We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Xiamen
Ranked #3 of 1,258 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

beautiful place, beautiful rooms, especially the bathrooms lol... good food but way too expensive for China, good service overall (can improve on that part)... take rooms in the higher levels with the views... they're worth it...

Room Tip: higher rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonasourael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Digital Marketing Team at Le Meridien Xiamen, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us in Le Meridien Xiamen. It is very nice that we heard from your satisfaction to our rooms,food and service.

Your kindly suggestion was marked ,we are very thankful about it and will try our best to improve every single way which can make our hotel absolutely perfect.

Please rest assured that we will keep working hard for you and look forward we hope to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    204
    42
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
28
20
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Do try this hotel if you are fed up with hotels in the city. This place offers a nice "resort" feel and is on a small hill 15-20 minutes away from the city. Service is of a high standard, the gym was smaller than I expected considering the size and the spaciousness of the hotel. Rooms come with a balcony that overlooks a central area with a man made waterfall/fountain.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be less affected by noises created from the central area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatfeimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Digital Marketing Team at Le Meridien Xiamen, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Xiamen. It is pleased to receive comments from you.

Le Meridien Xiamen located in a hill where although slightly out of the way of tropical backdrop of city, yet still centrally-located that only takes 15-20 minutes to the city like your kindly mentioned.
Within hotel,we including hill view room and couryard view room which can meet different requests from persons.People preferred quiet will be higly recommend the hill view rooms.

Thank you again for your valuable time again and we are delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. It is located on a hill and is very new with a modern style. It looks very nice on the outside too because unlike many hotels in China, it is quite low. Instead, it is spread out and blends very well with the surroundings.

The standard room was spacious and had all the key features you need. This includes a well functioning air conditioning, a decent work desk with an adjustable office chair, a safe big enough for a 15" laptop, a mini bar and a water boiler.

The room also had a big walk in shower with a bath tub. There was a rain shower too, but unlike the regular shower it didn't have a lot of water pressure.

There is both wired and Wi-Fi internet access, but not for free and for this type of hotel that is really something I would expect to be included in the room rate.

The hourly internet rate is 30 RMB. The 24 hour rate is 80 RMB. If you stay 3 days it may be worth taking the 180 RMB package. What is really annoying is that the fixed line seems to be wired to the MAC address of your computer. Because of this you can not connect multiple devices, like a smart phone, to a router connected to the internet port. To make it worse, your device (your phone, say) will connect, but you won't get any web page. This kind of set up is really not what I would expect for a business oriented hotel, or for any hotel of this level for that matter.

There was also a small balcony with a wonderful view on the very green courtyard with a small waterfall at the end of it. This courtyard also have several seats so you can sit outside to enjoy the view and quiet atmosphere. This view sets the room apart from many other hotels.

Strangely enough the balcony only had a small and very uncomfortable stool. Not very inviting to sit there and it will be good if the hotel can replace this by a decent chair, or maybe even two, with a small side table.

The breakfast buffet was complete, including eggs cooked to order, and the staff was very friendly. With about 100 RMB the price was reasonable, especially given the choices and quality of the food. You may want to pay for this buffet upfront, at check in for example, because the price seems to be lower then.

So, overall it was a very pleasant experience to stay there, but there is one big thing missing.

The hotel is located quite remotely. The big advantage is that it is really quiet, a rare thing in a big city, but the downside is that you need a taxi to go somewhere else.

Not such a big deal. For example, the very nice "Coffee Street" with lots of coffee shops and restaurants nicely situated at a small lake is only 15 minutes away. The downtown part is a little further, about 30 minutes.

The issue is that there is absolutely nothing else near the hotel. Even if you would walk down the hill, there is still nothing else than a busy 4 lane road. You can't even buy the simple things you typically can get in a 7-11 or alike. I think the hotel should provide for a convenience store with a fairly wide range of products at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quiet anyhow, but I enjoyed the room overlooking the beautiful courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOften4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEMERIDIENXM, Hotel Digital Marketing Team at Le Meridien Xiamen, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you.
We were truly delighted that you were most impressed with our superior levels of service, quality of amenities, spacious and tastefully appointed guest accommodations. We agree that the quiet surrounding but with convenient transportation are worthy of special mention.

Your suggetions is very intructive and we will surely consider them and thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Hotel Digital Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I am here on business staying at Le Meridien in Xiamen. It's new, beautifully decorated and pleasant to stay if you want to get away from the hustle of the city.

On first impressions it is huge, big and tucked away in the mountains. It is remote and away from town which means you will need transportation; which is not easy. However, it is a haven of a beautiful cascading waterfalls feature and also the surrounds of the beautiful sceneric mountains.

As a business traveller I am not sure if I would chose this hotel. Only here because I am meeting VIP business guests I have ended up here. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and all the amenities you would require with a fantastic walk in shower & bath room.

The Le Mei chinese resturant is small but serves a limited selecton of oriental cusine.
The open big restaurant opposite the Reception Desk is however completely the opposite. It is extremely noisy at all meal times including breakfast and very heavy usage especially at meal times. If you are looking for a quiet meal you won't get it there! The hotel could do with another couple of restaurants away from this area as it is very noisy. Tried to get a seat for One person t the buffet and could not be accommodated and was asked to go to the bar which could provide the same menu except it would be served up to me on a plate as opposed to selecting your own food!! For such a large hotel and staying as a resident was disappointed tht there were not only 5 already on the waiting list at 7pm but that I could not use the large buffet restaurant. I opted for Le Mei which was fine. The buffet section can only be described more like a cattle market...... utter chaos....

The rooms could do with a brochure which would point out more details about eg. the restaurants; it didn't so guests would not know where places were or if infact there were any shops. There was some upgrading of room maintenance and slight working noise around about 10am on a Sunday! but was not upsetting.

There were a few or no shops to be honest no where to buy small amenities eg. bar of chocolate or a bag of crisps or snacks! Nearest shop was at the bottom of the mountain. Food can only be provided in the restaurant, bar or mini bar which was extremely limited.

Would I stay here again, probably not as a business client. It is out of the way but they need to come up to date with Guest service requirements.

An excellent hotel however for a Special Occasion venue or a Wedding other than that I wouldn't stay here, mostly definitely as you need transportation to get around.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms towards the back are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rouge141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

After some of the mixed reviews below, I wasn't sure what we would be getting. But in the event, this hotel turned out to be very pleasant indeed.

The hotel is located at the top of a green, pleasant hill so it had nice, verdant views from our balcony and a nice sense of escape from the crowded city. Whilst it's not exactly easy to nip out to a corner shop for cigarettes, it is by no means difficult to get to or from the rest of the city. We had no problems getting taxis either to or from, despite it being a busy public holiday when we were there.

The lobby was stylish, the rooms were contemporary and very comfortable and the bathrooms were exactly what you would expect from a top quality international hotel.

The staff were extremely willing and helpful, and spoke about as good English as one can expect in Xiamen. We had a small problem with our air conditioning late at night, and the staff were very prompt sending someone who fixed it right away. The concierge was very helpful, with good tips on how to spend our time in the city.

I wouldn't describe the buffet as the best, but it was perfectly adequate.

Overall, a good place to stay in Xiamen as long as you don't mind a short taxi ride to the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matteve, General Manager at Le Meridien Xiamen, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Carla G,

Thanks for taking the time to review Le Meridien Xiamen - it is always great to receive positive feedback!

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Xiamen!

Warmest regards – Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel is located near airport and it has nice atmosphere surrounding it. Again, the one thing I do not like about Starwood hotels is that the internet is not free. But if you are for a short stay then this hotel is recommended.

Not much to complain, the breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matteve, General Manager at Le Meridien Xiamen, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Nicholas Damien,

Thanks for taking the time to review Le Meridien Xiamen. It is always appreciated to receive feedback from our guests.

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Xiamen!

Warmest regards – Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel is located at the slope of a hill. The air is good amidst a tranquil surrounding. Downside is hard to get taxi at times. The further surrounding areas also are quite “rural”.

I have the worse breakfast experience at this hotel. The quality of the food is low and selection are not high international standard. The fried dumping is really FRIED. The bacon is chewy (not crispy). Limited choices of fresh fruits. No bananas!

Room is comfortable and well maintain. The standard we expect from a 5 star hotel.
The staffs are friendly and helpful. A plus for the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#4 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Polo Xiamen
#5 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Langham Place Xiamen
#6 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
New Downtown
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
Sheraton Xiamen Hotel
#10 of 1,258 in Xiamen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Xiamen

Property: Le Meridien Xiamen
Address: No.7 Guanjun Road, Nanshan, Xiamen 361006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Xiamen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#4 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xiamen
#11 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of Xianyue Hill, LE MERIDIEN Xiamen offers personalised service, modern design and limitless opportunities for discovery.Guests at this hotel of 342 guest rooms, suites and villas will enjoy tranquil and peaceful surroundings, yet have easy access to places of interest, including the most well-known Gulangyu Islet, as well as to the city center in Xiamen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Xiamen Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing