea were complimentary. The cafe on the ground floor is fairly big, and even on busy mornings I didn't wait more than a minute to get a table for breakfast. Food selection is better than average, quality fair. Good mix of western and Asian. They did alternate some dishes on consecutive mornings, but not many. Unfortunately, one of my favorite dishes at breakfast, the freshly-made wonton dumplings, was one of those that was alternated. Juice selection included the usual watery orange juice, and pink guava. My biggest complaint is that the room service menu is very limited. There weren't many other choices outside of a steak, fried rice, or club sandwich.

Lobby. Big and bright. Cafe area in the middle is a good place to relax, but the coffee, e.g. iced mocha for 48rmb, was way overpriced. There is a small convenience store with some good local snacks for souvenirs, in case you didn't get to venture out to buy any. There's a Xiamen Airlines ticketing counter, right next to the long reception desk, with a monitor displaying status of the day's flights.

Service. Check-in was on the slow side but check-out was pretty quick. The mini fridge in my room wasn't working, and when I spotted a worker in the hallway I told her about it. She first tried to fix it herself, but when she couldn't she called maintenance for me. After only a few minutes' wait she accompanied the maintenance guy back to my room. When he couldn't fix it either, he took it away and came back with another one. Doormen also very helpful, answering several questions about some tourist attractions. One went to the street to hail a taxi for me, and although it took a while, I appreciated the effort. Good stuff.

Overall, although I wouldn't go so far as to say this hotel was spectacular, it is definitely solid throughout.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB_in_BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Standard business hotel, small buisness centre with kioks for privacy, although very expensive. Food below par in choice for star rating. If your trip is very short stay on business this might be ok, otherwise find elsewhere

  • Liked — Nice views over river
  • Disliked — Very bland hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 11mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Marco Polo Xiamen
#4 of 1,273 in Xiamen
649 reviews
Railway Station
Seashine Hotel
Seashine Hotel
#40 of 1,273 in Xiamen
72 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#11 of 1,273 in Xiamen
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#6 of 1,273 in Xiamen
312 reviews
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen
#14 of 1,273 in Xiamen
162 reviews
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#16 of 1,273 in Xiamen
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinyan Hotel

Property: Jinyan Hotel
Address: No.99 Hubin South Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361004, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#25 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinyan Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing