We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sleeping with hotel's compliemnt message” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Xiamen

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marco Polo Xiamen
Ranked #5 of 1,251 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
1 review
“Excellent sleeping with hotel's compliemnt message”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

6th times stays in Marco Polo Xiamen, felt excellent like back home again. Due to tight trip schedule this time, I just used hotel room for one over night sleep in Xiamen. When I was back hotel room from a very late meeting with customer, so surprise that receiving a compliment message on paper from front-desk staff who I know-well since they could not say hello to me during day time. I felt to be treated as a member of family in Xiamen. That night, I had an excellent sleep by putting the message under my pillow. I am looking forward back Marco Polo Xiamen in my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi JT !

It was definitely a great pleasure of having you back with us again and again :)

The little note is just a small gesture of our colleague and very glad you are delighted with it. Looking forward to welcoming you back here again and enjoy the warm hospitality of Marco Polo Xiamen !

Thank you very much and warmest regards.

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    279
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
43
35
46
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
161 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been staying at the Marco Polo in Xiamen for many years and always enjoy this hotel. It is consistently clean and well run, with nice rooms and good service. Not fancy, but a good value. Internet has always worked well for me. Location next to the lake provides a great place to go for a long run in the mornings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi Kent !

Many thanks and our gratitudes to you for your continuous supports towards Marco Polo Xiamen. We are excited you had another great experience with us and are most happy to welcome you back here again soon.

We will continue to uphold our service standards to delight you and all our other guests, as well as to provide a unique lifestyle for our guests in Marco Polo Xiamen.

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hotel for all my visits to Xiamen in the span of four years. The room was spacious. So was the bahroom. The design is simple, modern and clean. They served variety of breakfast selection. Im a muslim which mean i have to be selective in my food intake. The chef and staff were very helpful in explaining the food ingredients to me.

Last time i was there, the wifi connection was not very good. I had to plug the LAN cable at the desk to use the internet. I hope they have improve this.

The hotel is situated next to a very serene lake which you can take a stroll in the evening and at night. There are a lot of cafes along the lake that serve coffee and pastries. There is also one seafood restaurant nearby with reasonable price. But if you are looking for more variety of local foods i think you have to take a taxi downtown.

Just something to keep in mind, apart from the staff at front desk, other staff might not be able to communicate in english very well. In my case, i tried to ask the room service to send an iron to my room but they could not understand my request. It is best to ask for any special request when you are at the front desk.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RaimiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Raimi !

Many thanks for your continuous supports for the past years ! We are very happy to always have you here with us and would like to share some exciting news with you.

After working closely with our ISP, our Wi-Fi system was finally upgraded recently to provide a more extensive coverage and connection stability. We are now also providing a steam iron and iron board in all our guest rooms after listening to the needs of our guests. On-going English classes have also been organized to further enhance the English proficiency among our team members.

Understanding the various culture and belief of our guests, we will always do our very best to accommodate their needs where their daily diet is concerned.

Hopefully you will be more delighted on your next visit here with us !

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed it. So back in Xiamen again, I choose to stay here again.
We were not disappointed. This hotel actually has some atmosphere, iit even exudes a kind of effortless style missing from most swankey yet characterless Chinese hotels.
Xiamen is a lovely city which helps and the hotel lounge its actually a great place to chill.
Lovely big bedroom
Massive and comfortable bed
With an actual working thermostat
Really very good breakfast
We had a great meal in the Shogan hotel restaurant
All in all a good place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDidThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi !

We are equally excited to hear of your enjoyment while being with us again. Your encouragement has given us further boost to keep the excitement to delight our guests all the time.

Hopefully you may visit us again very soon.... to experience the lifestyle of elegance, only at Marco Polo Xiamen !

Warmest regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Modern and spacious room, stylish furniture and very comfortable bed. The bathroom does not match the room (it is high time to make some renowation). Great breakfast, wilde range of different styles of foods. Located near nice restaurants (Chiese, Taiwanese, Japanese). If you cross the street, you will find yourself in a very nice park (perfect place to take a moring or an evening walk). If you use the rear door, you will enter the Starbucks Coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank appl459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi !

We are equally delighted to hear of your wonderful experience in Marco Polo Xiamen. The strategic location has also been the focus point among the locals as it creates a lifestyle with great elegance.

We are definitely looking forward to seeing you back here soon.

Warmest regards.

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed at the MP Xiamen for over 10 years. The recent renovation is fantastic and only made a great experience better.

The restaurants inside and located nearby offer the best variety in the city.

When in Xiamen i recommend that everyone stay at the Marco Polo

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Mark !

Warm Greetings !

It has been great to have you making us as your "second home" and being one of our family members !

We are delighted that being one of our long-supporting guests, you have seen the changes and transformation of our property and her facilities to provide more comfort to all our guests. Not only Marco Polo Xiamen is strategically and conveniently located within easy access to so many important points and attractions, she is also sits quietly amidst a beautiful landscape overlooking the magnificent YunDang Lake, away from the hustle and bustle city life.

Thank you once again for your supports and we are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staying in Marco Polo Hotel, Xiamen always is a pleasure. The staff are attentive and proactive from check-in to check-out. I have so far not been disappointed everytime I stay at this hotel. The hotel is recently upgraded so you have the "luxury" feeling. Now they need to work on "upgrading" their breakfast selection and presentation, which although not bad, could benefit from offering a wider selection.

Room Tip: Just simply ask the staff at check-in if you have not pre-booked. They will usually try to accomodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SemTan, Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi John !

Warm Greetings !

Many thanks for your continuous supports towards Marco Polo Xiamen all these years. It has been great to be able to extend our warm hospitality to you and greatly appreciate your suggestions and compliments which we have shared among our team members.

We shall continue to enhance both our products and services to ensure all our guests have a great time with us in Xiamen !

Have a great week ahead !

Best regards

SS Tan
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#3 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Siming District
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Swiss Grand Xiamen
#11 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Xiamen
#6 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#7 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Langham Place Xiamen
#4 of 1,251 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Xiamen

Property: Marco Polo Xiamen
Address: No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#18 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Xiamen uniquely blends the grace of ancient China with today's modernity. It is the best address for a business traveller- a home away from home with legendary hospitality and personalised service. With its 300 exquisitely designed rooms and suites, Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys the scenic lake view with the convenience of a city location- 15 minutes drive by car from the international airport. The hotel provides complimentary bus service to and from the airport and also limousine service. The rooms at Marco Polo Xiamen are designed for comfort and privacy for the discerning business travellers. The business and leisure facilities offered in Marco Polo are unparalleled in Xiamen - the Continental Club Floor offers a fully-equipped private Club Lounge with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Marco Polo Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Marco Polo Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing