We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”
Review of Marco Polo Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marco Polo Xiamen
Ranked #4 of 1,269 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have had wonderful experiences at the Marco Polo Xiamen. I have had absolutely horrid experiences in the Marco Polo Xiamen. Most of the latter have to do with Cafe Marco. I still enjoy the hotel, although the rooms are dated and in dire need of renovation. But the location is great as it is right by the water. The gym and pool are wonderful. Checkin is usually smooth, and I often get upgrades! The smell in the lobby is fantastic and a great welcome. The design of the hotel is nice as you can see down from all the guest floors. Despite the problems I have encountered, staff is always extremely friendly. Every staff you meet in the hotel will greet you as you walk by. I still recommend and hope that I get more of the great experiences in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchanlifat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedbacks and really appreciate it very much !

Despite some challenges that you may had encountered, we are delighted that our team members able to make it up to you and deliver a genuine service from their heart. Of course, from these comments we are also able to fine tune and further enhance our product quality and service standards as well.

Thank you once again and we surely look forward to your next visit again to experience our warm hospitality.

Warmest regards.

SS Tan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    290
    54
    17
    9
See reviews for
47
36
48
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

In my veiw, once the obvious basics are in place, like clean, tidy etc are in palce what really differentiates a hotel is the welcome and feeling that it is an extension to your home. On arrival the welcome was efficient, warm and genuine. Well run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Graham !

It feels so great to hear that you have always enjoyed your stays and wonderful experiences at Marco Polo Xiamen :)

We believe in providing a genuine and friendly service in any way possible and very pleased that our associates have the same philosophy in their heart. All our associates are equally excited with your compliments and also like to extend our sincere appreciation for your time spent in sharing your experience here and via our online survey as well.

Looking forward for your next visit soon and have a great weekend !

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good business hotel with offered free WLAN. But logging-in was not possible. So I used the free LAN connection. In general a bit slow. Rooms are average with a little old furniture. Heating of room not possible. Very good bed and clean bathroom. A little outside the centre but therefore not so much traffic. Not noisy from outside but you hear a lot from your neighbour rooms. Very good breakfast with a wide range of different food. Friendly and helpful staff with good english knowledge. Lots of restaurants of different counties and style in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Roger !

It's great to have you stayed with us recently. Your feedbacks are very much appreciated as we are very customer-oriented and will continue to enhance both our services and products by listening to our guests.

Since we are strategically located within the city but away from the hustle & bustle citylife, you may also consider your future trip here as a breakaway destination.

We sure hope to welcome you back here again in the very near future !

Warmest Regards

SS Tan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in a suite room so keep in mind the rooms are different. My brother stayed in a regular room and the bathroom was smaller.

The size of the bathrooms dates this hotel to the 80's or 90's but it is well maintained. The furniture, floors everything look new are of high quality. The linens are excellent, the bed awesome and firm and the pillows top quality.

My suite was spacious but the bathroom a bit small. I like more counter space by the sink. Worse there was no walk in shower but a bath tub with a really huge step to get out of. I also hate when the towels are stored in the same place as the shower. On the other hand the amenities are first class, Penhaligion's.

The weather was chilly but the heat did not work!! WT??? They could not fix it.

If the bathroom was bigger and had a walk in shower I would have given the rooms 5 stars.

Hard to comment on value since we stayed over the big holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Keith !

Thank you for spending your wonderful time in Xiamen with us recently.

Even though Marco Polo Xiamen is over 17 years, we will continue to enhance our products and services to meet the expectation of all the discerning travelers. However, we would also like to extend our sincere apologies if the heating system had failed in your room. This comment allow us to look into area of improvement needed as we care for our guests.

Thank you once again and we hope you will be making another trip here again soon.

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Check in and lobby is nice and fast. Room had a great view..definitely stay on the club level...great location...not sure if I would stay again..breakfast was very average.
I was going to book two rooms with my points .... But it was recommended that you could have 3 in a room. Rooms were very small.... And a cot was provided. Over all.... Average for the price but still a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernalpanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi !

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you & your family had thoroughly enjoyed the stay here.

Our rooms at the Continental Club Floors are modernly equipped. We also have the "Premier Room" category which is almost 60sqm in size with a large working desk, double seater sofa, separately shower stall and bathtub. With rooms overlooking the city or the scenic lake, guests in the club floors may also enjoy afternoon tea or evening cocktails at the Club Lounge.

If you plan for another visit to Xiamen, we would be most happy to welcome you back here again.

Have a great weekend & best regards.

SS Tan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have been travelling to China for more than than 20 years and have stayed at the Marco Polo many times.
This is a Hotel you can relax and refresh in. The standard of facilities and service are constantly at a very high standard.
The Hotel is great for the business traveler and in a great position in Xiamen.
I would reccomend this top class Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankb623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Frank !

Thank you very much for being our loyal guest and sincerely appreciated your continuous supports.

Not only Marco Polo Xiamen is strategically located, our guests can also experience a unique lifestyle and conducive ambience, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Warm hospitality extended by our friendly team members will make you want to return again and again.

Let us know again on your next schedule and we would be delighted to arrange your requirement accordingly.

Warmest regards.

SS Tan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel again for 10 days in January; as on my numerous previous stays since 2009, the service was excellent. Rooms and bathroom kept spotless by housekeeping, wifi now seems much better than previous and able to connect to VPN with no speed issues. Lounge is an excellent place to grab a late nightcap, teas, coffee and as good a cakes as you will find in China (patisserie is not a Chinese strongpoint). We have also booked European/US visitors to our factory in this hotel and have only ever had good feedback from them too. The hotel is in a much more convenient location than the Sheraton or Meridien, close to western restaurants and if you need cash, the hotel is close to banks including HSBC which enable you to draw cash on a debit card at a better rate than changing cash in the hotel. It's also easy to walk into the park, by the lake if you have time to spare.Breakfast always offers a good choice with attentive staff. One morning (at the weekend) having slept late and arriving as breakfast buffet was cleared, I was greeted by name by Mary( a breakfast maitre'd) who organised tea and (beyond the call of duty as the breakfast chef had finished) personally cooked me the omlette she knew I ate in a morning. My thanks to her and all the team in the hotel. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradfordboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi !

It is our greatest honour to have you here always and very delighted that you have seen progressive improvement at Marco Polo Xiamen continuously.

I trust you are now very familiar with the beautiful city of Xiamen, especially within our Marco Polo surroundings but we sure hope you managed to explore other attractions adjacent to Xiamen as well.

After informing Mary about your appreciation, she was extremely excited and sincerely thank you for your wonderful compliments.

Thank you once again from all of us here and we sure look forward in seeing you back here again !

Have a great weekend !

SS Tan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,269 in Xiamen
615 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,269 in Xiamen
417 reviews
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,269 in Xiamen
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#11 of 1,269 in Xiamen
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Xiamen

Property: Marco Polo Xiamen
Address: No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#9 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Xiamen uniquely blends the grace of ancient China with today's modernity. It is the best address for a business traveller- a home away from home with legendary hospitality and personalised service. With its 300 exquisitely designed rooms and suites, Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys the scenic lake view with the convenience of a city location- 15 minutes drive by car from the international airport. The hotel provides complimentary bus service to and from the airport and also limousine service. The rooms at Marco Polo Xiamen are designed for comfort and privacy for the discerning business travellers. The business and leisure facilities offered in Marco Polo are unparalleled in Xiamen - the Continental Club Floor offers a fully-equipped private Club Lounge with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marco Polo Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Marco Polo Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing