We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate”
Review of The Westin Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Xiamen
Ranked #1 of 1,269 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“First rate”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Really nice place to stay. Lovely room all what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. I do wish they would keep the restaurants open a little longer in the evening though as not everyone wants to have dinner before 9 o'clock and as I do not usually arrive at the hotels until around that time means I eat alone in the room or the lobby bar. On this occassion it was the lobby bar and a very good range of dishes were available. I had the three way salmon: smoked, poached and tartare and it was perfect. Nothing heavy and very well priced too. The room was large and well stocked but I wish you could control the air conditioning to other than pre-set minimum levels, which was 20! That's way too hot for me so please think again and have this lowered further. One other niggle is why do hotels of this standard not offer Wifi free as standard? I's not a big ask and if it's a problem then offer it to SPG card holders then, which I have but either way clients spending this amount should not be asked to pay further. Make staying at the Westin more enjoyable and hassle free and we all like to catch with our friends so free Wifi would be appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky1234529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your comments and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our signature restaurant Seasonal Tastes opens until 10pm in the evening, and also our Latin restaurant Qba is another good choice for a late dinner, wine and some nice music. May I suggest that you can visit this restaurant next time.

Regarding the hotel room temperature, we have also referred your comments to related department. Normally the room temperature is pre-set from 18 to 26 degree celcius, but we will also try our best to create the most comfortable environment for our guests. Should you have any concerns regarding the room temperature next time, please don't hesitate to contact our front desk associate to assist you.

At Westin it is our aim to make sure our guests feel satisfied during the stay. In order to maintain adequte bandwidth and stable internet connection for in-room guests, it is a common hotel practice to charge an internet fee in hotel rooms, but guests will still be able to enjoy free WIFI at hotel public area, including all restaurants and recreation facilities. Nevertheless, your valuable feedbacks are very important for us to improve on our service. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    99
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
32
34
20
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very good hotel. Good rooms and a nice atmosphere in the restaurants. Nice personel who were always there to help you. Only thing that could be better was the speed of the elevators. I needed to wait long for elevator to arrive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maarten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your comments very much for our facilities and services. At Westin, our aim is to take care of our guests and hope that they feel better than when they arrived. I hope you feel refreshed from your stay. At the same time, please kindly accept our apology for the long wait of the elevators during high occupancy period, your patience is very much appreciated and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Should you have any other suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was a family getaway stay after the Chinese New Year and generally succeeded to allow us to relax and unwind in a pleasant location. We have frequented this hotel's restaurant and its evening buffet in particular, so were not new to the high standard and variety of food (fusion). That said, many tour groups use the hotel and it can become unpleasantly congested. Perhaps due to CNY staffing problems but the restaurant was often too full with too few staff at breakfast, so that the food availability and atmosphere deteriorated. Our room was not particularly large for three person occupancy but was very well appointed. Beware an upgrade that only deliver a larger bathroom, whereas the space is need in the living area. It did however, included a happy hour on the 40th floor that included both food and drink and was a useful option to the hotel's few but expensive restaurants. The Westin has a high grade of furnishing and the ambiance was enjoyable throughout. The lobby lacks characteristic "opulent" for its 5 stars but is artistically attractive. The gym and pool are spacious, well fitted and little frequented.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view but the 40th floor lounge also offers great ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Roger,

Thank you very much for choosing The Westin Xiamen. We are glad that you have spent a relax and happy vacation with us. Regarding your comments about our Seasonal Tastes restaurant, we understand that a spacious and well-organized environment is very important to a dining experience, and we try our best to reinforce this during high occupancy period. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by full occupancy during your stay.

Also according to your feedback of the food quality, we have already reflected it to our kitchen team, for them to make sure the food availability should be maintained and buffet counters should be refilled in time. Your comments have been very useful for us to improve on our service during peak hours. May I also remind that, as you mentioned you have Executive Club Lounge access, buffet breakfasts are also served at the Executive Club Lounge every morning from 6:30 to 10:00am. You will be able to enjoy breakfasts with the panoramic view of Xiamen in an exclusive environment.

I understand you are a frequent guest of our hotel, and I hope you will find us doing better and better next time. We appreciate your constant feedbacks to us. Should you have any further suggestion, please do not hesitate to contact us. Wish you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I planned to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary at Xiamen with some warm temperatures and good time. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate and we had rain and cool temperature during most of our stay.

There are always ups and downs in life and the bright spot was our stay at the Westin Xiamen. The facility and the service of the whole team was excellent. We had a beautiful room with an excellent view. With the cool weather, we didn't wander too much and it was a real pleasure enjoying all the different offerings of the hotel. The staff at the Executive Lounge was super friendly and helpful.

We will definitely come back in warmer weather.

J.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKung10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mr. J.,

Happy anniversary to you and your wife! Thanks for choosing The Westin Xiamen to spend your such a special day and we are very glad to receive the praise from you. We will keep developing our service and product, to ensure your next better visit with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great and well trained team ready to help and always trying to make our stay a better one. The Qba restaurant needs to draw a bigger crowd to make it all that it can be in addition to make it that the Qba name stands for in other Westin properties.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovelazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so glad you have had a renewal experience and highly appreciated for your such positive comments. Located on the first floor, Qba turns an ordinary evening into a sultry Latin adventure. You'll find Cuba's vibrant culture on display, from the restaurant's colorful design accents to its spicy, exotic menu. At the mean time, we will totally take your advice and keep developing our service and product of Qba to ensure a better experience for every guest. Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Have stayed in al of the western brand hotels in Xiamen in the past and this one is the newest and the best. The rooms are big and the views are great. The wifi works very well thru out the hotel. The club has good service and a very good array of snacks in the evening. You can buy a cigar and smoke it in the Qba bar.
I will stay in the hotel on next visit to Xiamen

Room Tip: higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianascutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest, We are so glad you have had a renewal experience and highly appreciated for your such positive comments. We will keep developing our service and product, to ensure everyone leave feeling better than when he/she arrived. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, but you need to do something about the cleaning of the rooms. At a 5 star hotel we expect it to be at a higher stander. We didnt enjoy our meal in the resturant when the staff started hoovering whild we where eating

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norway71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest, first of all, thank you very much for choosing The Westin Xiamen and we really appreciate your feedback to your recently stay. It was with great regret that your experience with us was not perfect. We already reflected the problems you mentioned (about the room cleaning and the meal service) to our related department and they will take action immediately to make our service better. We hope you will have a perfect experience with us during your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,269 in Xiamen
523 reviews
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,269 in Xiamen
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Polo Xiamen
#4 of 1,269 in Xiamen
633 reviews
Langham Place Xiamen
#9 of 1,269 in Xiamen
200 reviews
New Downtown
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
#8 of 1,269 in Xiamen
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Xiamen

Property: The Westin Xiamen
Address: No.398 Xianyue Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361012, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,269 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Xiamen is strategically located in the central business district, offering spectacular views of the scenic Yundang Lake, the lush Xianyue Mountains as well as the bustling and vibrant cityscape of Xiamen. As part of a lifestyle development within a unique open spaced city complex, the hotel's excellent location ensures that renewal is only a casual walk within the cinema, art centre, museum, exhibition halls, retail shopping and multiple purpose sport centers nearby. The hotel is just 15 minutes by car to the Gaoqi International Airport, and the city's business areas as well as local attractions, such as the Xiamen International Convention Centre, or the famous cafe street, Haiwan Park, Gulangyu are all easily accessible within 15 minutes from the hotel.At Westin, guests are eligible to join Make a Green Choice for conserving environment. For each night you deline housekeeping get SPG Starpoints awarded at checkout.The hotel also takes care of the guests with other services like Concierge, Business Center, and Gift Shop. Careful attention is paid to the most important elements of their stay to make sure the guests feel better than when they arrived.The Westin Xiamen is invested by Xiamen Iport Group and Xiamen Fliport Hotel Group, and managed by Westin Hotels & Resorts, part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing