We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Marco Polo Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marco Polo Xiamen
Ranked #4 of 1,275 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location close to a lake and with an easy access to some nice bars/restaurants along the lake shore is nice. Service is really depending on the day (and obviously the persons who are serving you) but in general it is very acceptable. Breakfast is good - also for Westerners (which is normally to biggest hurdle in Mainland China for all the food of a day ;o)). Rooms are large and equipment (desk, cupboards, bathroom) sufficiently well. Has a quite good price-performance-ratio.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Detlef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hi !

Thank you very much for being with us early this year.

Marco Polo Xiamen has the advantage of being in the most strategic spot, within the commercial centre and easy access to government offices, but still enjoying a quiet surroundings with a magnificent view overlooking the lake.

Continuous training and improvement on service level will never stop as it is intangible and an important asset that we at Marco Polo Xiamen valued most.

With guests from many different countries, we constantly try to suit the preference of our guests, both in rooms set up, as well as food arrangement.

Our sincere appreciation of all your comments and hope to have you back with us again soon.

Thank you & best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Marco Polo Xiamen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 657 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel periodically over the years but won't choose this hotel on my next visit to Xiamen. The hotel property in general is nice; it was somewhat renovated a couple of years ago. The Club floor lounge and amenities are good and the staff there is great. I like the pretty quiet location near the river, many coffee shops and a couple of Italian restaurants. After that, this hotel falls off the chart for me. Wireless internet is terribly intermittent. A/C is lacking (atrium design doesn't help); tolerable in spring but would not be during the warmer months. Gym was not upgraded and doesn't open until 6am. Communication in English with most employees is challenging at best. If you speak Chinese, don't need the internet and don't care about A/C, then this hotel is "very good". Otherwise... consider the Sheraton or Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Club Floor for the amenities.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skipsterCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hi !

It is our honor to have you as our guest for many years and sincerely appreciated your comments shared.

We are glad to have a wonderful team that always ready to offer their assistance to our guests despite the gym is only opened from 6am onwards. To further strengthen their English proficiency, language classes and activities are constantly conducted.

Being the first hotel to offer free wi-fi service in Xiamen some years back, we had recently completed the upgrading exercise in collaboration with our service provider. Teething issues may still recurring occasionally and we believe it will be resolved soon with good supports from our service provider. Mean time, our technical team had rectified the AC in the your room.

Despite being a city hotel, Marco Polo Xiamen is strategically situated within a very conducive spot, without the hustle and bustle surroundings of any other typical city hotel. It is the unique lifestyle experience that we are offering to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your continuous supports and definitely looking forward to your next visit again.

Best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a club room on a business trip. I highly recommend the club level as the service was fantastic. Everyone went out of their way to make the stay pleasant.

Hotel car from the airport was a bit scary. An old Buick with a kid driving like he stole it. When I arrived, I found I had no reservation, but this was quickly resolved and they gave me the same rate as the colleagues with whom I was travelling.

I asked for the gym hours and they said from 6am. I asked for it to be open from 5. The receptionist quickly got the manager and he agreed to make it happen, and sure enough, each morning the gym was open for me.

Room was well equipped and comfortable. Desk a bit small.

It seems like the thermostats in the rooms are connected to nothing. I asked for my room to be cooler and they figured it out.

Food in the Japanese Teppantaki was excellent.

Overall, I'd strongly recommend this hotel. Any foibles that came up were overwhelmed by the quality of the service. Well done to the management and staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j889814672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Hi !

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed our company and services, despite some minor hiccups which we have looked into to further enhance the quality standard of our products.

We are also pleased to share that our rooms at the Continental Club Floor are very exclusive and offer various benefits including breakfast, evening cocktail, usage of meeting room, etc.

We sure hope to see you again in the very near future.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for your feedback and wishing you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year !

Warmest Wishes,

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Was in Xiamen for my son's baseball tournament over the Thanksgiving weekend. Had a room on the Club Floor which was very nice. Staff on Club Floor always very professional. Room was very nice and breakfast on Club Floor very nice. My wife, son and I had a great stay. The Marco Polo is located in a very nice and quiet area of Xiamen. Several good restaurants very close to the hotel.
Have been staying here for 8 years and always have good experience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Hi Pat !

Many thanks for your continuous supports through the years !

We are able to be where we are despite being here for the past 16 years because of fantastic guests like you. We are sure you have seen the changes in Marco Polo Xiamen from good to great.

Definitely looking forward to welcoming back you back here again !

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall the Marco Polo was quite nice with nice comfortable furnishings. My main issue though -

(1) I thought it was expensive given other hotels I have stayed in for the same price
(2) We purchased something from the "official" Louis Vitton shop on the ground level, only to find out later that the product was a fake.

The highlight was definitely the food. The lobby food was good, but the Japanese "Shogun" restaurant was just out of this world....

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Hi Justin !

We are glad you have thoroughly had a wonderful stay with us and well noted on your comments.

We have notified the Louis Vuitton outlet manager and she is equally anxious to find out further information from you. A request for information has also been forwarded to you for our investigation. The Louis Vuitton and all other luxury brand outlets in Marco Polo Xiamen are all official premises and we do not allow any conterfeit product at all.

We hope to be able to assist you further in clarifying the issue soon.

Thank you & best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Overall this hotel is great, however if you were looking to exchange currency especially with Australian don't do it! !

Australian currency was higher than the US dollars but got less value. $AUD 100 = $RMB 591 and $USD 100 = $RMB 610 but $AUD 100 = $USD 104.

So it was a disadvantage and also inconvenient compared to other 5 stars hotel around the area.

As a 5 stars hotel, really expect you to understand current market and well advise! !

Would stay here again but wouldn't do any foreign currency transaction though ! !

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T33T33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Hi !

It's nice to hear that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and would be coming back again despite the exchange rate disadvantage. Our foreign currency exchange service is registered and governed by the State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) in China where the daily exchange rate is updated by the appointed financial institution directly. As such, we are not authorized to do any adjustment of the rate but to abide by the rates given.

We trust this teething issue will not mar your impression of Xiamen and definitely looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Thank you and warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

6th times stays in Marco Polo Xiamen, felt excellent like back home again. Due to tight trip schedule this time, I just used hotel room for one over night sleep in Xiamen. When I was back hotel room from a very late meeting with customer, so surprise that receiving a compliment message on paper from front-desk staff who I know-well since they could not say hello to me during day time. I felt to be treated as a member of family in Xiamen. That night, I had an excellent sleep by putting the message under my pillow. I am looking forward back Marco Polo Xiamen in my next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Hi JT !

It was definitely a great pleasure of having you back with us again and again :)

The little note is just a small gesture of our colleague and very glad you are delighted with it. Looking forward to welcoming you back here again and enjoy the warm hospitality of Marco Polo Xiamen !

Thank you very much and warmest regards.

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,275 in Xiamen
628 reviews
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,275 in Xiamen
548 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,275 in Xiamen
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Downtown
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
#13 of 1,275 in Xiamen
694 reviews
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#9 of 1,275 in Xiamen
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Xiamen

Address: No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Business Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: $101 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Xiamen uniquely blends the grace of ancient China with today's modernity. It is the best address for a business traveller- a home away from home with legendary hospitality and personalised service. With its 300 exquisitely designed rooms and suites, Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys the scenic lake view with the convenience of a city location- 15 minutes drive by car from the international airport. The hotel provides complimentary bus service to and from the airport and also limousine service. The rooms at Marco Polo Xiamen are designed for comfort and privacy for the discerning business travellers. The business and leisure facilities offered in Marco Polo are unparalleled in Xiamen - the Continental Club Floor offers a fully-equipped private Club Lounge with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Marco Polo Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing