We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Xiamen”
Review of Marco Polo Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marco Polo Xiamen
Ranked #6 of 1,311 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I've been staying at the MarcoPolo Xiamen for many years.
I ususally use this hotel for the weekend day off when on business.
Their transition to the new GHA management has only improved their status.
Great people. Well managed.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 999Mike999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 696 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

I reviewed this hotel before while it was in the throes of being upgraded / refurbished.
I returned this month and the work is complete. The results are impressive.
The lobby has been completely renovated and it looks a whole lot better, but as one other eviewer said it does look like some designer label shopping mall.
The guest rooms have been refurbished and look a lot better.
The executive club floor lounge has also had a makeover in furnishing, sadly the staff havent been "made over " in the same way.
Service is patchy at best, breakfast can be very hit and miss. The buffet is fine and well stocked, but if you arrive later replenishment of items can be a bit hit and miss. If you are in a hurry for goodness sake dont order from the "cooked to order menu", it takes forever for the simplest item.
Also be very sure waht you are ordering as the waitresses dont really grasp English too well, and whatever you order they counter with "Cheese Omlette??" So if you dont want a cheese omlette a lot of pointing and gesturing is needed.
The fitness centre is good and ironically the staff there are attentive and work hard.
The Cafe Marco has also improved beyond recognition in terms of food choice and quality and staff service.
Overall though a big improvement

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJB774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloXiamen, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Marco Polo Xiamen!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Marco Polo Xiamen on Trip Advisor. It was such a positive and complementary review and your comments and ratings go a long way in promoting our hotel. I am thrilled that the newly renovated products meet your expectation and have created such an enjoyable experience for you whilst staying with us!

Your comments on the executive club lounge associates English language proficiency are well noted, and we will have our training department to conduct more effective language classes accordingly.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Marco Polo Xiamen.

Best Regards

Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The Marco Polo is an excellent hotel. The atrium lobby does now resemble a luxury shopping mall, but the check in staff were excellent. and the room was comfortable. The property is well designed with a high quality of furniture and fittings - from rain showers in the white marble bathrooms to the plumpest and most comfortable pillows. I had an 8th floor club room, which offered an exquisite breakfast with cappuccino included, in chic surroundings. Hot items were on order basis which is always nice.

Hotel WiFi was fast and most importantly free, and the soft drinks in the mini bar were also free. Finally, a hotel that "gets it". The staff were friendly, but not intrusive. There is an outdoor pool, and a small gym with some machines and some free weights on the third floor. The rooms are quiet and the whole ambience is up market and calming. All in all it was a great stay in a lovely city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now and have no worries in recommending it for business or pleasure. Twice I have been here for 10 nights and always found the staff and service to be of high standard. Rooms on the Continental Club floor are better and some feature a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom. Free wi-fi for residents (why do European hotels charge so much for this service?), an outdoor pool on the terrace, a bar area with a pool table and a pleasant lounge bar for drinks and snacks.

Three restaurants within the hotel, Marco Polo Cafe offers excellant breakfast choice and is available for dinner, also a Japanese and Chinese theme restaurants available.

Luxury shopping arcade in the hotel with Global brands, but it's more expensive than either Hong Kong or London prices now.

Hotel is well located, you can walk along the water and cross the bridges into a large park and on into a part of the city. Just be warned though Xiamen is a spread out city and finding the actual centre is not easy. Within 800 m of the hotel is a wide range of Western restaurants, Pizza, Pasta, coffee shops and House 2 - a good steak house restaurant. Expect to pay UK prices but the food is good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradfordboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I stay here frequently and my overall experience is very good. The rooms have been recently redecorated, the Internet service is good, and the restaurants are excellent. The fitness center is getting a little older, but the hotel pool is still beautiful. I have always found the staff to be helpful. The accomodations are not 5-star, but they are nicely decorated and a good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyfisher603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I stayed here twice since this hotel offers a good value for money. Last time they gave me a free upgrade to the top floor, since all non-smoking rooms were occupied.

The hotel is not too big and has a good breakfast with good coffee. The Japanese restaurant is good and they have fresh food.

The rooms are not too spacious but comfortable and clean.

I like to hotel location for 2 reasons:
1: When you want to Italian food, there are 2 restaurants just opposite of the hotel.
2: only a short ride from the airport (20 minutes)

All in all a good hotel and I would go here again when visiting Xiamen

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloXiamen, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2010

Dear guest,

I am very appreciated to know the good experience you had in our hotel and thank a lot for sharing your feeling with everybody. Beside the Shogun Japanese Restaurant, our Café Marco also provides the various delicacies both in buffet and a la cart. A promotion “French Food Festival” will be launched with a wide of selection presented by French guest chef special invited in January 2011 and of course, Christmas gourmet will not be missed during this enjoyable festival.

Hoping to have your next stay with us in the upcoming days and Merry Christmas !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Marco Polo Xiamen was updated and renovated during this past two years. Rooms are very modern and very well equipped. This is a hotel catered to businessmen. Food at Lotus Restaurant is excellent and Coffee Shop offers great Western and Chinese selections for breakfast. Staff is very help and well trained. Overall an excellent value for a 5 star hotel in one of the cleanest city in China. Highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMW405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloXiamen, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great sharing with us and I am so impressed for your good commends in details. Surely the hotel renovation has been conducted in 2009 and all guests will enjoy our remodeled property and environment with luxury and elegant. The more, international gourmet at our Café Marco and authentic Japanese cuisine are welcomed you for a wide selection. as well as Chinese delicacies at Lotus Court Chinese Restaurant.

Waiting for your next stay at Marco Polo Xiamen and enjoy our more sparking moments. Merry Christmas !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
0.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,311 in Xiamen
663 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#2 of 1,311 in Xiamen
479 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Xiamen
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,311 in Xiamen
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen
#13 of 1,311 in Xiamen
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#11 of 1,311 in Xiamen
326 reviews
6.3 mi away
Langham Place Xiamen
Langham Place Xiamen
#10 of 1,311 in Xiamen
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Xiamen

Address: No.8 Jianye Road, Hubin North, Xiamen 361012, China
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#7 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#10 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: $103 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Xiamen 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Xiamen uniquely blends the grace of ancient China with today's modernity. It is the best address for a business traveller- a home away from home with legendary hospitality and personalised service. With its 300 exquisitely designed rooms and suites, Marco Polo Xiamen enjoys the scenic lake view with the convenience of a city location- 15 minutes drive by car from the international airport. The hotel provides complimentary bus service to and from the airport and also limousine service. The rooms at Marco Polo Xiamen are designed for comfort and privacy for the discerning business travellers. The business and leisure facilities offered in Marco Polo are unparalleled in Xiamen - the Continental Club Floor offers a fully-equipped private Club Lounge with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Marco Polo Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Xiamen Hotel Xiamen
Marco Polo Hotel Xiamen
Xiamen Marco Polo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing