We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to stay”
Review of The Westin Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Xiamen
Ranked #1 of 1,274 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

My friend has booked a nice hotel for me during my visit. The hotel was great, my room was comfortable. Over the 4 days staying in Westin, I did enjoyed the gym facilities. Unfortunately, I didn't have time to enjoy other facilities and tasty food from Qbar.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyokoax L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so glad you have had a renewal experience and highly appreciated for your such positive comments. We will keep developing our service and product, and we sincerely hope next time you come to Xiamen, you will get a chance to explore other facilities of the Westin Xiamen. I'm sure you will enjoy them. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Xiamen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 431 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights.

Touching moments was a birthday cake waiting quietly in my room! Housekeeping staffs are very attentive, replenished bottles of water even when housekeeping was declined ( Green card is put up)

Thank you amiable staffs!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idoh294226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
It's our honor to have you celebrate your birthday in our hotel! Westin is all about personal and instinctive services, which require anticipation of guest's needs in advance. Although you don't request room cleaning (thank you for your contribution to environment saving), we know with such a long term stay, you must need certain room amenities refilled, such as bottles of water. Thank you for your small demostration. We hope next time when you come to Xiamen, the Westin Xiamen will still be your first choice. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on a short vacation. The room was upgraded, and it is quite big, with the led television at the center that can be rotated for bed or sofa view. Floor to ceiling window with electric motored curtain. Big bathroom with separate rain shower room with nice bathtub and a walk in closet. Room is very modern designs. Even the shape of the hotel is uniquely modern. The check in and out was fast and staff were very helpful. The hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes from airport and the ferry. Beside the hotel is the a big entertainment complex with restaurants, plenty of stores and a big big supermarket and a big appliance store. Although they warn of construction noise, but I hardly heard it. All in all, this hotel is highly recommended and will surely return.

Room Tip: HIgher fllor room has the view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write such a detailed comment. I'm so glad that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and had covered most unique attributes of our hotel. I would like to invite you to try our three distinguished restaurants during your next visit, and I'm sure you will love them all. Thank you again for your recommendation, and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The room layout and furnishings were done very tastefully. Loved it the moment I stepped into the room - very relaxing feel. Bed was heavenly as claimed. Bathroom was huge with nice rainfall and handheld showers and there was a cloak room too. Breakfast has a very wide selection of western and intercontinental. Check in and check out was a breeze. The only strange thing is that the workdesk is placed right in front of the TV so when you sit at the desk, you are real close to the TV screen - never seen this arrangement anywhere else. The window looked out at a huge construction site - but I only stayed the night for business, so it doesn't bother me. Overall, this Westin is awesome and exceeded my expectations. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anggi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so glad you have had a renewal experience and highly appreciated for your such positive comments. As for the work desk, strange as it may seem, I ensure you that this arrangement will not compromise any functionality. But we will see what we can do to make the room layout more rational. We will keep developing our service and product, to ensure everyone leave feeling better than when he/she arrived. We sincerely hope when you plan your next trip to Xiamen, The Westin Xiamen would still be your first choice, looking forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were there for business and we booked two rooms.
The first checked in is smooth but the second room checked in took a long time.
However they upgrade the second room due to waiting for checked in over half an hour.
The facility was nice and clean and welcome fruit was nicely cut and put into a little box which is neat.
The breakfast is very good with different kind of variety but the India thin pan cake is kind of too old and dried.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malihousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Xiamen. Sorry to have you waiting too long for check-in, and I hope you enjoy the upgraded room. We will keep developing our service and product, to ensure everyone leave feeling better than when he/she arrived. I sincerely hope when you plan your next trip to Xiamen, The Westin Xiamen would still be your first choice, looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My stay was excellent room was first class ,Qba bar was the best especially the waiter seven was so friendly and hospitality. Food in Qba was so good. I like there. They make good mojito as well.
Will definetly come again to meet my new friend there.


Tony

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Tony,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this comment. I'm so glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and made new friend here. Located on the first floor, Qba turns an ordinary evening into a sultry Latin adventure. You'll find Cuba's vibrant culture on display, from the restaurant's colorful design accents to its spicy, exotic menu. In winter, Qba is serving fire port, which gives Chinese hot pot a Spanish flavor. I hope you can try this new product next time, and I also want to recommend the Zen5es (creative Chinese food), and the Seasonal Tastes (international buffet) on the second floor. Thank you again for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the Westin Xiamen recently on an overnight stopover for business. As others here have said, the hotel was great, with a good and relaxing ambience, and very comfortable rooms.

However, despite acknowledging my request for a non-smoking room and promising one, the room that I was assigned ultimately was not a non-smoking room. What gave it away? Well, other than the smell, there were two ash trays in the room and no "non-smoking" room signs.

Due to a very tight schedule after checking-in, I decided to ignore the slight smell and rushed off to the next meeting. So, be sure to reiterate again when checking-in if a non-smoking room was needed. And by the way, the Qba has nice live music although it was relatively empty on a Tuesday night and they were out of the Yamazaki whiskey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_James06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin X, General Manager at The Westin Xiamen, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Xiamen. Due to the high occupancy during that time, we are out of non-smoking rooms. Really sorry that we had to arrange a smoking room for you. But our housekeeping team already did a smoke-free treatment before you arrived, to purify the air. However, we really do want to satisfy every guest's needs. Next time, feel free to call service express if you are not happy with your room, we will try our best to settle your requirement. Again, thank you for taking your time to write this comment. We hope next time you come to Xiamen, the Westin Xiamen will still be your first choice. Hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Le Meridien Xiamen
#3 of 1,274 in Xiamen
547 reviews
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,274 in Xiamen
626 reviews
New Downtown
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
#13 of 1,274 in Xiamen
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Polo Xiamen
#4 of 1,274 in Xiamen
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Xiamen

Address: No.398 Xianyue Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361012, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,274 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: $152 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Xiamen is strategically located in the central business district, offering spectacular views of the scenic Yundang Lake, the lush Xianyue Mountains as well as the bustling and vibrant cityscape of Xiamen. As part of a lifestyle development within a unique open spaced city complex, the hotel's excellent location ensures that renewal is only a casual walk within the cinema, art centre, museum, exhibition halls, retail shopping and multiple purpose sport centers nearby. The hotel is just 15 minutes by car to the Gaoqi International Airport, and the city's business areas as well as local attractions, such as the Xiamen International Convention Centre, or the famous cafe street, Haiwan Park, Gulangyu are all easily accessible within 15 minutes from the hotel.At Westin, guests are eligible to join Make a Green Choice for conserving environment. For each night you deline housekeeping get SPG Starpoints awarded at checkout.The hotel also takes care of the guests with other services like Concierge, Business Center, and Gift Shop. Careful attention is paid to the most important elements of their stay to make sure the guests feel better than when they arrived.The Westin Xiamen is invested by Xiamen Iport Group and Xiamen Fliport Hotel Group, and managed by Westin Hotels & Resorts, part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing