We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty garden”
Review of Yuyuan Garden

Yuyuan Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$364.00*
and up
2-Night Shanghai and Hangzhou Private Tour
Ranked #21 of 260 things to do in Xiamen
Attraction details
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“pretty garden”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

it was so pretty and amazed me thinking someone has a very large beautiful garden back in the past.. some parts of the garden was forbidden but the rest area is still very large.. many elderly couple sit down and drink some hot tea inside (don't know it is allowed or not)..
there are many ponds and many meihwa flowers.. but I visited in January so it's still winter and the meihwa hasn't bloomed yet..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MLidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“A Bit Underwhelming”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Visited in Oct 2013 and thought it would be more colorful. There were lots of koi ponds & fish. It was a nice stroll & a break from the surrounding crowds on a pleasent day. But would not recommend on a hot day in the summer, as there is not much to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ctm7944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Picturesque, nice lake with Koi, pagoda, bridge, stunning gardens, some rock formations, we spent several hours walking around the buildings, small lakes, pagodas and gardens. It was amazing to see how the rich used to live. We visited in August, not many queues, not as crowded as we thought.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank book_yourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful view into the Ming and Qing dynasties, as well as the pavilions, rockeries and bridges. There was a nice restaurant also at this place. I loved it and would recommend to include this place in your tour or visit to China.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Day & Night at Yuyuan, as well as tea tasting experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Apart from visiting the glamorous gardens inside Yuyuan, tea tasting experience is also a very attractive thing to do here.

There're many tea tasting shops in Yuyuan, as long as you find one looks decent and you feel comfortable to sit in (most importantly agree with the price before you sit down), here you go!

We bumped into this tea shop names "Pear Garden". We paid RMB 160 for two persons of 8 kinds of different teas for tasting, also with two big plates of foods. Afterwards, we bought few boxes of tea from the shop. Each box costs like RMB 100. I feel good with this shop cuz the staffs didn't force you to buy anything... which is very relaxing!

There're many souvenir shops in Yuyuan garden. Most likely, you have to bargain for the price.

There're lots of things going on and happening in Yuyuan, one day is not enough if you wanna go through details. Luckily we stayed at nearly hotel - SSAW hotel, which is within walking distance to Yuyuan ^_^

Since we had been to Shanghai two years ago and we had already been into the gardens, so this time we aimed to do shopping and tea tasting around the area. But of cuz, for your first time visit, def. have to check out its awesome gardens

Cheers

D

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DominiqueUltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuyuan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Yuyuan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing