We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque, quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marco Polo Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marco Polo Xiamen
Ranked #6 of 1,257 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picturesque, quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Marco Polo Hotel in Xiamen, mainly on the Club floors. The staff have always been very friendly and check in, both in the lobby and the club floor has generally been processed in a very timely manner. As a frequent guest, I often request specific rooms, and on most occasions they do their best to accommodate my request. The rooms are of a good size and the club room is tastefully decorated. Although breakfast on the club floor lounge is limited in comparison to the restaurant, there is still a nice variety of food on offer. The "cocktail hour" food is also delicious and changes most days. I was pleased that they offered Australian wine as well as a variety of beers.

The location of the Marco Polo is the biggest bonus - it is quiet as it is away from the main road, but a one minute walk to many restaurants along "Coffee Street". In addition, it is located opposite the lake and park which makes for a pleasant outlook from the usual high rises you find in cities. It is an easy walk from the hotel to the CBD (if you like walking) or a cheap taxi ride.

One criticism was that when I was there during the Christmas/New Year period, the Christmas carols played in the lounge were still playing on the 4th January. They should stop on the 1st January.

I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi Kal !

We were delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with us at Marco Polo Xiamen. Our Continental Club Lounge is indeed very conducive and offers various facilities and services to all the discerning travelers. Apart from the adjacent Coffee Street, there is also a "Bar Street" at the back of the hotel with nightlfe activities and entertainment.

Your observation throughout our property is highly appreciated and we have noted on the song played after 1st January. The song was actually a medley with some combination of Christmas music leading to the new year of 2013.

Thank you once again and we sure look forward for your continuous supports and your return back here soon.

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    281
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
44
35
46
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiehl, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location close to a lake and with an easy access to some nice bars/restaurants along the lake shore is nice. Service is really depending on the day (and obviously the persons who are serving you) but in general it is very acceptable. Breakfast is good - also for Westerners (which is normally to biggest hurdle in Mainland China for all the food of a day ;o)). Rooms are large and equipment (desk, cupboards, bathroom) sufficiently well. Has a quite good price-performance-ratio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Detlef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi !

Thank you very much for being with us early this year.

Marco Polo Xiamen has the advantage of being in the most strategic spot, within the commercial centre and easy access to government offices, but still enjoying a quiet surroundings with a magnificent view overlooking the lake.

Continuous training and improvement on service level will never stop as it is intangible and an important asset that we at Marco Polo Xiamen valued most.

With guests from many different countries, we constantly try to suit the preference of our guests, both in rooms set up, as well as food arrangement.

Our sincere appreciation of all your comments and hope to have you back with us again soon.

Thank you & best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel periodically over the years but won't choose this hotel on my next visit to Xiamen. The hotel property in general is nice; it was somewhat renovated a couple of years ago. The Club floor lounge and amenities are good and the staff there is great. I like the pretty quiet location near the river, many coffee shops and a couple of Italian restaurants. After that, this hotel falls off the chart for me. Wireless internet is terribly intermittent. A/C is lacking (atrium design doesn't help); tolerable in spring but would not be during the warmer months. Gym was not upgraded and doesn't open until 6am. Communication in English with most employees is challenging at best. If you speak Chinese, don't need the internet and don't care about A/C, then this hotel is "very good". Otherwise... consider the Sheraton or Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Club Floor for the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipsterCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi !

It is our honor to have you as our guest for many years and sincerely appreciated your comments shared.

We are glad to have a wonderful team that always ready to offer their assistance to our guests despite the gym is only opened from 6am onwards. To further strengthen their English proficiency, language classes and activities are constantly conducted.

Being the first hotel to offer free wi-fi service in Xiamen some years back, we had recently completed the upgrading exercise in collaboration with our service provider. Teething issues may still recurring occasionally and we believe it will be resolved soon with good supports from our service provider. Mean time, our technical team had rectified the AC in the your room.

Despite being a city hotel, Marco Polo Xiamen is strategically situated within a very conducive spot, without the hustle and bustle surroundings of any other typical city hotel. It is the unique lifestyle experience that we are offering to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your continuous supports and definitely looking forward to your next visit again.

Best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a club room on a business trip. I highly recommend the club level as the service was fantastic. Everyone went out of their way to make the stay pleasant.

Hotel car from the airport was a bit scary. An old Buick with a kid driving like he stole it. When I arrived, I found I had no reservation, but this was quickly resolved and they gave me the same rate as the colleagues with whom I was travelling.

I asked for the gym hours and they said from 6am. I asked for it to be open from 5. The receptionist quickly got the manager and he agreed to make it happen, and sure enough, each morning the gym was open for me.

Room was well equipped and comfortable. Desk a bit small.

It seems like the thermostats in the rooms are connected to nothing. I asked for my room to be cooler and they figured it out.

Food in the Japanese Teppantaki was excellent.

Overall, I'd strongly recommend this hotel. Any foibles that came up were overwhelmed by the quality of the service. Well done to the management and staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j889814672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hi !

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed our company and services, despite some minor hiccups which we have looked into to further enhance the quality standard of our products.

We are also pleased to share that our rooms at the Continental Club Floor are very exclusive and offer various benefits including breakfast, evening cocktail, usage of meeting room, etc.

We sure hope to see you again in the very near future.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for your feedback and wishing you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year !

Warmest Wishes,

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Was in Xiamen for my son's baseball tournament over the Thanksgiving weekend. Had a room on the Club Floor which was very nice. Staff on Club Floor always very professional. Room was very nice and breakfast on Club Floor very nice. My wife, son and I had a great stay. The Marco Polo is located in a very nice and quiet area of Xiamen. Several good restaurants very close to the hotel.
Have been staying here for 8 years and always have good experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi Pat !

Many thanks for your continuous supports through the years !

We are able to be where we are despite being here for the past 16 years because of fantastic guests like you. We are sure you have seen the changes in Marco Polo Xiamen from good to great.

Definitely looking forward to welcoming back you back here again !

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall the Marco Polo was quite nice with nice comfortable furnishings. My main issue though -

(1) I thought it was expensive given other hotels I have stayed in for the same price
(2) We purchased something from the "official" Louis Vitton shop on the ground level, only to find out later that the product was a fake.

The highlight was definitely the food. The lobby food was good, but the Japanese "Shogun" restaurant was just out of this world....

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi Justin !

We are glad you have thoroughly had a wonderful stay with us and well noted on your comments.

We have notified the Louis Vuitton outlet manager and she is equally anxious to find out further information from you. A request for information has also been forwarded to you for our investigation. The Louis Vuitton and all other luxury brand outlets in Marco Polo Xiamen are all official premises and we do not allow any conterfeit product at all.

We hope to be able to assist you further in clarifying the issue soon.

Thank you & best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Overall this hotel is great, however if you were looking to exchange currency especially with Australian don't do it! !

Australian currency was higher than the US dollars but got less value. $AUD 100 = $RMB 591 and $USD 100 = $RMB 610 but $AUD 100 = $USD 104.

So it was a disadvantage and also inconvenient compared to other 5 stars hotel around the area.

As a 5 stars hotel, really expect you to understand current market and well advise! !

Would stay here again but wouldn't do any foreign currency transaction though ! !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T33T33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi !

It's nice to hear that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and would be coming back again despite the exchange rate disadvantage. Our foreign currency exchange service is registered and governed by the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) in China where the daily exchange rate is updated by the appointed financial institution directly. As such, we are not authorized to do any adjustment of the rate but to abide by the rates given.

We trust this teething issue will not mar your impression of Xiamen and definitely looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Thank you and warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,257 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,257 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,257 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#8 of 1,257 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#11 of 1,257 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Xiamen

Property: Marco Polo Xiamen
Address: No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#14 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Xiamen uniquely blends the grace of ancient China with today's modernity. It is the best address for a business traveller- a home away from home with legendary hospitality and personalised service. With its 300 exquisitely designed rooms and suites, Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys the scenic lake view with the convenience of a city location- 15 minutes drive by car from the international airport. The hotel provides complimentary bus service to and from the airport and also limousine service. The rooms at Marco Polo Xiamen are designed for comfort and privacy for the discerning business travellers. The business and leisure facilities offered in Marco Polo are unparalleled in Xiamen - the Continental Club Floor offers a fully-equipped private Club Lounge with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Marco Polo Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing