We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard chain hotel relatively close to the ferry station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
Ranked #17 of 1,275 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location: The hotel is situated approximately halfway between the Xiamen University and the Yundang Lake with the adjacent "Coffee Street".
It is within about 10 min walk from the ferry station which can take you to the main attraction of Xiamen - Gulangyu Island. However, sadly there is no beach or direct access to the sea in this part of the city.
The University with its beautiful campus and nearby sandy beach, and the Nanputuo Temple can also be reached on foot (about 20-25 min walk).
Unfortunately, there are not so many dining options around the hotel. There is a coffee house "Pacific coffee company" to the left from the hotel. Then there is a Starbucks, a juice bar and a Pizza Hut within 10 min walk. What I personally enjoyed was a dinner on a bar/dining terrace (unsurprisingly named "The Terrace") belonging to the Swiss Hotel which you can reach within 7 min walk from the hotel. They offer quite simple but very well executed food (mostly Western style) and regular bar drinks.
Our room was relatively spacious, very clean and had all the conveniences (tea- and coffee making facilities, a computer desk with a chair, an armchair, a suitcase stander etc.). However, it lacked any cosiness and the window view was disappointing (facing a neighbouring soulless multi-storeyed apartment block). The bathroom was rather small, though clean, featuring a bathtub with a bath curtain. The water pressure was nice, but the sewage cork did not function well.
The hotel buffet breakfast was just fine. Though prevailingly Chinese, it still offerred enough Western options, like fried and boiled eggs, bread, fresh vegetables and salad, fresh fruit, jams, cereals, sausages... The dining options of the hotel included a smart Italian restaraunt (average and a bit overpriced), as well as a Japanese restaurant and a buffet cafe which we did not try. By the way, we really enjoyed the hotel's Hollywood themed bar. It is quite small but nice and cozy. The drinks are reasonably priced. And you get complimentary popcorn with any order.
The hotel service was friendly and helpful.
Overall our stay at the Millenium Xiamen Harbour was satisfying but nothing spectacular. Though officially 5 star, the hotel felt closer to the Western 4 star level. I would recommend it to someone who wants to stay relatively close to most sights of the city. Though the immediate surroundings of the hotel are not so appealing. I personally liked the lake part of the city with its peaceful parks and nice lakeside promenade much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

It is really happy to read through all your words to feel your experience with us, though not everything perfectly well. we still can find our location , standard and will of service are most attractive to our guests. Be firmly seated next to Xiamen's most authentic area, our hotel is filled with feeling of history and relaxation, how do you find another place to be at ease?

Again , we appreciate your time and kindness for writing , we are more than eager to serve you in the future not from afar.

Sincerely yours,

Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 453 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel along Zhen hai road in xiamen. I got an executive club room and it was the greatest! The room is spacious, beds soft and bathroom well stocked and clean. But wait - get the added perks: free drinks such as sodas, beer and orange juice from the minibar! Free buffet breakfast at harbourview cafe with it's sumptuous choice of international food. When you have nothing to do go to the executive lobby at the second floor for free drinks and snacks from 530-7 pm. Free foot spa, free wifi, up to RMB 60 free laundry - great? But that's not all - express checkout which takes less than 3 minutes so you don't have to rush to get to the airport.
But it's not just the room- the staff are friendly and very helpful, going out of their way to help you check out restaurants, set tours, room service, etc in fact better than any hotel i' ve ever been at. They do speak and understand passable English, or at least have a manager or asst manager who does. And LOCATION! Leave via the side exit of the hotel and you will be on Siming south rd. There is a mall right across with a pizza hut and KFC, plus high end stores such as Omega, Prada, Carrefour French grocery, etc. Walk further up and find Walmart, and some boutique stores and malls. A five to ten minute walk from the hotel is the famous Zhong Shan Lu pedestrian shopping street. This is open from 9 am to 10 p.m. Great place especially at night with a lot of food stalls, and a Times Square like atmosphere. Try the PDC department stores (two of them one on the east and one on the west side...) to find most of the stuff you need under one roof. Walk to the left side of Zhong Shan Lu for 10 minutes and you will get to the ferry port where you can take a boat to scenic Gulangyu island.
Food is never a problem. The hotel has an Italian restaurant Portifino, Sakura Japanese restaurant, and excellent international buffet for lunch and dinner, and the famous Leung Yuen Chinese restaurant. Go out the front of the hotel, cross the street and find small Fukien cares serving delicious Xiamen food for 40-50 RMB for five people. Or find Ajisen Japanese restaurant at the basement of the mall next to Walmart. You can't ask for more from a great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frederickleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

'You can't ask for more from a great hotel! ' What an inspiration!

We have gone all the way to make a warm and unforgetable touch for your stay , also for all the visitors to Xiamen . The location , the service and the rich food choice what we are proud of definitely will be more than great in the future.

'You are the centre of our world!' the motto of Millennium Hotels Group , will sincerely motivate all the Millennium people to serve you any where any time !

Thank you and Best Regards,

Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at Millenium before and they keep on improving! This time we stayed at the Club room May 24 - 27. I highly recommend the Executive floors. View is great but the perks make all the difference. Free breakfast for two, complimentary drinks and snacks at the executive lounge. Complimentary sodas in the room. But what makes our stay memorable - the staff. Checking in is a breeze with competent English speaking reception. Rooms are really clean and clean smelling - no heavy perfume smell to mask unpleasant odours. Erin from the executive lounge goes out of her way to make you comfortable. Breakfast by far is world class.

A little comment is that I hope they will be more firm in implementing the no smoking at the hallway. We stayed at Room 1911. The room directly in front of the elevator is one of the suite wherein they cook food inside their room by a personal butler. It may be the presidential suite. Food smell is acceptable but the client smoking in the hallway is not. The smell of smoke seeps into the rooms and the residual smell left is not pleasant.

Room Tip: Executive floors are 18 to 22. Try to get those rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1155, Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

What had made your stay in Xiamen so Great? The Staff , we are so grateful to hear that , Obviously though all the facilities, environment, food arrangement are so important in the travling experiience, the key element of a stay is the people . We are the first international hotel in Xiamen , and recongnized as the best service in town throughout al these years. What you have feed back bring us so many informative and possitive ideas and will definility motivate us to a further level.

Thank you so much for your time and your kindness to wring to us, and we wish you all the best for your life and family.

Best Regards,

Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a de luxe room with sea view in this great hotel in the midst of Xiamen's commercial center. Hotel entrance lobby is impressive, lounge area with water fountain will relax you. Room was clean and sanitized, bathroom with bath tub and complete toiletries up to hotel's standard and with complimentary bedroom slippers and coffee and tea and mineral water. We requested for two twin beds and one double bed size is good enough for 2 Asians. You can also choose from their pillow menus. Breakfast variety is very good, suitable for Asian and European tastes. It also has an Italian and Japanese resto aside from the main restaurant. A Hollywood bar is also open for those who want to drink and listen to music. There is a massage and beauty salon inside the hotel as well as a boutique for souvenirs and a travel agency to book your tours and car rentals. Hotel's location is very convenient as you may pass thru their side door and you're outside the commercial street, walk a little more and you'll reach the night market area and the famous zhongshan lu. Infront of the hotel main entrance are taxis and buses to take you to the ferry wharf to Gulangyu...hotel isnt really far from the wharf and you can actually walk for 15-20 mins when the weather is nice. Most staff speaks English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1155, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. It delights us to know you enjoyed our Hotel's facilities, rooms, style and of course that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very glad to know you enjoyed the Buffet Breakfast at our Harbour Cafe Restaurant. Like you remarked apart from all our restaurants (Western-Chinese, Italian, Japanese and Hong Kong style Chinese restaurants) we also have a bar, Hollywood Bar, for those who want to enjoy and have a nice evening.

As you also wrote, our hotel location is one of our strong points, as it is near to many of Xiamen's attractions (like to the commercial street Zhong shan Lu or to the ferry to visit Gulang yu Island (10-15min walk to ferry station) or to direct busses to Nanputuo Temple or Xiamen University (5-10min Bus ride))

All our staff always tries to give the best service they can to all our guests and language will never be a problem as we can communicate in Chinese or English and also some of our staff can speak Japanese, Corean or Spanish among other languages.

Thank you very much again for the positive feedback.
Hope to see you again back in Xiamen,
Best Regards,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at Millennium Harborview Hotel in Xiamen many times over the years, and I have to say, they keep getting better and better. The hotel is continually upgrading their rooms and improving their guest services, which is important because more and more global brand hotels are opening up all around this city. What I notice about Millennium is that I never feel like a stranger there. Every employee I pass greets me with a warm smile and a "Ni Hao". It really is the best hotel choice in Xiamen.

Room Tip: The higher level rooms are quieter and all rooms have nice views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1155, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate such positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time on writing it.
It makes us proud and glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for appreciating our improvement efforts. We are always looking to improve and become better, and we always offer the best service we can, as we want all our guests feel as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again .
We really hope to see you soon here back in Xiamen.
Yours sincerily,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel before during my visit to Xiamen, stay there for 3 nights and the room is quite cozy. Majority of the furniture are new. The location of the hotel is quite strategic, About 10 minutes walk to the night market. Breakfast they serve is good, ranging from oriental to western.
Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolsterUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1155, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen and for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. It gratifies and makes us proud to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you remarked our location is very convinient, as you can have easy access to the majority of Xiamen's attractions like Zhongshan Lu shopping street or the ferry to Gulangyu Island (10-15min walk to ferry station) as well as direct busses to Nanputuo Temple or Xiamen University (5-10min Bus ride)

Also, it delight us very much to know you enjoyed our Buffet Breakfast at our Harbour Cafe Restaurant. which includes both Western and Chinese dishes.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Xiamen.
Thank you again for the review.
Yours sincerily,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in middle of November, the hotel is located near the most popular walking street in Xiamen which is Zhongshan Lu I enjoyed walking along that street with all different types of stalls selling food and everything else.The hotel is quite new, although not sure what year it was built, the lobby was spacious and nice. The best feature of this hotel is it's tremendous buffet breakfast, it includes every kind of food from Western to Chinese. The staff in the restaurant is courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean, we did not get a room with a harbourview, we did not try out the restaurants in the hotel. The size of our room was quite large and best of all they provide free internet in rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a habourview room when you check in.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classygalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1155, Guest Relations Manager at Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. It delights us to know you enjoyed our Hotel's convinient location, facilities,style and of course that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, we are very glad to know you enjoyed the Buffet Breakfast at our Harbour Cafe Restaurant. As you remarked, internet wifi is provided free and our staff always tries to give the best service to all our guests, as our motto says: "you are the centre of our world."

Thank you again for giving us this feedback,
Hope to see you again back in Xiamen,
Best Regards,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#20 of 1,275 in Xiamen
82 reviews
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,275 in Xiamen
628 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#14 of 1,275 in Xiamen
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,275 in Xiamen
548 reviews
Marco Polo Xiamen
#4 of 1,275 in Xiamen
656 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,275 in Xiamen
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen

Address: No.12-8 Zhen Hai Road, Xiamen 361001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#19 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#20 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: $100 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to Line 1 Metro Terminal Station and in the historic port city of Xiamen, this 22-storey luxury hotel fuses modernity and culture, and offers beautiful sea-views from most rooms. The ferry pier to scenic Gulangyu Island is just a short driving distance, while many other attractions such as Nanputuo Temple, the Botanic Garden, and Hulishan Fortress are minutes away as well. Perfectly set up for business, we have many flexible venues with advanced facilities that can be configured to suit your specific requirements for conferences, seminars, celebrations, or other special occasions. When you're done exploring, you can unwind at our restaurants and bars, reinvigorate yourself at the gym or pool, or perhaps, place your tired feet in the care of an expert reflexologist. Step in and experience Xiamen hospitality at its finest.Book here for our Best Price Guarantee promise. Earn and spend loyalty points on all qualifying stays. The level of points, benefits and privileges are subject to availability and may vary at certain participating hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Harbourview Xiamen
Xiamen Millennium Harbourview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing